Our Dolly Girl (GA)
Member Since 2019
Thank you so much. The fat content looks good. She still only get a limited amount.From the Dr. Elsey's website:
Thank you so much. The fat content looks good. She still only get a limited amount.From the Dr. Elsey's website:
Mogs,
thank you

I just wanna hug her.(((Adrienne and Dolly)))Dolly’s Fructosamine results- 610. From okay numbers on the 15th to this.![]()

Thank you so much. She is so sweet but always challengingJust have to say, I melt every time I see this avatar Dolly IS a dolly.I just wanna hug her.

Hi Mogs,(((Adrienne and Dolly)))
Fingers and paws crossed the consult at the vets tomorrow will lead to a course of action to make things better.
Mogs
.

Yes she is and she’s my special cat, challenges includedShe's a cat!
Mogs
.



Hi Mogs,Oh, Adrienne, you've got so much on your plate! Covid really has derailed so much for so many, but I think people in situations such as yours and your husbands have to be the hardest of all. The worry ...
I've been housebound with agoraphobia for years, so I can empathise about the isolation.
First time hearing about the Lantus. (Wouldn't matter in the slightest if it had been the second.) Did the vet have any view as to what might have triggered the BG increase?
Mogs
.
I think its the lock downs Now people are living every second WITH their pets. They are noticing things they've been overlooking.I don’t know what’s going on with the pet world, all of the vets are slammed with appointments.
Sounds right. For me though I am always focused on Dolly, I’m retired. So scared, she goes from good numbers at least until 8/15 (7 months in remission) and 7 days later she has a Fructosamine test with 610 results. Something else has to be wrong. Eating just a bite here and there, otherwise a happy catI think its the lock downs Now people are living every second WITH their pets. They are noticing things they've been overlooking.

Agree. Another member said similar to me earlier in the week.I think its the lock downs Now people are living every second WITH their pets. They are noticing things they've been overlooking.
Just feed her the same as usual, Adrienne, except you need to remove all food for two hours before each preshot BG test is due (so the reading won't be food-influenced). You need to make sure she has a fairly reasonable amount just before giving the insulin so you know it's safe to administer the dose.Do you know how much food she needs with Lantus?
Needs must. She needs both grub and, for the time being, insulin.Her appetite is awful, I ended up giving her Mirtazapine.
The sinus issue is a bit of a biggie when trying to get cats to eat because they can't smell the food properly. Have you tried warming the food a little, Adrienne? It helps to increase the aroma.This sinus problem is awful, she will start on Cerenia today.
Mogs, help!! The one unit marking is the second line on the syringe, yes? I am in a in panic mode and can’t think straight. U-100 syringe.Just feed her the same as usual, Adrienne, except you need to remove all food for two hours before each preshot BG test is due (so the reading won't be food-influenced). You need to make sure she has a fairly reasonable amount just before giving the insulin so you know it's safe to administer the dose.
Needs must. She needs both grub and, for the time being, insulin.
The sinus issue is a bit of a biggie when trying to get cats to eat because they can't smell the food properly. Have you tried warming the food a little, Adrienne? It helps to increase the aroma.
Also you might find some helpful ideas in these resources:
Persuading your Cat to Eat
Suggestions for Stimulating Appetite
Two really simple tips that I found good were the raised bowls and the 'sleepy eating' (approach sleeping cat, rouse it, stick food straight in front of it). Playing a game that involves pouncing can help, too.
Medically, a course of B12 injections can also help poor appetite and sometimes gives a cat an overall boost.
Dehydration can affect appetite so encouraging adequate water consumption is beneficial. Adding a little homemade chicken broth or the juice from a can of tuna in spring water to a kitty's drinking water may help increase fluid consumption. I use this stuff:
![]()
I add about 6 tsps of water to a pouch of this stuff (dubbed Noodle's Wonder Soup) and mix it through the sauce. I then add 2 tsps of the watered down sauce to 30ml of water and she guzzles it down in no time. It is also my secret weapon ...
Mogs
.
.
I am so not me right now. When I picked up her insulin the tech said the Fructosamine test was just not normal, the number too high. My head went immediately to pancreatic cancer or something else. It just set me off into scary thoughts. How did it get so bad. I will calm down but for now I’ve forgotten everything I know about injections, prepping the syringe. I read this forum every day and have learned so much, all forgotten in moments from panic. I already feel better, had to vent. Thank all of you out there.I am trying not to panic. Dolly has been in remission since late January/early February. I never did tight regulation rather followed her vets directions. Her numbers haven’t been great but all blues and greens, mostly greens. She hasn’t been eating well the last few days. She can’t smell and I have been trying fish pate which she normally never eats. No increase in water and peeing all normal. Just checked her (after food) I always check her an hour or two after she eats, she is 235 this morning at 8am and 246 at 9am. She was 103 - 8/15, 82 - 8/08. My Lantus was used one time back in January. It’s looks cloudy. I need direction.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/u/0/d/1ueQjwC-3X5JwzyhRhQcpNNQHjKJuNhvdPj4HywQiN5Y/htmlview#
ThaIf you have half unit syringes, the image on the left (the second line on the right hand side if you are holding the syringe with the needle pointing away from you)
If you have full unit syringes, the image on the right (the second line)
View attachment 55772
Thank you so much. I’ve finally calmed down. The virus, my husbands illnesses and just the shock of Dolly’s numbers suddenly wiped my brain. Seriously, I couldn’t remember anything. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the helpIf you have half unit syringes, the image on the left (the second line on the right hand side if you are holding the syringe with the needle pointing away from you)
If you have full unit syringes, the image on the right (the second line)
View attachment 55772
Thank you!!!!Any time. It will all become second nature again quickly. And let's hope it leads to a second remission.
Welcome to my life!suddenly wiped my brain. Seriously, I couldn’t remember anything.

Welcome to my life!
Sorry I didn't see your tag till now, Adrienne. I see you've been well taken care of by Red. Once you get back into the daily rhythm, things'll look and feel a good bit better.
Nite nite.
Mogs
.

Why are the low fat foods so high in carbs?
Thank you so much for all of this information. My husband has COPD as well and valley fever, an airborne lung disease in California and arizona.Sorry to hear about Dolly, Adrienne - it sounds like you have a lot on your plate! My husband has COPD, so when lockdown started, I had to do all the shopping, etc because he wasn't supposed to leave the house - but since I don't drive and the supermarket delivery slots were all booked up weeks in advance, he used to come and collect me from the supermarket. All very stressful, so I do sympathise!
Protein is expensive, especially animal protein, so cheap cat food is stuffed with fat, sugar and vegetable protein. Maddie used to eat fancy kibble that cost three times as much as Go-Cat (one of Purina's UK dry foods - I think it's equivalent to their US "cat chow" line?), but the protein source was 100% chicken and it was lower in carbs too. Now she mainly eats Purina ProPlan DM, which is somewhat lower-carb than most other dried food, and I'm trying to get her to eat wet food but she's fussy about texture.
Mind you, even our other cat who will eat almost any wet food dislikes the ProPlan DM pouches, so I'm thinking those boxes will be going to the Blue Cross rescue centre along with the old non-diabetic kibble!
Thank you so much for all of this information. My husband has COPD as well and valley fever, an airborne lung disease in California and arizona.
Hope your husband is doing better. Mine is on a nebulizer twice a day, c-pap at night, inhalers. No Oxygen yet thank goodness.
I think we had a fur shot this morning. Her second shot and it missed. So upset.
Take care and stay safe
Adrienne
I am trying not to panic. Dolly has been in remission since late January/early February. I never did tight regulation rather followed her vets directions. Her numbers haven’t been great but all blues and greens, mostly greens. She hasn’t been eating well the last few days. She can’t smell and I have been trying fish pate which she normally never eats. No increase in water and peeing all normal. Just checked her (after food) I always check her an hour or two after she eats, she is 235 this morning at 8am and 246 at 9am. She was 103 - 8/15, 82 - 8/08. My Lantus was used one time back in January. It’s looks cloudy. I need direction.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/u/0/d/1ueQjwC-3X5JwzyhRhQcpNNQHjKJuNhvdPj4HywQiN5Y/htmlview#
especially frustrating when its just her second insulin shot post remission.Thank you! My husband is fine, apart from a touch of the "quarantine 15" (i.e. weight gain) - he's a runner (started on the advice of his COPD nurse), but between minor injuries and social distancing, he's not been able to run much this year.
Fur shots are so frustrating! I think I've only had one, but Maddie is a wriggler so I've had to learn to be patient with her. Freeze-dried tuna treats help too!![]()

especially frustrating when its just her second insulin shot post remission.
Thank you![]()
Some you lose, Adrienne. It'll be grand next time.I think we had a fur shot this morning. Her second shot and it missed. So upset.

My poor husband was half asleep. “I” need to get over my fear of failing, giving fur shots. Testing is a breeze but my husband gave all the shots before. My one try, a fur shot. I gave shots to our other kitty but her coat was so different, not so looseYou're probably just out of practice - which is a good thing, in its own way!
Her AMPS was 239. +3 218. Food has made her numbers go down before. We will get better at this, I will not be afraid to shoot!!!Some you lose, Adrienne. It'll be grand next time.
Mogs
.

Put a dollar in the jar. When you have accumulated enough, treat yourself to a bottle of wine or some decent chocolate.I think we had a fur shot this morning. Her second shot and it missed. So upset.
I hope there will be no more dollars. I don’t think you can buy even a candy bar with a dollar. We only had one in 3 months last time and it was mine.Put a dollar in the jar. When you have accumulated enough, treat yourself to a bottle of wine or some decent chocolate.
I don't think I've ever given a single dose of insulin that didn't scare me to some degree.I will not be afraid to shoot!
That's good. An indication that the pancreas can still produce bolus pulses of insulin at mealtimes. Probably what kept Dolly's BG levels so even when you did the spot checks the other day. (I remember there was no food spike.)Her AMPS was 239. +3 218. Food has made her numbers go down before.
+6 223. Not too bad right? without insulinThat's good. An indication that the pancreas can still produce bolus pulses of insulin at mealtimes. Probably what kept Dolly's BG levels so even when you did the spot checks the other day. (I remember there was no food spike.)
Mogs
.
)Thank you Mogs,I'll take an orange smiley guy from you any time, Adrienne. You're emoji-ing like a boss!
That +6 is not bad at all, Adrienne. Most likely under the renal threshold.
Some of the insulin dose may have gone in (hence why we never give a second injection after a furshot: you can never be sure).
Mogs
.
I really lost it yesterday. Everything looked foreign to me, especially the syringe. Today is a better day.
Thank you so much Mogs. I didn’t think I was taking her remission for granted, always on my mind. Maybe not intellectually but I definitely emotionally felt it would last forever. At least wanted it to. The worst thing last night was starting her on the Cerenia pills. I have read and watched so much on pilling a cat, our kitty that we said goodbye to a year ago March, I gave her 5 pills a day and injections for 18 months, no problem. Dolly, on the other hand, is a fighter and very strong. I spent the rest of the evening apologizing to her.(((Adrienne)))
Yesterday you were dealing with the full brunt of the emotional hit, and being upset that Dolly needs some insulin at the moment.
Today you're in full-on mama cat mode. You're looking after your Dolly Girl. She needs you to help her, and that tends to focus the thoughts.
I am really pleased that today is a better day. Fingers and paws crossed for lots more better days to come.
Mogs
.
