Pig 4/16 amps 98! +10 102; pmps 84! A GREEN pre-shot! (!!) SRT Date Announcment (!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

My oh my! What a gorgeous cycle he had last night! Now, this is even with snacks about every two hours. I never give a lot, but maybe a tablespoon. He is doing just oh so beautiful and I cannot complain!

With that being said, I am a tad nervous. I just shot the full dose of Lev on a 98 pre-shot. However, I really feel comfortable that this will be fine. 1) He often nadirs at the +11-+0 time frame, 2) I can set up the auto-feeder for every two hour meals like last night, 3) @Wendy&Neko is right, it seems safe to shoot these numbers and the Lev keeps him very steady so I can almost say his current number will be where he hangs the whole cycle with about a 30 point variance either way, 4) I am trying to get my brother down here to monitor, 5) I shot a full dose on a 113 and that is basically the same number given meter variance.

I think that it is fine. People shoot full doses on green pre-shots all the time, the only difference being dose amount. I hope I have made the right decision
 
Great shooting! You get a special award for your first green preshot. :D
boshand.gif


Love how flat Pig was last night and he started not much higher. Shooting low can get you really flat cycles. You might want to get a +1 and a +2.

Did you ever look at Crystal's SS. Suki shot as low as 70 on Levemir. I know ECID, but this is a great opportunity for you to gather data. The preshot is often around the lowest number of the cycle, which makes those greens safe. I never shot below 51. :p And you can always wait 20-30 minutes without feeding when you see a number you don't feel comfy shooting, then retest.
 
Great shooting! You get a special award for your first green preshot. :D
boshand.gif


Love how flat Pig was last night and he started not much higher. Shooting low can get you really flat cycles. You might want to get a +1 and a +2.

Did you ever look at Crystal's SS. Suki shot as low as 70 on Levemir. I know ECID, but this is a great opportunity for you to gather data. The preshot is often around the lowest number of the cycle, which makes those greens safe. I never shot below 51. :p And you can always wait 20-30 minutes without feeding when you see a number you don't feel comfy shooting, then retest.

I would be lying if I said I was not a bit nervous. However, his cycles are feeling fairly predictable. As in, by the +3-+4 he is about situated. I also will not be leaving for work until about the +4 hour so I feel comfortable in this.

:eek: On Suki's dosing on 7/18! She was far braver than me! But, I am learning! I do not think I would be able to shoot much lower than a 70. But, that is only because I am often at work. I will have to buck up though, because I am going to be dealing with post SRT numbers very soon!
 
Big, big things happening here today!

Guys! SRT date has been set! He is scheduled for intake on Monday, May the 7th at 1:00pm. I also have another back up appointment scheduled for Tuesday at the same time if something happens with travel. I am so thrilled! This is happening and I am so ready for it! I know Pig is!

I will document it all!
 
Last edited:
How smart to have a backup date presceduled! Congrats on getting that green and being brave enough to shoot it! :D

I am so, so, so excited for you and Pig. He has a date! I’m so happy this is soon and will soon be behind you. I think it’s amazing that he’s pretty well regulated going in, he’s looking good, he’s feeling good, it’s the best of circumstances to head in with. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

You should vlog the SRT experience. :smuggrin:

Go, Pig, go!!! :D:D:D
 
So happy great things are happening for you and Pig (still so in love with his name!! Haha). What is SRT? I looked on the sticky for the slang dictionary and the glossary but it wasn't in either.
 
@Amanda & Shmee SRT = stereotactic radiation therapy. It's a type of radiation treatment for cats with acromegaly, that targets the benign pituitary gland tumour that causes acromegaly and the resulting diabetes. The device delivering the radiation is on a gantry, so the beams can target the tumour from up to 7 different directions. The advantage of the different directions is that all the beams end up at the tumour, but with 7 different paths to the tumour, there is less radiation along each path, reducing the impact on the non tumour flesh. Not sure if I've explained it well, but here is a picture showing the radiation paths done for Neko. And one of the machine itself. It rotates angles around the cat, which rests on the flat table with a bite plate and head harness keeping the animal still during the radiation. The machine can also generate a CT image before the radiation begins, so the radiation oncologist can verify the radiation plan.
csu1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • csu2.jpg
    csu2.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 147
@Amanda & Shmee SRT = stereotactic radiation therapy. It's a type of radiation treatment for cats with acromegaly, that targets the benign pituitary gland tumour that causes acromegaly and the resulting diabetes. The device delivering the radiation is on a gantry, so the beams can target the tumour from up to 7 different directions. The advantage of the different directions is that all the beams end up at the tumour, but with 7 different paths to the tumour, there is less radiation along each path, reducing the impact on the non tumour flesh. Not sure if I've explained it well, but here is a picture showing the radiation paths done for Neko. And one of the machine itself. It rotates angles around the cat, which rests on the flat table with a bite plate and head harness keeping the animal still during the radiation. The machine can also generate a CT image before the radiation begins, so the radiation oncologist can verify the radiation plan.
View attachment 35525
Thank you. Best description ever. I knew, conceptually, but the picture and description help immensely.

Heck of a machine.
 
Big, big things happening here today!

Guys! SRT date has been set! He is scheduled for intake on Monday, May the 7th at 1:00pm. I also have another back up appointment scheduled for Tuesday at the same time if something happens with travel. I am so thrilled! This is happening and I am so ready for it! I know Pig is!

I will document it all!
Yay! And congrats on shooting your first green! :D
 
And expensive. I've heard that the cost of the concrete alone, which is used to line the room, runs to several millions. I met an oncologist vet who was on the board at Yonkers, and we got chatting....
Yonkers quoted me about $13K for their cyberknife procedure :eek:. Decided on SRT instead but I know the cyberknife is more precise.
 
How smart to have a backup date presceduled! Congrats on getting that green and being brave enough to shoot it! :D

I am so, so, so excited for you and Pig. He has a date! I’m so happy this is soon and will soon be behind you. I think it’s amazing that he’s pretty well regulated going in, he’s looking good, he’s feeling good, it’s the best of circumstances to head in with. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

You should vlog the SRT experience. :smuggrin:

Go, Pig, go!!! :D:D:D
I could not agree more!
How smart to have a backup date presceduled! Congrats on getting that green and being brave enough to shoot it! :D

I am so, so, so excited for you and Pig. He has a date! I’m so happy this is soon and will soon be behind you. I think it’s amazing that he’s pretty well regulated going in, he’s looking good, he’s feeling good, it’s the best of circumstances to head in with. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

You should vlog the SRT experience. :smuggrin:

Go, Pig, go!!! :D:D:D
Thank you!
I could not agree with you more!! He is just doing so fantastic and it makes me so very happy!
I do have every intention of Vlogging it.. I am buying the camera soon and plan to make daily updates here!
 
How many days long is the treatment? Can you tell us a bit about it? It sounds like it's not really SRT as we know it here from your post on the high dose forum.

Exciting to have a date!
Well, from what I understand they do the radiation bit a little differently. I think this is why they can get away with one sitting at such a low dose of radiation. Typical SRT uses a highly targeted beam of radiation to neutralize the tumor, this we knew. However, from what I have gathered, Pullman uses a sort of 'arc' type radiation beam which allows the radiation to basically wrap around the tumor, thus reaching more surface area with very minimal damage to the surrounding tissues. It works in cases such as these because these types of tumors in felines are typically round or ovoid shaped tumors. I do not know what happens if the tumor is not of this shape. This is the basic idea though. I am sure I will learn a ton more at Pullman!

Yes! I am very excited to have a date! Now it is all in the planning!
 
So happy great things are happening for you and Pig (still so in love with his name!! Haha). What is SRT? I looked on the sticky for the slang dictionary and the glossary but it wasn't in either.
It is short for Stereotactic Radio Therapy - or in normal speak, radiation. Pig is an Acro and as such he has a small pituitary tumor which releases elevated amounts of growth hormone. This is why he is diabetic and also why he needs 59uL to be regulated! Thank you sooo much! He is pretty fond of his name as well! :p
 
Well, he had his 2nd green pre-shot and I could not be happier! Auto feeder is set and my alarms are set as well. This moms came into contact with a virus somewhere and now am under the bus with body aches. No school tonight. It is rest and Theraflu (the non-drowsy kind, of course) for me. Tests galore for Pig. His nadir is moving around these past few days and I would like to pin it down a bit more..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top