Pablo's AMPS 397, +6 313; acro questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday's Condo

WCR: The usual. He somehow got the timed feeder jammed in a way that it would only open about an inch wide for his mid-morning snack...and then he must have reached in with a paw and scraped little chunks of food out onto the floor, smearing it everywhere as he did so. ohmygod_smile It looks like someone painted with Fancy Feast in my room!

So I'm not exactly sure why he ended up with a BG of 44 yesterday at PM shot time. Does the tumor suddenly go inactive one night and then back into the active stage the next day? Because he's been in the 300s all day after that skipped shot last night. So he's definitely not keeping his BG under control by himself. I backed down to 6.25 units this morning. I hate seeing this pink day after so many blues, but I hated seeing that 44 too! I've never gotten a number that low before and it freaked me out. Of course, Pablo didn't realize anything was wrong except that he got some extra-yummy food and treats last night!
 
I think maybe the dose was starting to work well, and you got to green, then the combination of rebound and skipped shot maybe caused him to be higher...?
 
Holly -

You may want to cross post in the High Dose Forum. There are a lot more acro mom's there. The board may not be as busy as LL, but you will certainly find beans who are able to respond to your questions.
 
Nina--I'm just wondering why we got to such a low green in the first place. I would expect that, if the tumor were in the latent phase, I wouldn't have seen the high numbers today. So that means the tumor's not latent...and I don't know why he went green yesterday.

Sienne--Yeah, I try to link my LL condo to High Dose daily, especially if I have questions. I have an on-going thread I update daily. No responses yet. But like you said, it's not near as busy as Lantus is!
 
Hi again Holly,

The tumor's activity can definitely change daily-- that's what makes it so fun! ;-) I'd be betting on the 300's being rebound-- he was probably lower than 44 and his liver reacted. Give it a few cycles at the lower dose and see if/when it clears. Although we are dosing against an unknown (the level of GH in his body), an acrocat still can do all the things a "regular" diabetic can: hypo, rebound, ketones, etc.

Hope this helps...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top