PLEASE HELP! DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok that is a bit better but still too low. Give him some more honey. Is he eating it willingly? We don't want to make him sick. Do you have any other high carb food except dry?
After giving the honey, Please ring the ER and see if they will help you. The insulin is only just kicking in and his BSL could drop again. The honey doesn't last long. Retest in 15 mins
Ok. I just got off the phone with the ER and they won't see him unless i have $. He told me to keep testing him every 30 min. Ill test him how often you say I should test him. Only high carb food i.have is dry which he eats no problem. I put the honey on the end of my finger and put it in his mouth. Sorry having a bit of a panic attack here. I so ****ed up
 
Bron is spot on. If you have any HC wet food with gravy, it’s a good option to alternate gravy with food so he doesn’t get too full or vomit.

I’m glad he’s up but you need to stay on top of the BG and you might as well put on the coffee. It’s after 1 am here; Bron is in Australia so it’s daytime for her so I’m headed to bed.

I am certain the ER will tell you to bring him in; they won’t take chances with numbers that low...even a 56. If he doesn’t keep coming up a lot or if he drops back down, you really need to take him to the ER.
I bought a can of gravy shredded FF by accident. Ill give him that. I told the tech if he doesn't go up or drips again I'm coming in and we'll have to.figure out the money issue
 
Ok. I just got off the phone with the ER and they won't see him unless i have $. He told me to keep testing him every 30 min. Ill test him how often you say I should test him. Only high carb food i.have is dry which he eats no problem. I put the honey on the end of my finger and put it in his mouth. Sorry having a bit of a panic attack here. I so ****ed up
Ok first of all don't panic. And don't beat yourself up.:bighug: We are here for you and won't leave you alone.
Don't feed him all the FF and gravy. Put some honey in it and feed him a tablespoon of it.
 
I bought a can of gravy shredded FF by accident. Ill give him that. I told the tech if he doesn't go up or drips again I'm coming in and we'll have to.figure out the money issue
Excellent...it’s really important that you take him in if he’s not coming up and staying up. We are not vets here and honey wears off too fast. I’ve seen low numbers go on for 24 hours and it’s not worth it. Hypos can kill and fast.

I’d like to see one more test before I sign off. Bron said she would stay with you and she’s experienced....trust her advice and pls go to ER immediately if she tells you to, ok?
 
Excellent...it’s really important that you take him in if he’s not coming up and staying up. We are not vets here and honey wears off too fast. I’ve seen low numbers go on for 24 hours and it’s not worth it. Hypos can kill and fast.

I’d like to see one more test before I sign off. Bron said she would stay with you and she’s experienced....trust her advice and pls go to ER immediately if she tells you to, ok?
Ok. I most definitely will! Bron is awesome! She's helped me alot in the last month! I'm he juat at his gravy and honey so I'll test in 15 min
 
Great. Remember HC wears off fast but you can let him go now for 30 mins but no more.

+2.5 56
+3 37
+3.5 56
+4 117

Please don’t forget to read my dosing instructions post 88 on page 1 of this thread. The dose needs to be reduced by 0.25u.

Great job all. Nighty Night. Happy New Year.
Thank you so very much!!! Will keep you posted! Night and Happy New Year
 
Amen to that! Ok so I can breathe a bit! Um....Ok so I need a plan. When do I feed him next and am I now testing every 30 min or still every 15min?
Ok so can you tell me are we up to +4 now?
So can you test 30 minutes from your Last test please and post immediately.
Don't feed any more food at the moment. Let's see how he goes with the next test.
Give yourself a pat on the back ...you did well!
Make yourself a cuppa and try and relax for a bit but don't forget the next test!!
 
Ok so can you tell me are we up to +4 now?
So can you test 30 minutes from your Last test please and post immediately.
Don't feed any more food at the moment. Let's see how he goes with the next test.
Give yourself a pat on the back ...you did well!
Make yourself a cuppa and try and relax for a bit but don't forget the next test!!
Oh I don't think I could forget if I tried! His next test is 20 min from now. I wrote down the times for the next 4 tests so I wouldn't screw that up. Lol. Talk to ya in 20. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!:bighug::coffee:
 
That is good. I think we can test again in 30 mins and then if he is still ok we will go to one hour. No need to feed anymore at the moment. So I will see you in 30 mins. How does he seem. Ok?
Besides being mad at me, yes he seems ok. He's resting in one of his favorite spots. Thank God for you and his BG going back UP! See you in 30! :cat::)
 
Looks like he could be bouncing after those low numbers...….or its all the honey and dry food.
Are we up to +5 now?
I think we should test in one hour to see how things are going. OK?

+2.5 56
+3 37
+3.5 56
+4 117
+4.5 196
+5 253
 
Looks like he could be bouncing after those low numbers...….or its all the honey and dry food.
Are we up to +5 now?
I think we should test in one hour to see how things are going. OK?

+2.5 56
+3 37
+3.5 56
+4 117
+4.5 196
+5 253
That sounds like a plan! Can I go ahead and put their canned food out? I don't know if he'll eat but my other 4 are not so patiently waiting. Lol. They're almost used to this canned food schedule now.
 
That sounds like a plan! Can I go ahead and put their canned food out? I don't know if he'll eat but my other 4 are not so patiently waiting. Lol. They're almost used to this canned food schedule now.
yes go ahead and feed your other cats, but I wouldn't feed any more to Nemo at the moment. I would like to see what the next BSL is without any food if possible....
 
Whose nose? Nemo's?
Sorry. Yes. He's had alittle sneeze in and off since last month. Vet wasn't worried unless he got discharge again. 2 days ago I noticed alittle blood. Today I put a drop of saline in his nose and he didn't sneeze all day until just a couple min ago. He had a sneezing fit and blood was everywhere!! It's almost stopped now so I'm just letting him chill for a min.
 
Sorry. Yes. He's had alittle sneeze in and off since last month. Vet wasn't worried unless he got discharge again. 2 days ago I noticed alittle blood. Today I put a drop of saline in his nose and he didn't sneeze all day until just a couple min ago. He had a sneezing fit and blood was everywhere!! It's almost stopped now so I'm just letting him chill for a min.
I'm glad it has almost stopped.
 
I'm glad it has almost stopped.
Me too! It looks like I murdered somebody! Lol. I'm splattered with blood and the living room and bathroom especially! This poor dude is having a bad day! Ugh
 

Attachments

  • 20190101_050755.jpg
    20190101_050755.jpg
    47.2 KB · Views: 131
  • 20190101_050719.jpg
    20190101_050719.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 139
Poor Nemo, he's a gorgeous boy. I am very partial to ginger kitties. That is quite a bit of blood to come from a kittys nose.
Thank You! Him and his sister were my bottle babies! I lost her,Nala, in March to cancer...I'm not ready to lose him too! I'm holding everyone's food until aft et his next test, which will be in 20 min. If he's still on the upward trend do you think it will be safe to do a few hours after that? As long as I leave him be he's not sneezing, so I'd love it if we could let him rest for awhile. Lower his blood pressure..
 
Thank You! Him and his sister were my bottle babies! I lost her,Nala, in March to cancer...I'm not ready to lose him too! I'm holding everyone's food until aft et his next test, which will be in 20 min. If he's still on the upward trend do you think it will be safe to do a few hours after that? As long as I leave him be he's not sneezing, so I'd love it if we could let him rest for awhile. Lower his blood pressure..

Beautiful photo.
Lets wait and see what the next test says before deciding.
 
Ok he's 247! Dropped 6 points. What do you think? I can give him his canned food now too...
Yes you could give him some of his normal low carb food, Not too much as we don't want to fill him up in case we have to give him more, but I would test again in 1 hour to see he is not dropping further, once the high carb food and honey starts wearing off. Are you OK with that?
Also can you confirm are we at +6 now please?

+2.5 56
+3 37
+3.5 56
+4 117
+4.5 196
+5 253

+6 247
 
That sounds good to me. Ill give them their food and that should help relax him too, I hope. Then recheck in an hour. You'll have to forgive me I'm not really getting What the +2 thru +6 is, then again my brain is barely working right now.
At 220 am he was 56
245am 37
305am 56
340am 117
410am 196
440am 253
540am 247
I know you're like 16 hours ahead of me, but I hope this helps answer your question
 
if
That sounds good to me. Ill give them their food and that should help relax him too, I hope. Then recheck in an hour. You'll have to forgive me I'm not really getting What the +2 thru +6 is, then again my brain is barely working right now.
At 220 am he was 56
245am 37
305am 56
340am 117
410am 196
440am 253
540am 247
I know you're like 16 hours ahead of me, but I hope this helps answer your question
I'm sure you must be very tired Amy after staying up all night and having such a stressful situation.
+2 means 2 hours after the insulin shot and +6 is 6 hours after the insulin shot etc. Because we live all over the world we talk in +4 etc numbers instead of time because time means nothing to me when you talk in US time and visa versa. But we all understand + number of hours after insulin time.
So if you could tell me what time you gave the insulin we can work out where we are up to.
The reason it is important is because I want to know how many hours we are past giving the last dose of insulin. Thanks.
 
I'm sure you must be very tired Amy after staying up all night and having such a stressful situation.
+2 means 2 hours after the insulin shot and +6 is 6 hours after the insulin shot etc. Because we live all over the world we talk in +4 etc numbers instead of time because time means nothing to me when you talk in US time and visa versa. But we all understand + number of hours after insulin time.
So can you tell me what time you gave the insulin and then we can work out where we are up to.
The reason it is important is because I want to know how many hours we are past giving the last dose of insulin. Thanks.
Even in my brain fog I understood that. Lol
I gave him .75 of insulin at 11:30pm
 
Even in my brain fog I understood that. Lol
I gave him .75 of insulin at 11:30pm
Great. That means we were at +6 at the last test. Marje had that time down but I didn't know how she had worked it out.....obviously must be on the same or similar time zone as you and understood what you were saying.

Later today, if you are not too tired, could you go to the shops and buy some higher carb canned food to have in the house for Nemo for when he drops low?
Dry food, even though it is high carb, is absorbed more slowly than wet food and when kitty is low, we want the food to be absorbed quickly.
Here is a link to Lisa Piersons food chart. Have a look at what you think he will eat.... he has CKD too so you will need to look for low phosphorus
When you get home mark each can with the number of carbs it has with a texta. When you are in a hurry it is much easier to not have to check the number of carbs but just look.
For the phosphorus level in the food look for 250mgm or better 200mgm/100Kcals. Keep these cans in the cupboard with your jar of honey or Karo for nights like this.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
 
Great. That means we were at +6 at the last test. Marje had that time down but I didn't know how she had worked it out.....obviously must be on the same or similar time zone as you and understood what you were saying.

Later today, if you are not too tired, could you go to the shops and buy some higher carb canned food to have in the house for Nemo for when he drops low?
Dry food, even though it is high carb, is absorbed more slowly than wet food and when kitty is low, we want the food to be absorbed quickly.
Here is a link to Lisa Piersons food chart. Have a look at what you think he will eat.... he has CKD too so you will need to look for low phosphorus
When you get home mark each can with the number of carbs it has with a texta. When you are in a hurry it is much easier to not have to check the number of carbs but just look.
For the phosphorus level in the food look for 250mgm or better 200mgm/100Kcals. Keep these cans in the cupboard with your jar of honey or Karo for nights like this.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
I will definitely do that! I have to go out today to get more canned because we're almost out. Then I can't stock up when I get my disability check.
 
+2.5 56
+3 37
+3.5 56
+4 117
+4.5 196
+5 253

+6 247
+7 252
That's good he seems to be surfing along in the mid 250s.
How much food did you give him an hour ago when you gave him some low carb food?
 
Let me know when you want me to test him again. I think it's safe to say that he won't be getting his insulin at 11am.
 
Ok. I am thinking one more test in an hour from the last test to see that he is not going to drop when the high carb dry food wears off. Then we can probably do it less frequently. Is that OK?
It is getting pretty late here now and I am looking for someone to take over from me to help you. But Ill stay until I find someone.
Don't forget to read the post number 88 that Marje mentioned about reducing the dose.
How is Nemo's nose now?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top