Petty&Maria

Status
Not open for further replies.

Petty & Maria

Active Member
Hello. I'm Petty and my three-legged kitty Maria. Maria is 9 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes on 10/23/24. She had 2 broken teeth and I noticed, apart from the fact that she started peeing in different parts of the house, she was down as if she had a fever. He took 2 units of consisulin for a week and then the doctor switched us to lantus again 2 units. He eats Royal Canin dry food. We live in Greece.Now I have learned to measure sugar at home I have requested the ss and I am waiting for you to guide us
 
Last edited:
Hello. I'm Petty and my three-legged kitty Maria. Maria is 9 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes on 10/23/24. She had 2 broken teeth and I noticed, apart from the fact that she started peeing in different parts of the house, she was down as if she had a fever. He took 2 units of consisulin for a week and then the doctor switched us to lantus again 2 units. He eats Royal Canin dry food. Now I have learned to measure sugar at home I have requested the ss and I am waiting for you to guide us

Welcome to the Forum, we are here to help you, we need to know more about Maria, below are several links for you to create your signature and spread sheet, also a Drs food list. the third column will have the content of carbs
It is important for diabetic cats to have a diet of wet can food between 0-10%, dry food or kibbles have a content of 25-35 % carbs, it contradicts the insulin given, cats cannot digest carbs, therefore the pancreas stops creating insulin and will not have an opportunity for it to heal. home testing for BG is very important , you do not want administer insulin without knowing her BG, most members use the ReliOn Premier monitor and strips, it may be purchased at Walmart, very inexpensive; you should get together what is called a HYPO KIT, this contains some medium carb food between 11-15% carbs and some high carb food between 16-24% carbs, KARO syrup or Honey, this will be need in case Maria's BG gets to 50 or lower, and we can help you if need to in using these items to hike up her BG to safe numbers again. there is no concern that is small, so feel free to ask, in the Main Forum there are sticky that contain valuable information, so as soon as you create your signature, we can get on the way to monitor Maria to great health, I will also tag a Lantus expert to help you with dosing:bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome Petty and Maria to the forum,
I will tag @Bandit's Mom to help you with the spreadsheet.
The RC diabetic dry food is not a good choice for diabetic cats as it is high carb food.
Can you tell us which country you live in so we can help you with a better food?
***However I would not do any swap over of food until you can monitor the blood glucose closely, as swapping to low carb food will most likely drop the blood glucose and you need to be monitoring closely when doing any swap.

Well done learning to hometest!
 
Hi and welcome Petty and Maria to the forum,
I will tag @Bandit's Mom to help you with the spreadsheet.
The RC diabetic dry food is not a good choice for diabetic cats as it is high carb food.
Can you tell us which country you live in so we can help you with a better food?
***However I would not do any swap over of food until you can monitor the blood glucose closely, as swapping to low carb food will most likely drop the blood glucose and you need to be monitoring closely when doing any swap.

Well done learning to hometest!

Hello! I can do home test, im afraid to change food but is very important to do it. Doctor told me to give her RC. I live in Greece. Thank you!
 
Don’t be afraid to change the food . As long as you are hometesting, it is safe to do so. You may have to adjust the dose when feeding low carb wet food and we can help you with that.
I’ll tag @Gill & George as she lives in Spain and she may have some ideas for you in regards to suitable food.
 
Last edited:
Start of Tight Regulation
  1. Good evening. This week we will start with my Maria (Tight Regulation). Maria is already taking 2 units of insulin and please clarify if I start with 2 units or 2.25 for 5-7 days
    Thank you!
 
@Petty I can tag some experienced members for you. Can you link the spreadsheet that Bhooma @Bandit's Mom set up for you above to your signature, , only because members won't have to search for it . You would put it under your signature . Can you add TR to your signature and your spreadsheet above
Can you update your spreadsheet. I also would advise to get some tests in after Maria's PMPS test :cat:
If you are still feeding the Royal Canin Dry food you can't follow TR. You would need to follow the SLGS method Are you still feeding that ?

Your spreadsheet needs to be added to your signature ,
@Petty
 
Last edited:
Before you make a change in dose, I'd suggest you get a few more tests. We recommend that you always get a test before you give a shot -- the AMPS and PMPS tests. In addition, you want to get at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. Lantus dosing is based on how low the insulin brings the numbers down. You've been getting some tests during the AM cycle but none at night. I'd suggest getting a test before you go to bed so you know that your cat is in safe numbers before you go to sleep. Getting more tests is particularly important since Tight Regulation is a more aggressive approach to dosing.
 
Here's the link to your post in the LBL forum where you asked the same question: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/start-of-tight-regulation.295784/

We need to know what food Petty is eating now. If still getting any dry food, you cannot switch to Tight Regulation which requires an all low carb wet or raw food diet. In addition, any food switch to low carb from the Royal Canin will likely drop his numbers quite a bit, and possibly his dose. You need to complete any food switch before changing the Tight Regulation.
 
If you are still feeding the Royal Canin Dry food you can't follow TR. You would need to follow the SLGS method Are you still feeding that ?
If so please add SLGS to your signature and spreadsheet up top
@Petty
 
Here's the link to your post in the LBL forum where you asked the same question: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/start-of-tight-regulation.295784/

We need to know what food Petty is eating now. If still getting any dry food, you cannot switch to Tight Regulation which requires an all low carb wet or raw food diet. In addition, any food switch to low carb from the Royal Canin will likely drop his numbers quite a bit, and possibly his dose. You need to complete any food switch before changing the Tight Regulation.
ok. First i 'll change the food
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top