Pig 1/19 amps- 326; +1 332; +2 334; +2.75 307; +5 316; +6 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterdays thread
Seeing better numbers today. He started to climb a bit after the +5 due to a food spike. Hoping that the L can pull it back down a bit.

It is my impression, thus far, that the L simply does not have the strength to pull his numbers down more that 20-50 points at any given time. It is simply not in its nature. However, what I am seeing is that it is doing its job of holding those long, flat curves everyone talks of. It seems to me that the R can knock his numbers down about 100pnts and then the L can hold them down at that range, even after meals. The L is taking hold, it just isn't pulling and that is what I need the R for. However, the cumulative nature of L is apparent to me as his numbers stayed down almost entirely flat through out the cycle, but do not quote me on that as I don't have enough data to back that up. I assumed from the last test at +5 last night and todays amps.

Does this seem anywhere close to correct? I could be very wrong with this....
 
Take a peek at Bronx's 2017 SS to see our journey getting to the right dose of L with the help of R. Every cat has an L amount that finally does the trick, took what seemed like forever, but we did get there!
 
Take a peek at Bronx's 2017 SS to see our journey getting to the right dose of L with the help of R. Every cat has an L amount that finally does the trick, took what seemed like forever, but we did get there!

Wow! I knew it would take a while and I guess when your in the middle of it things seem much worse. I know that we are getting there. I can see the difference. I just want him in better numbers so very badly.

I noticed you made a switch from Lantus to Levemir. I am hearing good things about it, but know that ECID. I am considering it. Pig has not ever jumped at injection nor shown any agitated behavior from Lantus. He does get grumpy some, but i am convinced that is part of the higher numbers and my constant nagging over his well being... lol How did the switch work for you?

I also noticed that you use a lot of holistic care for your boy and that intrigues me. What have you found that works well for your Bronx? I know that I tried the yucca drops and saw some decent results, but the cosequin simply did not do anything for Pig.
 
I am very happy about the switch to Lev. He was not liking the Lantus sting once we got past 5u and the later nadir works great when I need to go to work after the am shot or go to sleep after the pm shot. Seems his nadir is around +10 on Lev and that works out great, but ECID. Lev is supposed to have a flatter curve too.

I am trying many natural remedies, not sure what is working and what is not since I am trying so many. But, out of all of them, I would say the fish oil & the turmeric golden paste are the ones I will never stop...for me and him lol.
 
I would say the fish oil & the turmeric golden paste are the ones I will never stop...for me and him lol.

Cheers to that... I use fish oil and turmeric on a daily basis and it is wonderful for me.. I simply do not know where to find the right ones for him. Where do you get them for Bronx?
 
Levemir and Cabergoline has made a world of difference for Maverick.

Yes... I have been considering the switch to Levemir and to give the Cabergoline a go. However, I asked my vet about it and she simply said that per her research Cabergoline did not work, while Paseriotide did have promising results with a hefty price tag. What about using Cabergoline until I can muster the funds for SRT?
 
Awesome! Thanks!

That's what I did, his numbers were improving on Cabergoline but stopped once we were ready to bring him in for the SRT.
What do you mean? That they stopped improving because you stopped the cabergoline in favor of the SRT or that you continued to give the cabergoline and the improvement stopped despite this??
 
If he keeps rising a .75u dose of R may be warranted, per instruction. However, that would be, I assume, >470 or so.... Otherwise, we will stick with the .5uR dosage.

+10 432
 
Has anyone ever had their kitty sleep so soundly that they start talking in their sleep and become almost unresponsive? As in, he is dreaming so hard that it takes a little bit to wake him up? Is this just part of the higher BGs? Does not happen often.

+10.75 383
 
I have been considering the switch to Levemir and to give the Cabergoline a go. However, I asked my vet about it and she simply said that per her research Cabergoline did not work, while Paseriotide did have promising results with a hefty price tag
Almost all cats on cabergoline saw a reduction in dose. We had one here who went off of insulin completely. :)

I used Nordic Naturals fish oil.

Looks like you might be seeing a Lantus double dip. That's where they take a lit drop down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir.

Another Lantus tip you might be interested in. With some cats, if you take a +2 or a +3 and it's about the same as the preshot, you are going to have a fairly normal Lantus cycle. If it's up, then it's a bounce and you can lay off the testing. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot number, you'll need to do more testing. I'm just saying that because you are doing a lot of testing for cat that is solidly in the pink. I would save those test strips for when you are getting to blues and greens. Although all data is good, it's also good to know when you can take a break and do things for you. Learning to not hover takes a while though - voice of experience. :oops:
 
Almost all cats on cabergoline saw a reduction in dose. We had one here who went off of insulin completely. :)

I used Nordic Naturals fish oil.

Looks like you might be seeing a Lantus double dip. That's where they take a lit drop down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir.

Another Lantus tip you might be interested in. With some cats, if you take a +2 or a +3 and it's about the same as the preshot, you are going to have a fairly normal Lantus cycle. If it's up, then it's a bounce and you can lay off the testing. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot number, you'll need to do more testing. I'm just saying that because you are doing a lot of testing for cat that is solidly in the pink. I would save those test strips for when you are getting to blues and greens. Although all data is good, it's also good to know when you can take a break and do things for you. Learning to not hover takes a while though - voice of experience. :oops:

Omg... You are so right about the hovering... lol. My worry is awful..
Okay, so I had a bit of wonkiness with the meter tonight and got a pretty significant variance with test. I was only clued in because the pmps was sooo much lower than the +11 test number.

+0 321
+0 403
+0 378

Now, off of these, I am assuming that I still want to give the .5uR owing to the fact that the lowest of the three is basically the same number as the amps and the highest not in range to justify an increase to .75uR... Correct? L stays at the 17u.
 
Hang in there momma bean and borrow a pretty pair of patience pants. :) phoebe was zonked in higher numbers.
Okay... I just worry so much. I hate when he gets like that. That is actually what clued me into the fact that there was something else going on with him other than 'arthritis". Smh..
I love his name it makes me chuckle. The cat called pig
Lol... Thank you! :bighug: He has historically lived up to his name in all that he does and now more than ever. He is a pig about food, love, momma time, toys, and now insulin... It is funny because my other cat is named Tail. Tail is actually Pig's cat as Pig was mad because he did not have a tail. So, I did research and found a good cat breed for cat companionship and that is how we came to have Tail. It just so happens that Tail is a Maine Coon with a tremendous tail.. haha. I really lucked out with both. They are both rescues out of a group in NWA. I swear though, Tail is the personification of a Great Dane only in cat form... Just the most sweet, gentle, and even tempered cat I have ever been around. A clumsy lug. That's Tail, while Pig is the diabolical mastermind...
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Any ideas on how to sneak in medicines with these guys? Typically, I will just blend them into the food. However, Pig is starting to catch on to the Gaba in his meals and then his wonderful appetite goes down (Well, he sneaks in and eats the civie's food, but jokes on him because its all the same). He simply will not touch food with cisapride in it. I can give him both orally but this seems like a lot of stress for the ole boy. He HATES the taste of the cisapride. He HATES me when I shove my fingers in his mouth and a pill down his throat...
 
Seeing early movement. Wondering if the Gaba is kicking in and his pain in decreasing, thus showing in the numbers??

+1 308
**could be my wonky meter. I do have a spare if need be**
 
Any ideas on how to sneak in medicines with these guys?
Pill pockes, the Allergy Free Duck and Pea version (dog only) are diabetic friendly. Break off a piece and stuff a pill in there. I got a lot of meds compounded liquid as I found squirting went well. Some meds can be compounded into chew treats. In later days, I ended up combining meds that I could into an empty gel cap and pilling that. Less pill sessions. But with an acro, you have to be wary of possible soft tissue growth in the throat, so stick to size #4 and #5 if you can.
 
A little lower... He is sleeping really well right now, so has not asked for food. I will feed him before I go to bed if he has still not asked..
+4 316
 
Late blooming tonight as the L crests in...
+ 291 (A yellow!)

In the midst of finals and everything else, I have been tracking down solutions for my handsome man. I have been trying to get in contact with an internist in Tulsa, OK, which will have to be on Monday. It is my intention to seek out a shift to Levemir and look at the possibility of Cabergoline. Funds are tight, but not impossible. It is my sincerest hope to raise the money for SRT. Fingers crossed and mojo sent... I will see this boy to green!! :D
 
I put them in gel caps (depending on size, sometimes you can get more than one into a #4), and used a pill popper. Much easier for me than putting my fingers in his mouth, and I could do it so fast he (Harvey) barely realized it was there before it was out.
I like that idea... I need to try the pill popper. It worries me, though. Pig can be a regular hellion when he wants to. I can get a pill in his throat, but only because he trusts me... My vet has only been successful once and she has been Pigs vet his whole life... He is solid muscle and quite large for a cat. But, totally worth the shot. I assume I can find one online?
 
I plan to dose another .5uR on the morning cycle @ 11. Pending relatively similar ps numbers.. As in he isn't sliding way down. This should be acceptable, yes?

I won't be able to shoot R tomorrow night as I work early Sunday morning and will be asleep... Unless we have enough data to do so. However, I should be able to do so on Sunday morning and night.

Sticking with the .5u
 
Any ideas on how to sneak in medicines with these guys? Typically, I will just blend them into the food. However, Pig is starting to catch on to the Gaba in his meals and then his wonderful appetite goes down (Well, he sneaks in and eats the civie's food, but jokes on him because its all the same). He simply will not touch food with cisapride in it. I can give him both orally but this seems like a lot of stress for the ole boy. He HATES the taste of the cisapride. He HATES me when I shove my fingers in his mouth and a pill down his throat...
I will sometimes grind up pills, mix them with butter or olive oil or strong smelling fish oil---and smear the mess on the cat's fur. Usually the cat will clean it off, unless it is too sick to care.
 
I use the #4 and put zofran, cerenia and gabapentin in one capsule. I also have the bupe in the gel ear compound. The cis can be compounded for ear gel I think. Just rub on ear. Might be worth checking out. :) would love to see pic of Tail too!.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top