Ozzie 10/15 Vet trip-Side by side meter comparisons

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vhens2211

Member Since 2011
Ozzie just got back from the vets.

AMPS 99, +4 72.

At vet my meter was 68, and their Alphatrack was at 155 :?

We sent some blood out to the lab to see what is correct.

I can't believe they are that far off!

Got the home testing supportive vet and she agreed no shots under 200.
 
Alpha Track does tend to skew higher than human meters. Human meters are advertised as being off 20% at any given reading. They call it a variance. The important thing is that either way, too low for shot?

I hope your vet was suitably impressed with your numbers and Ozzie's progress?
 
Hi! (New here) The variance you got is on point with what we typically get with our home meter (Relion) and the vet's meter (Alpha Trak) -- about 60-70 points difference if not a little more. I am guessing that their meter will come back as the closer reading as that has been the case for us. At least you will know that your home meter is reading lower than his actual BG and you can follow a conservative approach on when to not shoot based on your number.

Ellen
 
I think my vet used an alpha-track too. I did 2 side by sides there with my relion micro, and saw a 30 pt difference. My vet told me on day one that my meter would be 20-30 points "lower than reality". I don't know if that is correct or not, but the whole time I was treating Bob, I always had in the back of my mind "well, that 79 is really a 109" and it influenced my decision to shoot or not shoot repeatedly. I always felt it was safer to shoot because of that 30 point difference theory. NOT sure it was the greatest way to think.
Eventually, I just had to adopt the theory that whatever number I got on the relion was "reality".

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top