Pita's Dosing Party: 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin M

Very Active Member
Doing a curve today. 357 AMPS, gave 1.8 units. +2 was 331, +5 (little late but it will even out for every 2 hours) was just 251. Think I will hold off on a +6.5 snack since he's not dropping too much.
 
Doing a curve today. 357 AMPS, gave 1.8 units. +2 was 331, +5 (little late but it will even out for every 2 hours) was just 251. Think I will hold off on a +6.5 snack since he's not dropping too much.
Tomorrow id go to 2 for those 300+ preshots.
 
Oh Pita! I kept meaning to post since you and I both seem to go through these weird times where all of a sudden it's harder to get a tests....Sam was a little dehydrated about a week ago. There were a few days when I was really struggling to get his ears to bleed, and then he was constipated, and then I realized he was dehydrated. Once I got his hydration back up, his ears started bleeding again. Which in hindsight makes perfect sense! Anyway, I wondered if that might be a factor for Pita, too. Maybe try giving him extra extra water, or plunking him in front of the water bowl a little more and see if it helps.
 
Oh Pita! I kept meaning to post since you and I both seem to go through these weird times where all of a sudden it's harder to get a tests....Sam was a little dehydrated about a week ago. There were a few days when I was really struggling to get his ears to bleed, and then he was constipated, and then I realized he was dehydrated. Once I got his hydration back up, his ears started bleeding again. Which in hindsight makes perfect sense! Anyway, I wondered if that might be a factor for Pita, too. Maybe try giving him extra extra water, or plunking him in front of the water bowl a little more and see if it helps.
I hadn't thought of that! I got blood for all the other tests so I think it may have just been a 'bad batch's of me testing. I'll try plopping him in front of the bowl though!
 
Just like people getting blood tests or donating, they tell them to be well hydrated ;). Doesn't come out so well if we're not hydrated either :)
 
Wondering what you all think about this. I had originally bought the automatic feeder for when Pita was going low during the day, so he had a midday snack. The past 3 days I have withheld the snack because his numbers have been consistently high. He has meowed a couple times this weekend near his bowl, like he knows he should have had a snack. Before this I NEVER gave food except for twice a day. So my question is, should I keep giving the midday snack regardless of his numbers being high or omit it until his numbers (hopefully) go a bit lower again? Thanks all!
 
Wondering what you all think about this. I had originally bought the automatic feeder for when Pita was going low during the day, so he had a midday snack. The past 3 days I have withheld the snack because his numbers have been consistently high. He has meowed a couple times this weekend near his bowl, like he knows he should have had a snack. Before this I NEVER gave food except for twice a day. So my question is, should I keep giving the midday snack regardless of his numbers being high or omit it until his numbers (hopefully) go a bit lower again? Thanks all!
Many people here feed low carb food multiple times a day and it doesn't interfere with BG control. Some cats seem to do better this way. You could try it for a few days to see what happens. It doesn't have to be extra food - you can divide the daily ration into several meals.
 
How is his weight now? I forget if Pita needed to gain, lose, or maintain :confused:
I believe he's gained a little back. He was a bit skinny for my liking but the vet never said specifically whether he needed to gain. I can tell he's gained a little though which I'm happy about!
Many people here feed low carb food multiple times a day and it doesn't interfere with BG control. Some cats seem to do better this way. You could try it for a few days to see what happens. It doesn't have to be extra food - you can divide the daily ration into several meals.
I don't think it has interfered with his BG at all. I know I left it more as a buffer in case he went too low, but even based on all his higher numbers, it hasn't caused it to spike.
 
Hey Caitlin, haven't seen you around much. How are you and Pita? :cat:
Hello Yong! And all you other amazing people. Yes I've been reading posts but just haven't posted myself. Been a little busy and then very tired. Pita is doing pretty well overall. I've tried to get some good data on the weekend. His PS #'s are still a bit higher than I'd like to see but I just increased to 2.4 units this morning. I can tell that his numbers are also higher PS because he acts ravenous. Have been leaving his food for about +6 during the day and it's (obviously) empty when I get home. When I've been home on the weekends, I can see when he hears it and will jump off the bed to go eat, it's kind of adorable. So yeah, nothing to really report. Been trying to get some +#'s before bed but it doesn't always work. Just the increase today so I'll see what happens! Thank you for checking in :) it means a lot.
 
I'm so sorry to see his numbers still being so stubborn! You're doing a great job of taking care of him and making the needed adjustments. Are you still liking the new job?
 
I'm so sorry to see his numbers still being so stubborn! You're doing a great job of taking care of him and making the needed adjustments. Are you still liking the new job?
Thanks Djamila, that's so nice of you! I'm trying my best :cat:. I'm pretty interested to see what happens when I do finally get a new vial of ProZinc. Yes, so far so good, but very long days. I actually need to make myself stand up to unpack everything! How is Sam btw?
 
I actually need to make myself stand up to unpack everything! How is Sam btw?

Did you move recently (and please forgive my terrible memory if you already told us that!)? Sam is starting to rise a bit too. He looked like he was getting close to being done with all of this, but recently his numbers have been turning upwards again. Not exactly what I was hoping to see!
 
Did you move recently (and please forgive my terrible memory if you already told us that!)? Sam is starting to rise a bit too. He looked like he was getting close to being done with all of this, but recently his numbers have been turning upwards again. Not exactly what I was hoping to see!
I didn't move (yet-many months away!) Just the new job! Lol I'm totally teasing you but I just looked at Sam's SS and I'm jealous of your 'rising numbers' :p
 
Glad to "see" you again Caitlin! Looks like Pita is getting some nice numbers mid-cycle...that green you got a few days ago is lovely! Hopefully the increase helps those PS's come down some!
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet this morning, and I just don't get it. Pita definitely hears his own music at this dance! Hopefully you'll find a breakthrough dose soon!
 
I was looking at your spreadsheet this morning, and I just don't get it. Pita definitely hears his own music at this dance! Hopefully you'll find a breakthrough dose soon!
I don't get it either! It makes me feel horrible. I am wondering about the bottle not being 'as' good, but he's still had lower mid numbers. Either way, I'll order a new bottle for next weekend. Here's to paws crossed with 2.6!
 
199 AMPS. Now, I realize this is a bit crazy but I'm still going to give 2.6 and test again in two hours/multiple times today. I'll be home all day so I feel comfortable being able to monitor. Hopefully I don't shoot myself in the foot with this decision but I'd like to see what happens! Stand by everyone, this may get messy :woot:
 
So here's my jumping ahead question- even if his PMPS is lower like it was this am, I should stick with 2.6? I'd like to think this may be his good dose (anti jinx!) So I don't want to go lower again...?
 
:bookworm: 22 April you had similar blue PS numbers and could've held the dose for both. Couple times before that in early April with hitting similar nadir in 60's. Can you get some before bed tests or test? :)
 
:bookworm: 22 April you had similar blue PS numbers and could've held the dose for both. Couple times before that in early April with hitting similar nadir in 60's. Can you get some before bed tests or test? :)
Yes I'll be able to do a before bed test and/or wake up for one. Thanks!
 
As most of you read, theres' been some major activity outside of Pita's party, so I'm sorry for not responding! AMPS was 141. What the-! Unfortunately I was unable to come home last night so I didn't get any other tests to see where he went :banghead: So I stalled 20 minutes and had a nice 166. Fed and reduced to 2 units instead of the 2.6. I had no clue how much to reduce it by, but felt comfortable with that as I didn't want to give too big a reduction either. I will test once before I leave and hope to be back with time to do another + before his PMPS. Of course I'll be out most of the day...oh Pita!
 
As most of you read, theres' been some major activity outside of Pita's party, so I'm sorry for not responding! AMPS was 141. What the-! Unfortunately I was unable to come home last night so I didn't get any other tests to see where he went :banghead: So I stalled 20 minutes and had a nice 166. Fed and reduced to 2 units instead of the 2.6. I had no clue how much to reduce it by, but felt comfortable with that as I didn't want to give too big a reduction either. I will test once before I leave and hope to be back with time to do another + before his PMPS. Of course I'll be out most of the day...oh Pita!
All you can do is experiment this way - ie., dosing on a lower PS - to gather data for your SS. Good work!
 
When you look at your SS again, switch the numbers. Kris gave me that suggestion a while ago too, it is more helpful to know the number you dosed on in the cell :). If my words are too confusing, you can look on my Stalling cell notes :D
 
When you look at your SS again, switch the numbers. Kris gave me that suggestion a while ago too, it is more helpful to know the number you dosed on in the cell :). If my words are too confusing, you can look on my Stalling cell notes :D
Thank you! I switched it all around
 
PMPS was just 267. Not sure if I should go back to the 2.6 units or maybe bump it down to 2.4 or 2.2 and see what happens?
 
Went with 2.6 and will see what tomorrow brings! Just trying to figure out if he's maybe bouncing from 2.6 and I can try lower again....not quite sure!
 
I was wondering about that too based on the first two readings this morning, and with a lower dose even. It's hard to say. I read an article where they had continuous glucose monitors strapped to some kitties in the research. It looked kind of awful having these boxes strapped to the kitties' backs, but wouldn't it be nice if we didn't have to be home and could still get all the numbers?!?!
 
I was wondering about that too based on the first two readings this morning, and with a lower dose even. It's hard to say. I read an article where they had continuous glucose monitors strapped to some kitties in the research. It looked kind of awful having these boxes strapped to the kitties' backs, but wouldn't it be nice if we didn't have to be home and could still get all the numbers?!?!
I saw that too! Probably same article :p
 
+6 last night was 208. AMPS was just 184. Going to give 2.4 and actually do a curve today. Lol as of right now (it's also very early) I can not for the life of me figure out his pattern! Figured since I'm doing a curve I reduced his dose but not by much, so I'll see what happens! Similar to yesterday.
 
Actually, on the days where you have mid cycle data he shows a smile-shaped curve quite consistently. That's a good pattern. His AM/PMPSs are erratic. They were better at lower doses (1.2 - 1.6 u) when you were using a sliding scale. There's a strong case to be made for consistent dosing but Pita might do better with a carefully designed sliding scale where the dose differences AM and PM are kept small. I know we encouraged you to try consistent dosing but all of this is an experiment. You try something for long enough to gather lots of data and then you evaluate.

Let's see what the others think. I know you've been agonizing over dosing and I really hate to put a wrench in the works but there's enough data on your SS comparing the two regimens (sliding scale versus consistent) that there's an obvious trend to my eye.
 
I see what Kris is talking about and it could be a good thing to try, if you are up for it ;). Second observation, hopefully others have noticed too and maybe can explain to me, around starting 1.6U and going higher Pita seemed to give more pink PS. Of course he threw his own wrench in now :p. I'm having problems with finding words right now :facepalm:... Pita was doing very good on lower doses, has had a little time in higher (for him) numbers, and might be going back to good numbers. Could there be a flare up something attributing to his possible pattern?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top