Rae's Family
Member Since 2025
Hi all, I got a bit overzealous about trying to get my Rae off of dry food after reading how horrible it was on here. She's only been diagnosed ~3 wks, and I thought I could try to do it myself
More info here
She got half of the dry food she's used to (combined with wet) at her PM meal yesterday, and I skipped the shot to make sure she didn't go too low. Last night's cycle looked okay (see SS), but now she's giving me a hard time getting her AMPS. Edit: AMPS 400 (I expected it to be high bc she was pretty upset with me)
I don't know if I should feed her the normal amount of dry food and her vet-prescribed insulin dose (that's the other problem -- the vet has told me to do 5u twice/day of Vetsulin which, after reading on here, seems like an absurd amount), or if I should do something else.
I apologize for jumping the gun, I'm just so worried about continuing to give my girl something so bad for her!
More info hereShe got half of the dry food she's used to (combined with wet) at her PM meal yesterday, and I skipped the shot to make sure she didn't go too low. Last night's cycle looked okay (see SS), but now she's giving me a hard time getting her AMPS. Edit: AMPS 400 (I expected it to be high bc she was pretty upset with me)
I don't know if I should feed her the normal amount of dry food and her vet-prescribed insulin dose (that's the other problem -- the vet has told me to do 5u twice/day of Vetsulin which, after reading on here, seems like an absurd amount), or if I should do something else.
I apologize for jumping the gun, I'm just so worried about continuing to give my girl something so bad for her!


but I will do 10% at a time now...