Shelley & Jess
Member Since 2020
Token doses are given for a number of reasons. Lower than normal pre-shot and you don't have data to see how he responds to a full dose. You can't stall to see if the number is rising. You're low on test strips or won't be around to monitor. You need sleep. He won't eat. This list goes on...But in regards to a token dose if he’s lower can the maximum amount I give him only by 25% or is it possible to give something like half of his normal dose or say 3/4 of it? Or should I always be just a token dose ?
The amount of a token dose you give depends on those number of factors too, but mostly geared towards the data you have collected to date - that all important data that helps us make decisions. How did he do when his preshot was 150 and you gave a 25% token dose? If he handled it well you might try 50% next time and if the numbers tell you 50% was safe, you might try 75% next. When shooting lower pre-shots than you are used to for the first few times always make sure you'll be around to monitor closely and be prepared to intervene with food if needed.