Pita's Dosing Party

Status
Not open for further replies.
Tough call. On one hand, if you give the 1.2, you'll be home later to see how it's going. On the other hand, you're suspicious that he's bouncing, which could indicate that the 1.2 is too high, and if so, 1.0 might be better. I guess if it was me, I might go with the lower dose because I tend to be conservative in dosing, and even if 1.0 turns out to be not quite enough, Pita is in good numbers, so he'll still be fine. Although if you do 1.2, you'll get to see what's happening when you test later. Although if you're right about the bouncing, he could go low while you aren't home.....

I am no help at all.
Lol gonna stick with the 1.0! And will test whenever I get home later
 
Djamila, I love listening to you talk yourself through things! Yeah I hesitated for a minute too because 1.2 could be good...I went with 1 as my advice because of the suspected bouncing and because...well...I tend to be conservative too! :)
 
You should have been inside my head a half hour ago trying to decide what to do with Teasel tonight. His PS was 65 (AT meter) and the easy thing is to go with no shot. I don't want to lose ground so I had to think about how much to cut his dose while pondering the depot that's there and how long it will take for his supper to kick in. Eventually I just had to make a choice and wait to see the consequences. I opted to reduce his dose to half what it was.
 
Whoa! I can't imagine trying to figure it out with the depot on board. Let's hope it's not too exciting of a night!
 
Whoa! I can't imagine trying to figure it out with the depot on board. Let's hope it's not too exciting of a night!
Definitely a go by instinct and "know thy cat" situation. Luckily it worked out - no drama last night and a yellow PS this AM.
 
Upon laying here, I'm wondering if I should try to do a +5 or +6, given that he's already close to 100 this early...?
 
What do other people say? Mass-da-hootch-is? It's okay, my wife and I are big Red Sox fans, NOT Blue Jays from just down the road. If we get another big male we'll call him Big Poppy. Or Carlton Fisk/Fiskers. Goodnight Caitlin and Pita, no more stalking. :bighug:
 
What do other people say? Mass-da-hootch-is? It's okay, my wife and I are big Red Sox fans, NOT Blue Jays from just down the road. If we get another big male we'll call him Big Poppy. Or Carlton Fisk/Fiskers. Goodnight Caitlin and Pita, no more stalking. :bighug:
Lol you are no help at all! Bleh, I'm not a fan of baseball. More of a contact sport fan... Football and hockey. But I may not be able to explain all the terms to you even though I like them. :confused: Goodnight sir Dickson :) and Noah of course
 
If it was me, I'd get a test on that one. Or at least leave out a whole mess of food. that's a 50% drop in two hours, and still early in the cycle. Pita's keeping you busy: this morning it wasn't enough, tonight it might be too much....or it might be fine and he's just dropping early now (Sam used to nadir at +2.5). Geez, I wish these kitties followed the rules!
 
Well Djamila, I should have listened to my gut/heard you in my sleep. I passed out and did not test or leave food out. Got a beautiful 347 AMPS because of it :banghead:. Looking at numbers I'm going to give 1.2 and hope to get an okay PMPS. Gave 1.4 on some 400's and think I got more bouncing for a couple days. Plus the feeder will open today. I made a note of the 50% drop in 2 hours and how I should have done one or the other/both recommendations. ::Sigh:: :oops:
 
Look on the bright side...it wasn't a red! ;) He's been a little bit all over the past week or so, that makes it hard to dose. I keep staring at his spreadsheet trying to figure out a pattern, but I'm not seeing much. Hopefully his numbers will settle down a bit.
 
Look on the bright side...it wasn't a red! ;) He's been a little bit all over the past week or so, that makes it hard to dose. I keep staring at his spreadsheet trying to figure out a pattern, but I'm not seeing much. Hopefully his numbers will settle down a bit.
Haha I'm glad I'm not the only one going 'huh?!'. If I need to do a curve this weekend I will. Still trying to figure out if I should up his dose a little or stick at these, but I just can't get a good handle on it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top