Pinky recently diagnosed diabetec

Status
Not open for further replies.

ourboypinky

Member Since 2012
Thanks to all for all of the great help with Pinky's recent event (apparent hypo). His 120 preshot number indicated that he may have had some low numbers 6-8 hours earlier. Am having difficulty with our Walgreens True Test meter with a lot of error messages and have posted elsewhere for advice on getting a more reliable meter. As this cat is a holy terror (not getting better) when lancing his ear, getting a reading is important the first time. Going to the vet tomorrow for Fructosamine test. Pinky is now getting 2 1/2 to 3 units insulin 2X daily.
 
Hope things get smoother with testing Pinky's BG....took me awhile.

Here is a link I posted recently for glucose meter ratings (Consumer Reports) that might help you a little in getting another meter. You might want to post asking if anyone has any specific information on a meter that you think you might go with. The CR report is really just a helpful tool in deciding which might be the best meter for "you". I started with a One Touch Ultra Mini, and went to the One Touch Ultra2....which has been much better {needs less of a blood sample and easier for me to hold].

As an fyi, it has been mentioned that the "Tru" series of meters haven't been as accurate or recommended by some other members. I am not positive if this also would include the TruResult meter since it's one of the newer advanced technology meters. Some members who have tried the TruResult may have better info on that meter.

Here is the link to Consumer Report's glucose meter ratings.

***CR BG Meter Ratings/Spreadsheet
 
We started off with the iPet meter, but quickly discovered the strips were way too expensive to keep it up. We now use the ReliOn Confirm from Walmart. (The meter was ~$10.) Several of us use ReliOn Confirm or Micro and order our strips for ~$.28/strip. It uses tiny drop of blood, also. One thing I like about the ReliOn is if I run out of supplies, I can run to Walmart and get more.

Have a great day -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Did you see on Health that Sarah lives in Seattle and will help you with testing. Her screen name is Toddy Tiger and she has sent you a pm. (look up in the corner of the page for "1 new message")

I would avoid any meter with True in the name. Most people like the ReliOn because it is the cheapest meter/strips. You can also get a brand name meter and then buy the strips on eBay if you want to go that route.

As lots of us said on your Health thread, that is a big starting dose. We like to start with one unit and then add if the testing indicates. You might check out some of the spreadsheets of the posters here and see what kind of numbers and doses they are giving. (we do have some unique kitties who are doing some unusual dosing so you might skip Hershey and Kitty's spreadsheets for now)

And we need to set you up with a spreadsheet so you can keep track of shots/doses, and when you come on for dosing advice, we have a quick history to help us give advice. If you want help, just ask. I have helped lots of people.
 
Thanks to all and for the links. Have corresponded with Toddy Tiger (Sarah) and am grateful for offer. I feel a little bad asking someone to drive from Mountlake Terrace to Ballard (the Seattle traffic is terrible!). I am getting better on the testing but not easy.
Pinkys pre shot number BG number tonight is 153. He has had low or no carb treats since his last shot and big feeding over 12 hours ago. Did not get a BG reading 6 hours ago as I would have liked as I was stuck at work. Pinky has dropped from 5 units to 2 1/2 units ProZinc 2X daily and we are very proud of him and his numbers. I know the data is sketchy but any opinion on whether I should continue 2 1/2 units (after 2+ oz. FF) or try to drop insulin dose some more? I know the answer is testing and more testing, but just an idea? I will try to get better data for the board but the 6+ number, although very important, is a tough one for me to get.
 
Sue and Oliver, I read your post more carefully, and I will add that Pinky has not been on 5 units 2X daily for several weeks. The brief education my wife and I have received has been eye opening. The vet that set us up should not have done that. At the same time, I have a reluctance to start again with one unit, as his numbers are looking so good and I would hate to see them go up again. I know that the hypo danger is what I should really be worried about.....
 
Had to get that out first. We urge new diabetics not to shoot under 200.

The 153 indicates the dose is too high. If he is that low 12 hours after the shot, he may have been quite low at that 6 hour mark.

If the nadir( +6) is hard to get during the day, you can try for a nadir at night. Lots of people set the alarm, wake up, test and give treats and go back to bed. And weekends are a good time to get data.

We're going to urge you to lower the dose. You can always up it when the tests indicate, but if the dose is too high, it can cause a dangerous hypo.
 
Definitely not a shootable at 153 for new diabetic cats!! I even still get squirmy when I get a low BG .....and Sue has guided me with many a low PS number or oddball number. Safer to wait the 20 minutes (and don't feed), and retest than injecting a much larger dose of insulin than the BG actually requires.

It's difficult for a lot of new members to "not" follow what vet has instructed us to do....even if we don't quite feel comfortable with it or we learn information on this board what a safer, and better way to begin treatment with proper insulin dose to BG level ratio, home testing, and so critical....feeding of low carb/high protein canned cat food (pate). I wonder a little if I hadn't been sent home with a bag of P DM dry and a case of DM cans, what would have Boy's response been then? I've been fortunate that my Boy is doing beautifully and is so very close to OTJ, but would not have even been close to dosing 0.1-0.2u instead of 3.0u if I hadn't decided to be proactive in Boy's treatment plan and trust the advice and suggestions that were given to me.

Lori
 
It looks like you're not on the board any more.

I am wondering if the number was on the TrueTest meter. If so, it may not be as low as 153 and it could be okay. (that meter runs much lower than other meters) if you are using a more accurate meter, it is possible that he could go very low overnight.

Regardless, I hope you monitor tonight to be sure he doesn't go too low. If you get numbers in the 40 range, you need to intervene with higher carb food. If he would continue to drop, put some Karo on his gums. There may be someone on Health later tonight if you need help.
 
Thank you for your input. The wife and I agree that we should skip insulin tonight. As we did with the 120 pre-shot number we got a few days ago. Pinky has eaten so not sure if re-test would yield good result.
 
Oh good. Great that you skipped.

So tomorrow your number will probably be high because it will have been 24 hours since his last shot. You don't want to react to that number - it isn't "real". It would be wise to lower the dose by at least .5 units in the am.

You want to get a shootable number 12 hours apart so lowering the dose should give you that.
 
Pinky's Fructosamine test result was 402 yesterday along with the 153 pre shot number for his BG reading. As this test measures average Blood Glucose over the previous 2-3 week period, I felt relieved that the number came in this range as this was the period where Pinky had transitioned over to strictly low carb canned food (Fancy Feast Classics).
To recap, after being newly diagnosed on March 12th, his vet upped PZI from one unit 2X daily to five units 2X daily in the period of four days while he stayed at the clinic. We were given Hills Science Diet DM for food. We learned later that this was a dangerous escalation for this type of insulin. With readings in the 400's, the second vet, after consulting with an emergency specialist advised 6 units 2X daily along with a switch in diet to low carb canned food. We did not know of the danger of rapidly decreasing Blood Glucose with this diet change as the vet did not mention this. We did know to make the change gradually however. That pre-shot number of 120 last weekend after an apparent hypo was unfortunate. I had dosed 4 1/2 units that morning. After the 120 reading we did not dose for 24 hours. We are now dosing 2 units in the a.m. and 2 1/2 units p.m. Fancy Feast Classics and tuna and chicken for treats.
We have gathered as much knowledge as possible notwithstanding our busy schedule and are very thankful for the resource of the FDMB and its kind people. I am so thankful that Pinky's BG numbers have come down. We have learned not to trust the advice of medical professionals who give guidance in areas they are unfamiliar with. They are without a doubt doing harm.
Our basic problem with Pinky remains the sketchy BG readings. Our lovable boy becomes a viscious beast when he feels that lancet going in... We are currently looking for a vet tech who lives within 4-5 miles to do a curve. My best result with a curve has yielded only 3 successful readings in a day.
May I ask if anyone has an opinion on Young Again Zero Carbs all natural cat food (for a treat)? How about the diabetic formula Wysong products? TIA.
 
Have you tried putting on Neosporin with pain relief before poking? Sometimes a small smear will not only help with the "pain" of the poke, but also help the blood bead up. The consensus is that the poke doesn't really hurt much, as there aren't many nerves in their ears.

Treats are important so if you can find one he is crazy about it, that will help. Oliver loved Bonito flakes - they come in several flavors. Niko likes the freeze dried salmon - the brand is Beefeaters. I haven't heard of either of the brands you mentioned. You do want the main (and hopefully only) ingredient meat of some sort. He doesn't like tuna or chicken? You can use just plain water based tuna pieces or chicken cooked with no spices and cut into chunks.

At first, we had to use the kitty burrito with Oliver. We wrapped him in a towel with only his head showing while we poked.

Obviously you understand how important it is to get some bg numbers with the diet change and the hypos in the past. Let us know how we can help.

Would you like help getting a spreadsheet set up? If so, send me a pm.
 
Am now using the Neosporin with heated rice sock. Returned the Walgreens True Test meter (after five failed attempts in a row one day from two ear lancings) and got refills for our Bayer Breeze 2 which we have had around for awhile. After the Walgreens meter, the Bayer meter truly is a "breeze."
Despite some low pre shot numbers, 120 and 153, when his insulin dose was skipped, I continued to administer 2 units a.m.and 2 1/2 units p.m. ProZinc. This was done last week. Now, with using the Bayer Breeze 2 for the first time tonight, Pinky got a BG reading of 83 twelve hours after his 2 unit dose this morning. This would have been his evening pre shot number and needless to say, no insulin for him tonight. I will get a reading two hours after feeding, 9:15 PDT and see where he is at. I am alarmed that, unless this is a fluke number, Pinky has been getting too much insulin the last few days. This is an instance where I should have listened to Bob and Carl and started all over again at one unit 2X daily and tested, tested, tested.
All in all, I am grateful Pinky has not had a bad hypo on my account. I am also grateful for my wifes suggestion that we pull the Bayer Breeze 2 out again for use on Pinky. I really should listen to her more....
 
Glad that you have a meter you like and trust.

It's not too late to start over at one unit, get some numbers and see if you need to increase or decrease. Safer than playing with the higher dose and having to skip shots.....
 
I always use rice it has always helped us.
83 is low for a 2 hour drop. I'm not a dosing expert, but I might drop down to just 1unit & see what kind of numbers you get.
You guys are doing a good job!
Keep us posted!
 
What did you get on the retest?
Please take Sue up on the offer to help with a SS.
It will help you and us figure this out.
I'm think a dose decrease might be a great plan but a SS will show us for sure.
Carl
 
Got 259 as a pre-shot number tonight. Had to get this at the vets tonight as our Bayer meter gave even the vet an E8 (error) reading. Fortunately, a local vet is giving us a great deal for only $10.00/reading. Factoring the effect of stress on the vet's reading (BG 259) tonight, and ten days of 2 to 2 1/2 units Prozinc daily, any advice on dosing tonight? Yes, I'm aware that a successful curve has not been done on Pinky since lowering his insulin doses. TIA
 
Pinky's Fructosamine test result was 402 yesterday along with the 153 pre shot number for his BG reading. As this test measures average Blood Glucose over the previous 2-3 week period, I felt relieved that the number came in this range as this was the period where Pinky had transitioned over to strictly low carb canned food (Fancy Feast Classics).

I'll get back to this later, but the 402 on the Fruct test doesn't mean his average BG has been 402. There's some sort of formula for what the Fruct test number translates to BG-wise. The actual BG average will be lower than that number but I'll have to look it up.

Tonight's dose - I would shoot no more than 1u tonight. This might be the perfect time to "start over" with a PS number that low.

The last dose, 24 hours ago... that was how much, 2.0 or 2.5?

Carl
 
The last dose was 12 hours ago. The 83 BG reading last night was not a reading, but the error code "E8 read upside down (my wife has aready given me the treatment on my density). At any rate, this mornings dose was 2 units as usual.
 
The last few days has seen Pinky drinking excessively again and appetite increasing. Am hesitant about lowering to one unit as signs of high blood sugar are apparent. As stated before, getting readings is very difficult for me, and even the vets are having trouble, often not getting it the first time.
 
OK, you already know about the gap between FR and BG then....good, I couldn't find what I was looking for!
240 isn't at all bad.

Oh, I realize the E8 = "83", I saw that last night. ;-)
I was wondering what the dose was leading up to that number, or what the PS was this morning. I'm just trying to compare what 2.0 did on the PS's you've gotten the last two cycles, and what 1u might do on this latest number.

Carl
 
Did not get a pre shot number this morning. This cat is proving to be a very difficult patient, and my inability to get BG readings is really a problem. We're working on a solution and my wife has spent many hours on this.
 
Why don't you ask Sarah to come over and help? Sometimes it is just some little thing that you can change. We are big on paying it forward; people helped her. I know she'd like to help you and Pinky.

You sure heat the ear for a good long time? You are using the bigger lancets 25-27 gauge? You have something behind the ear to poke against? Have you tried double poking - a quick second poke in the same spot?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top