Please help ! Dosing/ monitoring of Toby

Status
Not open for further replies.
But in regards to a token dose if he’s lower can the maximum amount I give him only by 25% or is it possible to give something like half of his normal dose or say 3/4 of it? Or should I always be just a token dose ?
Token doses are given for a number of reasons. Lower than normal pre-shot and you don't have data to see how he responds to a full dose. You can't stall to see if the number is rising. You're low on test strips or won't be around to monitor. You need sleep. He won't eat. This list goes on...

The amount of a token dose you give depends on those number of factors too, but mostly geared towards the data you have collected to date - that all important data that helps us make decisions. How did he do when his preshot was 150 and you gave a 25% token dose? If he handled it well you might try 50% next time and if the numbers tell you 50% was safe, you might try 75% next. When shooting lower pre-shots than you are used to for the first few times always make sure you'll be around to monitor closely and be prepared to intervene with food if needed.
 
I should add - We usually recommend giving full doses on lower and lower pre-shots by testing the waters with token doses, collecting the data and getting there gradually - you kinda leap-frogged a bit (thanks to hubby :))

I've done the same thing, shot and then thought maybe that wasn't such a good idea. It's so easy to get distracted and the PS number doesn't sink in. Sometimes I have to stop myself from just going through the motions, test-feed-shoot and remind myself to think about what the next step should be.
 
Thank you ! I know I’m probably jumping the gun and trying to predict what might happen in the future and I should be focused on his present and current numbers. It’s more just being curious as to if there are more options out there in the future if things are going all wonky like the past few days. Hoping to see him level out a bit but still havesome good numbers instead of running high all the time! Fingers crossed he evens out a bit today and the following days to come at this current dose !
 
Well tonight Toby was running quite low again. We went ahead with a token dose of 1.25 units. I will decrease dose to 4 units tomorrow depending on his numbers in the AM! He’s really throwing us for a loop this week !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top