Pinky's 115 BG Preshot to dose or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danica20

Member Since 2014
Hi, Pinky's am Preshot was 115. She's never been this low. Am I right not to give her her insulin shot? If you look at her spreadsheet she has never been this low. I unfortunately can't do a curve on her till the weekend. What is the protocol if her numbers maintain? It seems Like I've been waiting forever for these type of numbers to show up now I'm not too sure what to do next.
 
Over on this board.... ( the main board)... we don't tell you to shoot under 200.

I suspect you've had a few low numbers like this in the past couple of weeks ..... Imho, the blacks you've gotten are a reaction to some lower numbers.... possibly
only blues.....
If I'm right, you will have a black number again later today/tonight.


With lantus, we don't do increases in whole units....
we move in quarter of a unit increments ( at most half unit increments)

If would be great if you could get a mid cycle test going, each cycle.....
 
I was just checking to see what your evening number was....

I see in the notes that your vet increased you in whole increments.
Imho, your vet is treating lantus insulin like canninsulin insulin.
Lantus is different.

here is some good information for lantus.

New to lantus and levemir
lantus, levemir, info... proper handling and storage
what is the insulin depot?
Shooting and handling low numbers



You might want to print that last one for handling low numbers.
Sometimes the internet goes down, power goes out.... and if you have that info on your fridge....you'll be better equipped . :-D
 
I agree with Rhiannon that your vet is increasing the dose too fast and that you should skip when you get below 200, for now. It looks like 5 units may be too much insulin. You said you can't do a curve, but if you could get random spot checks during the cycle, it'll help us figure out what is happening. Even a test as you go out the door to work or back home after work and another one just before you turn out the lights to go to bed. Many cats (including mine) like to go a lot lower during the day than they do at night. I suspect you are missing low numbers by not getting any tests at night.
 
Whenever you get a pre-shot too low to shoot (for new folks, 200 mg/dL on a human meter), stall for 30 minutes without feeding and re-test, then post for guidance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top