Yong & Maury GA
Member Since 2017
Phoebe is getting some trampoline time 
And of course, Eric Awww....thank you Yong and Maury!!!Go Phoebe!And of course, Eric
![]()
. I don't think anyone doubts your ability to handle the situation if Phoebe really goes low. As a newer member, I am just always curious to see what others do
. It's how I learn and try to help even newer members Thanks Yong. I curve Phoebe's low number with a teaspoon of fancy feast gravy and a few treats always works!We did not intend to put more stress on you while dealing with family issues. Hope everyone is OK. I don't think anyone doubts your ability to handle the situation if Phoebe really goes low. As a newer member, I am just always curious to see what others do
. It's how I learn and try to help even newer members
.
@EricH. I see you've been at this FD dance a while now...
Awesome! I'm sure a lot of us understand the financial struggle! I've been caring for Maury while unemployedI just want to apologize if I came across rude. It was not my intentions. I do my best to respond too every posting on here. Sometimes it's difficult when I'm at work or when I'm not worrying how I'm gonna keep a roof over Phoebe's and my head. Things are extremely rough at the moment for us. Never thought being 45 and trying to find a job with pay comparable to the one I was let go from last June would be so difficult? I'm working currently but it's a 1/4 of what I was once earning. And as all of you know caring for a diabetic animal isn't cheap. That being said Phoebe always comes first. Her needs are always taken care of no matter what. She's my girl. I only want the best for her. Sometimes I'm hard on myself when I feel I'm not doing enough.
. I'm truly thankful for being able to get his supplies and everything else I have, including credit cards
Sending hugs!
I'm sorry Rachel I was a little emotional earlier. But hey we're all part of the same cat loving family! I wasn't mad you or anyone on here. Just myself. I'm sorry. I'm sorry that you're having some hardships as well. I pray things get better for you and your family soon! Both ACs and a radiator thats rough. Hopefully it's not to hot their. I had a radiator go out on my old car a few years back and found it more economical to purchase an aftermarket and install it myself. That's if you have the garage, time, and space.Eric, please know that I was not trying to insult you or imply that you wouldn't do everything necessary to take care of Phoebe. I was just very worried and when I didn't see other readings on your SS, I panicked a bit. Trust me, I understand the financial stress...we've just had both ACs in the house go out, plus one car is now in the shop with a cracked radiator...been a rough few days and thats following the last few years of not enough money. It makes things a lot harder.
I hope you find something VERY soon and that Phoebe continues to do well (as I'm sure she will).
Thank you Djamila I find this most helpful! I'll definitely start referencing this moving forward.Eric, I'm a little concerned about shooting 2.5u this morning after that lime green last night. As Sharon said, I think Phoebe needs a reduced dose. Right now it looks like you're dosing kind of like Vetsulin with a broad sliding scale. Prozinc is an in-and-out insulin, so there is some flexibility on dosing, but the protocol recommends a more consistent approach to the dose with only small changes that are closely monitored. The 473 this morning was a bounce number, not a "real" 473. I wonder if Phoebe wouldn't get some more consistent numbers with a lower and more consistent dose?
This is an excerpt from the protocol:
Changing the dose will depend on both the pre shot levels and the nadir (lowest point of the cycle, usually 5-7 hours after the shot.)
When adjusting the dose, it is wise to check with your vet and with forum members for guidance. In general, the following guidelines can be used. Be cognizant of the over riding principle for ProZinc/PZI : Every Cat is Different (ECID)
If the cat is in the 250+ range at pre shot and does not drop 50% or more for nadir, a small adjustment could be considered, if monitoring is possible. A small adjustment is likely to be 0.25 units per shot.
If the cat is in the 250+ range(or higher) at pre shot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility.
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, releases glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". (Adapted from the Lantus sticky by Jill)
If bouncing is suspected, any increases in dose should be tiny and monitored carefully.
Doses are best held at least 3 cycles, unless the nadir is too low. In that case, it should be adjusted down. NOTE: A cycle is 12 hours. So, when we say 3 cycles, we mean (3) 12 hour cycles.
All kitties would like the Bunny (alive) instead of candies or eggs![]()
Horrible but true ...All kitties would like the Bunny (alive) instead of candies or eggs![]()

Happy Easter Sharon and Colin!Happy Easter Eric and Phoebe!