Phoebe's Rebound pt.14

Status
Not open for further replies.
@EricH. I see you've been at this FD dance a while now...
Are you giving honey or syrup after the 27 reading? That's a dangerously low number. Did you retest to see if it was accurate?
 
Eric, I'm a little concerned about shooting 2.5u this morning after that lime green last night. As Sharon said, I think Phoebe needs a reduced dose. Right now it looks like you're dosing kind of like Vetsulin with a broad sliding scale. Prozinc is an in-and-out insulin, so there is some flexibility on dosing, but the protocol recommends a more consistent approach to the dose with only small changes that are closely monitored. The 473 this morning was a bounce number, not a "real" 473. I wonder if Phoebe wouldn't get some more consistent numbers with a lower and more consistent dose?

This is an excerpt from the protocol:
Changing the dose will depend on both the pre shot levels and the nadir (lowest point of the cycle, usually 5-7 hours after the shot.)

When adjusting the dose, it is wise to check with your vet and with forum members for guidance. In general, the following guidelines can be used. Be cognizant of the over riding principle for ProZinc/PZI : Every Cat is Different (ECID)

If the cat is in the 250+ range at pre shot and does not drop 50% or more for nadir, a small adjustment could be considered, if monitoring is possible. A small adjustment is likely to be 0.25 units per shot.

If the cat is in the 250+ range(or higher) at pre shot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility.

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, releases glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". (Adapted from the Lantus sticky by Jill)

If bouncing is suspected, any increases in dose should be tiny and monitored carefully.

Doses are best held at least 3 cycles, unless the nadir is too low. In that case, it should be adjusted down. NOTE: A cycle is 12 hours. So, when we say 3 cycles, we mean (3) 12 hour cycles.
 
Eric, can you update us crazy ladies on Phoebe? And your thoughts on what Sharon said? That 27 is a dangerous low. Djamila took some time to write you that post as well. :)
 
172 @ +6
Phoebe is doing great! Currently can't fully respond in depth with a long drawn out answer as I'm tending to family issues at the moment. As for Phoebe's low number yesterday I believe it was an anomaly.
 
Also if people would read my posts and those that have followed Phoebe and I will realize that I curb Phoebe's numbers when they're low. I find it insulting to me and those that have helped me from the start too assume that I'm just not going to do anything too help her!!! I can read Phoebe extremely well from her actions, meows, and purrs.
 
Hope everything is ok Eric. No one here meant to insult you. We know you know what to do when Phoebe is too low, we just worry about her like she was our own, and are thinking maybe she needs a little less insulin. Glad she's ok.
 
Eric, this is a community of wise and caring people who help each other out. In asking what happened, no one was insulting you or insinuating that you don't know what you're doing. We are just invested in each other and care about what happens.
 
We did not intend to put more stress on you while dealing with family issues. Hope everyone is OK :bighug:. I don't think anyone doubts your ability to handle the situation if Phoebe really goes low. As a newer member, I am just always curious to see what others do :):bookworm:. It's how I learn and try to help even newer members :D.
 
I just want to apologize if I came across rude. It was not my intentions. I do my best to respond too every posting on here. Sometimes it's difficult when I'm at work or when I'm not worrying how I'm gonna keep a roof over Phoebe's and my head. Things are extremely rough at the moment for us. Never thought being 45 and trying to find a job with pay comparable to the one I was let go from last June would be so difficult? I'm working currently but it's a 1/4 of what I was once earning. And as all of you know caring for a diabetic animal isn't cheap. That being said Phoebe always comes first. Her needs are always taken care of no matter what. She's my girl. I only want the best for her. Sometimes I'm hard on myself when I feel I'm not doing enough.
 
We did not intend to put more stress on you while dealing with family issues. Hope everyone is OK :bighug:. I don't think anyone doubts your ability to handle the situation if Phoebe really goes low. As a newer member, I am just always curious to see what others do :):bookworm:. It's how I learn and try to help even newer members :D.
Thanks Yong. I curve Phoebe's low number with a teaspoon of fancy feast gravy and a few treats always works!
 
I feel like quoting myself fits here...

@EricH. I see you've been at this FD dance a while now...

This is where your SS notes would come in handy. I looked at your whole SS even from 2016 and didn't see any 20s. From first glance with not searching through almost a years worth of posts we can't tell how or when you address lime greens or quick drops.
My comments were made from 100% genuine concern not to insult you or suggest you don't know what you're doing. I recently used the link I shared with you when Chuck hit 43. I needed it. My brain didn't function well once I saw that lime green. It was only shared for quick access if you needed it.
That said... 27 is a nasty number and I still agree maybe a dose reduction is the best idea.
:)
 
I just want to apologize if I came across rude. It was not my intentions. I do my best to respond too every posting on here. Sometimes it's difficult when I'm at work or when I'm not worrying how I'm gonna keep a roof over Phoebe's and my head. Things are extremely rough at the moment for us. Never thought being 45 and trying to find a job with pay comparable to the one I was let go from last June would be so difficult? I'm working currently but it's a 1/4 of what I was once earning. And as all of you know caring for a diabetic animal isn't cheap. That being said Phoebe always comes first. Her needs are always taken care of no matter what. She's my girl. I only want the best for her. Sometimes I'm hard on myself when I feel I'm not doing enough.
Awesome! I'm sure a lot of us understand the financial struggle! I've been caring for Maury while unemployed :blackeye:. I'm truly thankful for being able to get his supplies and everything else I have, including credit cards :p. First pay cheques I start getting go there! lol :bighug:Sending hugs!:bighug:
 
My dad is currently struggling with trying to find a 9-5 job that pays close to what his trucking job pays. It seems impossible. But at 60 he's hurting from the job.
I'm sorry you have the added stresses of all that.
 
I'm very sorry that you 're having such a hard time , Eric. We can see that you do everything you can to look after Phoebe really well.
 
Eric, please know that I was not trying to insult you or imply that you wouldn't do everything necessary to take care of Phoebe. I was just very worried and when I didn't see other readings on your SS, I panicked a bit. Trust me, I understand the financial stress...we've just had both ACs in the house go out, plus one car is now in the shop with a cracked radiator...been a rough few days and thats following the last few years of not enough money. It makes things a lot harder.

I hope you find something VERY soon and that Phoebe continues to do well (as I'm sure she will).
 
Eric, please know that I was not trying to insult you or imply that you wouldn't do everything necessary to take care of Phoebe. I was just very worried and when I didn't see other readings on your SS, I panicked a bit. Trust me, I understand the financial stress...we've just had both ACs in the house go out, plus one car is now in the shop with a cracked radiator...been a rough few days and thats following the last few years of not enough money. It makes things a lot harder.

I hope you find something VERY soon and that Phoebe continues to do well (as I'm sure she will).
I'm sorry Rachel I was a little emotional earlier. But hey we're all part of the same cat loving family! I wasn't mad you or anyone on here. Just myself. I'm sorry. I'm sorry that you're having some hardships as well. I pray things get better for you and your family soon! Both ACs and a radiator thats rough. Hopefully it's not to hot their. I had a radiator go out on my old car a few years back and found it more economical to purchase an aftermarket and install it myself. That's if you have the garage, time, and space.
 
Eric, I'm a little concerned about shooting 2.5u this morning after that lime green last night. As Sharon said, I think Phoebe needs a reduced dose. Right now it looks like you're dosing kind of like Vetsulin with a broad sliding scale. Prozinc is an in-and-out insulin, so there is some flexibility on dosing, but the protocol recommends a more consistent approach to the dose with only small changes that are closely monitored. The 473 this morning was a bounce number, not a "real" 473. I wonder if Phoebe wouldn't get some more consistent numbers with a lower and more consistent dose?

This is an excerpt from the protocol:
Changing the dose will depend on both the pre shot levels and the nadir (lowest point of the cycle, usually 5-7 hours after the shot.)

When adjusting the dose, it is wise to check with your vet and with forum members for guidance. In general, the following guidelines can be used. Be cognizant of the over riding principle for ProZinc/PZI : Every Cat is Different (ECID)

If the cat is in the 250+ range at pre shot and does not drop 50% or more for nadir, a small adjustment could be considered, if monitoring is possible. A small adjustment is likely to be 0.25 units per shot.

If the cat is in the 250+ range(or higher) at pre shot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility.

Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, releases glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". (Adapted from the Lantus sticky by Jill)

If bouncing is suspected, any increases in dose should be tiny and monitored carefully.

Doses are best held at least 3 cycles, unless the nadir is too low. In that case, it should be adjusted down. NOTE: A cycle is 12 hours. So, when we say 3 cycles, we mean (3) 12 hour cycles.
Thank you Djamila I find this most helpful! I'll definitely start referencing this moving forward.
 
Phoebe didn't like this little Easter egg I rescued from the highway this morning!
20170416_104420.jpg
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top