Performing curve...need advice

Neeka

Member Since 2018
So I'm conducting Bailei's curve today to find his nadir to help get him regulated. First bg this am at 8:40 was 412, he ate & I gave him 2 units (his normal dose every 12 hours). Tested again at 10:40am = 140, 12:35pm = 77, 1:35pm = 120, 3:30pm = 205. This is the first time I've done his curve since he was diagnosed about 2 weeks ago. Does this appear he is bouncing? Should I reduce the dose? Any advice appreciated.
 
Last edited:
What insulin is he on? That looks like a standard smile curve that you see with an in-and-out type insulin. The 77 looks to be his nadir and then he is slowly rising from there. Not bad at all :)
 
He's on ProZinc & I use the AlphaTrak2 meter exclusively. I'll post again when his next 2 readings are done.
 
I agree, that's a really beautiful curve so far! Let's see where he ends up tonight and we can go from there. :)
 
So I'm conducting Bailei's curve today to find his nadir to help get him regulated. First bg this am at 8:40 was 412, he ate & I gave him 2 units (his normal dose every 12 hours). Tested again at 10:40am = 140, 12:35pm = 77, 1:35pm = 120, 3:30pm = 205. This is the first time I've done his curve since he was diagnosed about 2 weeks ago. Does this appear he is bouncing? Should I reduce the dose? Any advice appreciated.
Omg. I’ve been at this 6 weeks and would love those numbers. Seems normal based on food effects and time of day :rb_icon:
 
That's all great advice. Don't forget to chant and sacrifice a chicken (KFC will do). Then you'll really be in the club! You've already done the vampire thing with his ears so the hard part is over. :rolleyes:
 
My first curve many years ago.
prayer.jpg
Why isn't this working!!!
 
7:10 reading was 380, I expect he'll be back in the 400s at 9 for the final reading. Based on all this so far, is 2units going to be his stable dose or should we go down?
 
Hi there! It would be very helpful if we can see the data/curve on the spreadsheet (Christa's post above, #5). It's color-coded and so very helpful in visualizing that patterns. It's super easy to set up, too, because of the detailed instructions.

What are you feeding your kitty? That's very helpful information, too. If you could set up your "signature block" (light grey stuff at the p then we won't all keep asking you the same questions! :) You can link the spreadsheet right into it, so all anyone would need to due to see your kitty's data is to click on your post in your signature. The instructions for doing that are at the bottom of the "How to set up a spreadsheet" page.
 
7:10 reading was 380, I expect he'll be back in the 400s at 9 for the final reading. Based on all this so far, is 2units going to be his stable dose or should we go down?
I would not decrease. With Prozinc you should base dosing changes off the nadir, not pre shot numbers. 77 is about as perfect as it gets. Let it ride for a few days and see if he can be consistent. Are you able to get mid cycle numbers during the week at all, or just on weekends?
 
So last reading at 9:10pm is 336. I gave him 1 unit, kind of afraid to give him 2 thinking it will drop him too far down. What should I do?
 
Once you've done a few more curves you may see how slight changes bring big differences. There is no such thing as a typical curve just like no such thing as a typical cat having a typical day. For us eight other cats were being fed, a dog was barking, someone was at the door etc. Nigel had textbook bell curves but Noah's looked like a kid scribbling crayon on the wall, just useless and he bounced. This will take practice and patience, then one day you'll be the one giving advice.
 
So last reading at 9:10pm is 336. I gave him 1 unit, kind of afraid to give him 2 thinking it will drop him too far down. What should I do?

If you are interested in gathering additional data and will be up for a while, you could get a +2 or +3. Otherwise, you get to get a good night's sleep!

P.S. Since we're all in different time zones, it is helpful to specify the time zone if you refer to a time in your post; that's also why we also say "+2" (for example), meaning two hours after the shot. Time zone can also be very helpful to add to your signature block when you get it set up.
 
Your curve yesterday was really beautiful. I'd probably stick with 2 units for now. Do you get a test before every shot?
 
Yes, I test & shoot every am/pm. He was 336 this am so I only gave 1 unit, I was afraid he would go too low with 2.
 
As other's have mentioned, setting up the spreadsheet will really help. If you need any help with that, just ask and there are a couple of people who can assist.
 
Back
Top