Tomorrow id go to 2 for those 300+ preshots.Doing a curve today. 357 AMPS, gave 1.8 units. +2 was 331, +5 (little late but it will even out for every 2 hours) was just 251. Think I will hold off on a +6.5 snack since he's not dropping too much.
Do you think I should try 2 units tonight?Tomorrow id go to 2 for those 300+ preshots.
I hadn't thought of that! I got blood for all the other tests so I think it may have just been a 'bad batch's of me testing. I'll try plopping him in front of the bowl though!Oh Pita! I kept meaning to post since you and I both seem to go through these weird times where all of a sudden it's harder to get a tests....Sam was a little dehydrated about a week ago. There were a few days when I was really struggling to get his ears to bleed, and then he was constipated, and then I realized he was dehydrated. Once I got his hydration back up, his ears started bleeding again. Which in hindsight makes perfect sense! Anyway, I wondered if that might be a factor for Pita, too. Maybe try giving him extra extra water, or plunking him in front of the water bowl a little more and see if it helps.
I would.+10 was 315.
Do you think I should try 2 units tonight?
Many people here feed low carb food multiple times a day and it doesn't interfere with BG control. Some cats seem to do better this way. You could try it for a few days to see what happens. It doesn't have to be extra food - you can divide the daily ration into several meals.Wondering what you all think about this. I had originally bought the automatic feeder for when Pita was going low during the day, so he had a midday snack. The past 3 days I have withheld the snack because his numbers have been consistently high. He has meowed a couple times this weekend near his bowl, like he knows he should have had a snack. Before this I NEVER gave food except for twice a day. So my question is, should I keep giving the midday snack regardless of his numbers being high or omit it until his numbers (hopefully) go a bit lower again? Thanks all!
I believe he's gained a little back. He was a bit skinny for my liking but the vet never said specifically whether he needed to gain. I can tell he's gained a little though which I'm happy about!How is his weight now? I forget if Pita needed to gain, lose, or maintain![]()
I don't think it has interfered with his BG at all. I know I left it more as a buffer in case he went too low, but even based on all his higher numbers, it hasn't caused it to spike.Many people here feed low carb food multiple times a day and it doesn't interfere with BG control. Some cats seem to do better this way. You could try it for a few days to see what happens. It doesn't have to be extra food - you can divide the daily ration into several meals.
Yeah all in all, I think I'll keep it in. If it becomes an issue I'll remove it. It doesn't seem to be hurting at all so I'll make him/them happy!Maybe cut the portion of snack so he feels like he got extra?![]()
Happy is good ! - a reward for all the poking.Yeah all in all, I think I'll keep it in. If it becomes an issue I'll remove it. It doesn't seem to be hurting at all so I'll make him/them happy!

Hello Yong! And all you other amazing people. Yes I've been reading posts but just haven't posted myself. Been a little busy and then very tired. Pita is doing pretty well overall. I've tried to get some good data on the weekend. His PS #'s are still a bit higher than I'd like to see but I just increased to 2.4 units this morning. I can tell that his numbers are also higher PS because he acts ravenous. Have been leaving his food for about +6 during the day and it's (obviously) empty when I get home. When I've been home on the weekends, I can see when he hears it and will jump off the bed to go eat, it's kind of adorable. So yeah, nothing to really report. Been trying to get some +#'s before bed but it doesn't always work. Just the increase today so I'll see what happens! Thank you for checking inHey Caitlin, haven't seen you around much. How are you and Pita?![]()
Thanks Djamila, that's so nice of you! I'm trying my bestI'm so sorry to see his numbers still being so stubborn! You're doing a great job of taking care of him and making the needed adjustments. Are you still liking the new job?
. I'm pretty interested to see what happens when I do finally get a new vial of ProZinc. Yes, so far so good, but very long days. I actually need to make myself stand up to unpack everything! How is Sam btw?I actually need to make myself stand up to unpack everything! How is Sam btw?
I didn't move (yet-many months away!) Just the new job! Lol I'm totally teasing you but I just looked at Sam's SS and I'm jealous of your 'rising numbers'Did you move recently (and please forgive my terrible memory if you already told us that!)? Sam is starting to rise a bit too. He looked like he was getting close to being done with all of this, but recently his numbers have been turning upwards again. Not exactly what I was hoping to see!
I don't get it either! It makes me feel horrible. I am wondering about the bottle not being 'as' good, but he's still had lower mid numbers. Either way, I'll order a new bottle for next weekend. Here's to paws crossed with 2.6!I was looking at your spreadsheet this morning, and I just don't get it. Pita definitely hears his own music at this dance! Hopefully you'll find a breakthrough dose soon!


22 April you had similar blue PS numbers and could've held the dose for both. Couple times before that in early April with hitting similar nadir in 60's. Can you get some before bed tests or test? Yes I'll be able to do a before bed test and/or wake up for one. Thanks!22 April you had similar blue PS numbers and could've held the dose for both. Couple times before that in early April with hitting similar nadir in 60's. Can you get some before bed tests or test?
![]()
So I stalled 20 minutes and had a nice 166. Fed and reduced to 2 units instead of the 2.6. I had no clue how much to reduce it by, but felt comfortable with that as I didn't want to give too big a reduction either. I will test once before I leave and hope to be back with time to do another + before his PMPS. Of course I'll be out most of the day...oh Pita!All you can do is experiment this way - ie., dosing on a lower PS - to gather data for your SS. Good work!As most of you read, theres' been some major activity outside of Pita's party, so I'm sorry for not responding! AMPS was 141. What the-! Unfortunately I was unable to come home last night so I didn't get any other tests to see where he wentSo I stalled 20 minutes and had a nice 166. Fed and reduced to 2 units instead of the 2.6. I had no clue how much to reduce it by, but felt comfortable with that as I didn't want to give too big a reduction either. I will test once before I leave and hope to be back with time to do another + before his PMPS. Of course I'll be out most of the day...oh Pita!
Thank you! I switched it all aroundWhen you look at your SS again, switch the numbers. Kris gave me that suggestion a while ago too, it is more helpful to know the number you dosed on in the cell. If my words are too confusing, you can look on my Stalling cell notes
![]()
I saw that too! Probably same articleI was wondering about that too based on the first two readings this morning, and with a lower dose even. It's hard to say. I read an article where they had continuous glucose monitors strapped to some kitties in the research. It looked kind of awful having these boxes strapped to the kitties' backs, but wouldn't it be nice if we didn't have to be home and could still get all the numbers?!?!
... Pita was doing very good on lower doses, has had a little time in higher (for him) numbers, and might be going back to good numbers. Could there be a flare up something attributing to his possible pattern?