Am now using the Neosporin with heated rice sock. Returned the Walgreens True Test meter (after five failed attempts in a row one day from two ear lancings) and got refills for our Bayer Breeze 2 which we have had around for awhile. After the Walgreens meter, the Bayer meter truly is a "breeze."
Despite some low pre shot numbers, 120 and 153, when his insulin dose was skipped, I continued to administer 2 units a.m.and 2 1/2 units p.m. ProZinc. This was done last week. Now, with using the Bayer Breeze 2 for the first time tonight, Pinky got a BG reading of 83 twelve hours after his 2 unit dose this morning. This would have been his evening pre shot number and needless to say, no insulin for him tonight. I will get a reading two hours after feeding, 9:15 PDT and see where he is at. I am alarmed that, unless this is a fluke number, Pinky has been getting too much insulin the last few days. This is an instance where I should have listened to Bob and Carl and started all over again at one unit 2X daily and tested, tested, tested.
All in all, I am grateful Pinky has not had a bad hypo on my account. I am also grateful for my wifes suggestion that we pull the Bayer Breeze 2 out again for use on Pinky. I really should listen to her more....