please help !!!! my cat hind lege are going lame..

Status
Not open for further replies.

TracyL50

Member Since 2011
i was just told my cat has diabetes. and her back legs are now going lame. is this normal?? my cat is 8 years old and she is such a sweetie.. she doesn't show any discomfort.. but i know she cant be happy. she cant jump anymore and only walks a little then has to stop and sit. the vet said her legs may not get any better. i want to know has anyone else had this happen to there cats?? I'm upset about this and its breaking my heart. Ive been giving her a high protein and low carbohydrate diet.. what else can i do... she is my baby .
 
Is she on insulin? If so what kind/dose?

What she has is called Diabetic Neuropathy and it does happen with some diabetics, but it can be reversed. I don't have experience with it, but getting her regulated (food, insulin, lower blood sugar levels) and giving Vit b12 (a certain kind) has worked for a lot of cats.

Hopefully, someone with experience with this will post and tell you what type of b12 to get.
 
Is the cat on insulin (type and dose)? Do you have any blood glucose values? It can take a little time to regain full use of the legs cause by the diabetic neuropathy.
 
You can use B12 to help: Neuropathy but it needs to be in combination with lower blood glucose levels and regulation. Are you home testing? We recommend it highly, as it is the only way to be sure that it is safe to give insulin, and the only way to be sure that the insulin is working for your kitty. When vets do tests at their offices and base doses on those numbers, they are often way too high. Stress raises bg levels and most kitties are stressed at the vet with the strange noises, people and other animals.

We have taught hundreds of people how to test at home. Here is a good beginning site: Newbie hometesting site and Video for hometesting We'd love to help you help your kitty.
 
Re: please help !!!! my cat hind Legs are going lame..

no shes not on insulin.. I'm going to take her to another vet for a second apoinion.... I looked up a list of foods and found that fancy feast has the highest protein and i give both my cat taste of the wild dry food which is a great cat food... i feel really bad for her.. and i'm so confused about all of this.. like how much do i feed her now. and how often??
 
Diabetic cats not being treated typically are loosing weight since they can;t really process all the food they eat. Therefore, I would let the cat eat all (within reason) it can whenever it wants.
 
Re: please help !!!! my cat hind Legs are going lame..

where do i buy the supplies to test her at home?? what do i need?? I'm so glad i found this sight..
 
I understand ! my poor Shakespeare was diagnosed with diabetes a few months ago and the neuropathy is so bad. He can not longer jump and can only walk a few steps.
I had put him on the Methlycobaline(B12) and it helped some, but
last week I started taking him to the vet for injections of the b12 and bcomplex and that is helping more than the pills.
But start on the pills first and see how that works
If you type in the computer Jaspers story, there is a great story that might help you
and it will guide you to the correct B12 vitamin to buy
Good luck and you are in my prayers
 
When my cat was first diagnosed in November, I was so overwhelmed and then I found this site. I sent away for the newbie kit (look under the topic list on this forum for the site) and it included everything I needed to get started testing (glucometer, strips, lancets, lancet pen and rice sock for warming the ear). The first day I started testing, I realized that the vet was giving my cat way too much insulin and since then I have slowly decreased his dose to where he is barely on any insulin at all. With a little luck, he may eventually go into remission. Also, I stopped all dry food and am only feeding canned food. This has also really made a difference, not only in my diabetic cat, but also my other cat as well. They both have more energy and seem to feel so much better. I think the hometesting is key so that you will be able to monitor how your cat is doing. It takes a little a little while to get used to doing the testing by poking the cat's ear, but once you get the hang of it, it is pretty easy. My cat actually now runs to where I test him because he knows he will get a treat after the test. Make sure you give him a treat and lots of hugs and praise after each test. The insulin shots are fairly easy and I give my cat his insulin while he is eating. He doesn't even realize he got a shot because he is concentrating so much on his food.

You are doing the right thing by posting on this site. There are amazing, knowledgeable people here that can answer any of your questions and will be an incredible support to you and your cat.
 
i have low blood sugar so i do have a machine and strips here for me to use. i will use them on my cat and get another machine at my doctors for me .. so i just watch the you tube video on how to do a check. and it worked Abby's blood sugar was 310. but she just ate. and for the B12 can i give her people B12 and what should be the dose for a at that is 13 lbs?? thank you everyone .. you don't know how much you just helped me. also for a cat what should there sugar level be at...
 
fwiw, if you don't want to wait for a test kit to be mailed to you, you can go to any human pharmacy (cvs, rite aid, walgreens, target, walmart, etc....) and get your own today. they are the same glucose meters humans use. the meters tend to be pretty cheap, usually under $20, but the test strips can be costly.

if you have a walmart around you can get their Relion Confirm or Micro for $9 i think it is and they have the most economical strips when buying in your local store. I think around $22 for 50 strips.

if you don't have a walmart around and have to get a name brand, buy the smallest box of strips for now and then buy more online as they run around 1/2 the price you'll see in your local store. the Contour, the Aviva, Freestyle Lites, One Touch meters are all fine meters. There are a few others but drawing a blank.

and fwiw, some of the other pharmacies have their own brands running under names like True Test or True Track. while some people have had good experiences with them, several haven't so i'm not sure I'd get those if you see those.
 
Can't help with the B12 question as far as dose, but I do know you have to make sure it doesn't have any sugars in it for a kitty.

But as far as what is normal for a cat. Blood glucose should be somewhere between 40-120 for a non-diabetic cat. My Max is in remission and diet controlled he usually runs in the 60s & 70s

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
LOL!! was typing when you were soooooooooo

yes, your meter will work just fine. that is awesome! and even more awesome is that you jumped right in there and tested and got a number so quick!

while the number is high, without insulin treatment that number is to be expected.

normal for a cat, depending on where you look it up generally will be referenced from about 70 up to 150.

as far as the B12 goes, it has to be methylcobalamin, not cyanocobalamin. most human ones sold in general stores are the cyano but if you have a health food store or something like that around (GNC, Nutrition Zone, etc....) perhaps you can get methyl there. i've always ordered mine online though 'cause i haven't seen it in my local stores.

as far as dose, if i remember correctly, they can't od on it but hopefully someone can answer that question better than i

eta: agree that the lameness is most likely diabetic neuropathy and once treatment is started and that glucose level comes down, the legs will most likely improve. and the addition of methylcobalamin will help too
 
Fantastic! Welcome to the Vampire club!

310 is a diabetic number, but not awfully high. You will need to start insulin with that number, but we recommend starting at a low dose and working upward, using your blood glucose number to guide you. We suggest .5 to 1 unit twice daily as a starting point.

I would also suggest that you ditch the dry food. Read this site by a vet to see why: http://www.catinfo.org When we switched Oliver from dry to wet, his blood glucose levels went down 100 points overnight.
 
The usual dose for methyl b-12 is between 3mg and 5mg a day. It is a water soluble vitamin, so cannot be OD'd. If I remember right, I believe the bean that wrote Jasper's Story gave more than 5mg a day, but that was because after a few weeks he wasn't showing as much improvement as he should. I would recommend starting out with 3mg a day and re-evaluate in 2 to 3 weeks on how well it is working and adjust from there. Many here split the dose between the morning and evening meals. If you go to a store to get the b-12 - look for one that does not contain artificial sweeteners like sorbitol, xytol, etc. Most will have dextrose/fructose in it, but the pill is so small, that the sugar is minimal, and most kitties don't have any problems with it.

If you need to purchase it online, here is a link to one developed for kitties that doesn't have any sugars or artificial sugars in it:

http://www.lifelinknet.com/siteResource ... baline.asp
 
Tracy you may notice results right away when you change his food. all canned or raw cat food. under 10 carb, i like under 7 carb.
all i want to tell you is my cat seemed on deaths doorstep...could no longer jump on bed or couch or anywhere...actually laid around all day. diet change alone made him better before my insulin arrived.
your kitty can get better and FAST...they are resilient little furries.
Try to obtain a prescription for insulin...pro zinc, levemir, lantus...we all have our favorites and they all work a little differently.
Good Luck and welcome to the sugar land express! your kitty and you are in the right place.

ETA tom now is back to jumping on whatever he pleases and runs circles around me..a very busy boy again. such a change and it did happen almost overnight.
 
Re: please help !!!! my cat hind Legs are going lame..

thank you everyone!! i am taking my Abby to a new vet on Wednesday.. and I'm hoping to get her some insulin. i did her sugar today when i got home and it was 210. and i started her on the b-12 yesterday. so I'm keeping my fingers crossed she will get better now.. i wouldn't know what to do if i didn't find this sight. you all are wonderful for sharing your knowledge.. i can't take away the dry food. because i have one cat who throws up all the moist food, and he can eat the dry without any problems, so i buy taste of the wild dry food which is a very good food. but i am now putting moist food down three times a day for Abby. i hope this isn't to much food .
 
no my vet did not talk to me about insulin. and he didn't give me any info. I'm finding everything from you guys. so my boyfriend and i are taking her to a new vet who will take the time to teach me what i need to know and learn..
 
Fingers crossed that this vet will know more about feline diabetes. I hope he will start you on a low dose (.5 to one unit 2X a day) with a good insulin like PZI, Lantus or Levemir.
 
and tracy we will be here to help you with anything you need as well. we are all diabetic kitty moms and dads and they seem to become our extra special ones after we begin treating. a new bond is formed. you will always be safe posting here and working your way thru treatment and care of your little sugar kitty.
lori
and tomtom
 
Re: please help !!!! my cat hind Legs are going lame..

With a BG of only 210 insulin may not be needed with a low-carb canned diet. If you do start with insulin now home testing is very important since little insulin may be required and overdosing is possible.

TracyL50 said:
thank you everyone!! i am taking my Abby to a new vet on Wednesday.. and I'm hoping to get her some insulin. i did her sugar today when i got home and it was 210. and i started her on the b-12 yesterday. so I'm keeping my fingers crossed she will get better now.. i wouldn't know what to do if i didn't find this sight. you all are wonderful for sharing your knowledge.. i can't take away the dry food. because i have one cat who throws up all the moist food, and he can eat the dry without any problems, so i buy taste of the wild dry food which is a very good food. but i am now putting moist food down three times a day for Abby. i hope this isn't to much food .
 
Here is a list of low carb canned foods that you can feed your cat.

The More Expensive Side

Merrick BG
Beef*
Chicken*
Turkey*

Wellness
Beef & Chicken*
Chicken*
Turkey*

Merrick
Cowboy Cookout*

Evo
EVO 95% Beef*
EVO 95% Chicken & Turkey*
EVO 95% Duck
EVO 95% Venison*

Nature’s Variety
Raw beef*
Raw Chicken & Turkey*

The Cheaper Side

Fancy Feast Classic only
Chicken
Beef & Liver
Turkey and Giblets
Beef
Beef & Chicken
Chopped Grill

Special Kitty (Walmart)
Mixed Grill
Prime Entrée
Super Supper
Turkey & Giblets

Sophisticat (Petsmart)
Beef & Liver
Beef Stew
Country Style
Elegant Entrée
Mixed Grill
Turkey & Giblets

Sophisticat Adult Supreme (Petsmart)
Supreme Beef & Chicken
Supreme Beef
Supreme Gourmet Chicken
Supreme Turkey & Giblets

Friskie’s Classic Pate
Country Style Dinner*
Liver & Chicken Dinner
Poultry Platter
Supreme Supper
Turkey & Giblets

Friskie’s Special Diet
Beef & Chicken*
Beef & Liver*


* also lower in phosphorous (<250 mg) (important for kitties with chronic kidney disease)

Good luck! I think it's awesome that you jumped right in and started testing!!!!!
 
My cats used to throw up whenever they ate wet food that had gravy in it, but now my all of my cats eat wet canned and none of them throw up. You should try to wean them off dry. It's full of carbs and lacks the moisture that cats must have. You can read all about it at Dr. P's site http://www.catinfo.org

Good luck!!

Jenny & Sue
 
what kind of can food do you feed your cats?? Jake my male throws up all of his can food. and he has had problems with stones in the past. so i know it would be better for him. .and how often do you feed your cats??
 
If you look up two messages, I listed all the low carb canned foods there. I feed Wellness Chicken or Merrick BG turkey most often. Cats should eat about 4-6 oz. of food a day. I put out half that amount and add a little water to it and let it sit out all day. Then about 12 hours later, I put out 3 oz. per cat again with water in it. The water helps the food not to get dried out while it sits out all day. Your kitty may need more food at first because when diabetics are quite hungry and their bodies don't process the food correctly which is why they lose weight before their blood sugar gets regulated. :)

Good luck!

Jenny & Sue
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top