Phobos - AMPS 532; question re: Lanutus increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
We've been holding at 1.5 units 2x/day for 7 days now. Phobos' numbers have been all over the place. Looking at the protocol, I'm not sure what would be recommended - would we increase by .5 because most of his nadirs have been above 300, or only by .25 since he's had a couple nadirs under 200?

Also, I'm trying to figure out which foods I can feed him. I came across updated numbers yesterday and one was higher than I had previously thought. Is Friskies Country Style Dinner okay or too high? I'm limited on types I can find locally. Of the Friskies Classic Pates I can only get the Turkey & Giblets Dinner, Supreme Supper, Seafood Entree, Country Style Dinner, Poultry Platter and Mariner's Catch. And the cats don't seem to like the Poultry Platter. I'm trying to use some FF as well, but, the cost...

Thanks!
 
every one tries to keep it at 10% or less. You are right on that line.
It will depend on how carb sensitive Phobos is and as you collect more data ..... you'll be able to figure out if it's raising his numbers. You are footnoting when you feed it....

the lowest friskies is special diet turkey and giblets pate.... maybe you will run into some at some store .... petsmart and petco have it.

I would raise by o.25 u .... because of those blues....

the other pattern I see is when you get those blues, he bounces up to blacks.....
you might want to try to set an alarm and get a random test during the pm cycle.... something between a +6 and +11.....
he might have had a blue last night, hence the black this morning....
that is my reasoning for only going up by 0.25.....
 
Thanks for the info. Unfortunately, in regards to the food, I've checked the local stores (Walmart, Rosauers, Winco). The closest Petsmart or Petco (can't remember which it is) is 50 miles away; no Kroger or Publix here. I'll just keep an eye out for the Special diet one and try to use more FF.

Anyone else have input on the dosing? Just the .25 increase? For how long ?
 
Our Walmart did not carry the special diet flavors either.

I know you can order online from Petsmart. Maybe check on that. I also think Amazon carries the special diet flavors, if that's a route you want to take.

I agree with Rhiannon to raise it by .25u and hold it for 6 cycles (3 days). Is there any way you can grab a test between +6 and +11 tonight and tomorrow night? Give that Phobos has seen blue on this dose, I don't think it is unreasonable to think she's dipping lower at night and bouncing.
 
I agree with the others on the .25U increase. We decide on the increase amount based on how low the dose can take the cat and Phoebe has been seeing blues from this dose.

Getting a night time cycle test is very important. You can even get one just before you go to bed. Many cats (mine included) prefer to go lower at night than during the day. Getting those before bed tests will tell us what she's doing overnight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top