Pepcid AC...Jake PMps 55....2u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bo & Jake

Member Since 2009
Sorry LL,I know it's for Health forum but is more trafic here.
Is anybody use Pepcid AC (1/4 tablet of 10mg) for better appetite?
Jake is again "off" and iits evening,before long weekend. Uhhhh...
It's just to much for one day!
Linda and Bear Man are in my thoughts!
Thanks for any respond!
 
Re: Pepcid AC...Jake

Pepsid is more for nausea than it is to enhance appetite. There are other drugs or strategies to stimulate appetite.
 
Re: Pepcid AC...Jake PMps 55.....2u

He ate a lil (maybe 1/4 of ff) and I shoot reduced 2u
Gave him allso 1/4 Pepcid AC.
Oooo,Jeez! How I was complaining that he eat to much and now I wish...lil more!
Sienne,Pepcid was the only thing that I had at home!
 
I have given it to Shadow when he didn't seem to want to eat....I hope it helps Jake...
but it will settle their stomachs if that's what's bothering them...do you have HC gravy Bo?
And can you get another number to see where he is going?
 
I'm still concerned about Jake. If his appetite is still off and he's not himself, given the previous poo problems, maybe it really is time for the vet to give him a thorough check up.
 
Sienne,I realy appreciate You concern for Jake!
his last check up was in mid of june this Year!
Right now he is streched on carpet and relaxing.
seema like hes appetite is not complete off because when I open cane or pouch bag with food he comes over and seems like he wants to eat than he stops. Maybe he is nauseous?
 
Jess' dog had a complete exam and ultrasound, which showed nothing. Ten days later, he had full-blown lymphoma, stage IV.

I'm not saying Jake has cancer. What I'm saying is that things can change very, very quickly in a senior pet. Four months in the life of a cat is not the same as four months in the life of a human. And animals hide illnesses too well. If Jake has always had a good appetite and is now inappetant without an obvious cause, it's best to have him fully checked by a vet. Even if he had a clean bill of health four months ago. Reaching for an appetite stimulant (which btw pepcid is not) is not a solution, it's just a bandaid. You need to find out if there's an underlying problem. If this was my kitty, I'd at least schedule a full physical exam and bloodwork. Hopefully it'll show nothing serious, but the only way to be sure is to schedule an appointment with his veterinarian.
 
Come on Jake, eat. Bo, how about some nice deli meat or rotiserary chicken? Will he eat that? I think anything he wants right now.
Is your vet open on Saturdays, just in case?
What kind of treats do you have?
 
Re: Pepcid AC...Jake PMps 55....2u +2 48...

Try to give him anything and everything! No luck! At +2 he 'ate' lil not sure carbs #s and lick just gravy (no HC).
have to figure out something!
thanks everybody!
 
Do you have HC gravy? Karo syrup? Honey? anything like that?
I have used the medication syringe to give Shadow gravy when he goes low....just get it into him that way....
is there a way someone can get some gravy for you if you don't' have any at home?
Friskies chicken & tuna dinner with gravy is 19%....
 
Yes there are a bunch of Prime Filets Friskies that have like 19% carbs. Can you give him a bunch of gravy?
 
Re: Pepcid AC...Jake PMps 55 +2 48 +3 37

He woudn't open mouth anymore. I just gave him 3-4 drops of Maple sirup with a lil spoon.
He licked a gravy from FF chicken. He start to runaway from me.
Can't believe....this am he was AMps 307 2.75 u
PMps 55 2u

It's not even onset and hes is droping! O Dear Lord help me!
 
I know it's not the best for a diabetic, but would he like some vanilla ice cream, whipping cream, or half and half?
 
Gee Bo..this is so early in the cycle...I know you are worried too!
If you cannot get gravy and karo into him to get those numbers up, he will still keep dropping and I am thinking that the Emergency vet will be best able to handle this. You have along way to go in this cycle and with him dropping like this, well...I am very worried. If you cannot syringe gravy into his mouth, then this is very serious, isn't it?
Are you having any success with getting anything into him?
 
This is what I wanted to post, but was afraid I may be overeating:

Bo, listen, if I have to pack up my two cats and drive up there...to wherever you are, I will...
I think you need to be prepared. If it was me, I would call the ER vet and let them know I may be bringing in a diabetic.
I'm sorry, I'm a spazz. nailbite_smile I'll shut up now :roll: :oops: please syringe feed him, and update us, okay?
 
Came from 24/7 store and get some Friskies turkeydinner in gravy,Whiskas Real salmon in juice (he loves it)
Not that high in carb but he ate (looks like)with appetite.
Ooo,how bean is happy! Even my headache stoped. Will check him in while!
Thank You so much (get no time to name You) who keep me company tonite.
I'm so gratefull!
 
I know I ain't going to sleep until I know Jake's okay. And I need sleep. So, come on up, Jake, okay?
 
+3 pm 37 +4 55...

He goulped I think 3/4 Whiskas Real salmon in juice at +4 and I think that he will go up more!
Dyana ,Thank You for staying with Us . think U can go to bed now. I will test him at +5 than ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ,
Iam pooped!
I will fill + 5 on SS!
Good nite and sweet dreams!
 
pepcid AC can help if he is feeling gassy and bloated. but if he isn't eating well tomorrow i'd bring him in.
glad the canned food tonight was a big hit!
cyproheptadine is another appetite stimulant the vet may suggest. but could use an exam to make sure he's not blocked and nothing else is wrong. is he using the litterbox ok today or has he gone at all?
 
was glad to see Jake responded to everyone's worries and ate something! Keep us posted if you have any other numbers tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top