Our Dose Finding Mission Continues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
I thought my previous thread might be getting too long so I'm starting a new one. I'm still learning the "rules" for posting on a forum.

I started Teasel on 2.2 units last night. I was able to catch some urine with a long handled spoon to test for ketones. First time I'd tried this and got lucky. The strip showed negative for ketones.

His AMPS was 20.9 and he's just received his morning dose of 2.2 units. As per Sue's suggestion, I'll hold this dose for a few cycles. Teasel and I need some consistency for a day or two - it's been a bit too exciting.
 
2.2 unit dose given this evening (PMPS = 21.0) was the start of a third cycle at this dose. BG at +4 this evening is high at 20.9. I'll likely give 2.4 units tomorrow morning after I see his AMPS. I'm speculating that his brush with near hypo numbers when he was at 3.6 units BID raised his glucose sensitivity so I lowered his dose to 2.6 units which was still too much two days ago. He's been underdosed the last 48 hours and he might be losing that sensitivity. I'd been working against glucose toxicity/insulin resistance for months before joining FDMB and he might be a cat that develops glucose toxicity quickly. At any rate, I want to get his BG down again sooner than later but in a cautious fashion.
 
Teasel and I need some consistency for a day or two - it's been a bit too exciting.

Haha I know that feeling. Its really nice to get something 'stable' for a couple of days. Think I lost a few years off my life!
It will give you a break and let you catch your breath. :)
 
He surprised me with a slightly better AMPS of 16.9 so I decided to stay with a dose of 2.2 units this morning. I was out much of the day yesterday so didn't do any testing until PMPS and then one before bed. I should be able to test a bit more today.

I feel so much more comfortable making decisions now that I'm into the FDMB way of doing things. Feel free to chime in anytime.
 
That's a good decision, stick with 2.2 for now. As he is now giving you a lower AMPS he should go lower with the same dose today.
Please try to get some mid cycles, +4 +6 etc. Those give you nice information!

Good for you that you feel comfortable to make these kind of decisions! It feels great right?
 
Thanks, Ruby. Yes, it feels really good to be more in control. I've learned a lot over the last 6 months and worked with my vet but not blindly. I researched as much as possible and discussed things with her, sent her links from vet sites, etc. and passed on information she wasn't aware of. I'm her first client using ProZinc so I've made it my job to be well informed and she trusts my judgment. FDMB has been a very valuable resource along the way.
 
wow that sound really the same as my case. I was also the first on prozinc and learned my (dear) vet the ropes with help of FDMB! haha how great that they want to learn.
We are lucky that we have great vets, there are so many people that have sh*tty vets that think they are saying and doing the correct thing and don't even support you if you are seeking help in a different way.
 
Also the first at my vets too! Lol we are all Guinea pigs o_O Tempest is the only diabetic kitty they have too. They have a few dogs though
 
Nice +6 again Kris.
But I do think you should do an increased dose as of tonight. You do get nice numbers but the perfect numbers aren't there yet.
Can you tell me why you've stopped givein 3.6U? I see you got an hypo there at 8/16, but after that you switched doses a couple off times.
It seems to me that Teasel needs to be somewere around 2.2 and 3U to get a perfect dosing.
 
Last edited:
If you look at Teasel's SS, Ruby, you'll see that I only started AMPS and PMPS testing on 8/17/2016. I wasn't on FDMB yet and following your methods. The first set of numbers on 8/03/2016 were from a BG curve day I did for my vet. That told me that 3.6 units was a good dose - then. It's too high now. I did a single test at +5 on 8/13/16 and it was a good number, 7.4. I decided to do a quick check test at +3 on 8/16/2016 and got a 5.7 that really surprised me so I did repeat tests through that day. The 2.9 at +4 scared me but numbers moved up so that I had 11.9 as a PMPS. I had called my vet during the day and she suggested lowering the dose from 3.6 units to 3.4 units that evening. This felt like too small a reduction so I decided to give 3.2 units instead and did two evening tests. His AMPS on 8/17/2016 was 6.9 and I knew I shouldn't give any insulin. The vet I work with wasn't in that day and I didn't know how to proceed so I joined FDMB and have been here since. I dropped his dose to 2.6 u after the NS. had anAMPS of 16.9 on 8/18/2016 but only 7.9 at +11. I fed him and delayed his dose for 2 hours. By then his BG was at 20.6 but I was concerned about the duration of 2.6 u and didn't want to deal with dose overlap the next morning. That's why I gave him only 1.0 u to get by.
The rest of the SS data shows me trying to bring his dose back up to where it needs to be. Sue (I don't know how to tag someone yet) was offering helpful feedback through this.

I agree with you about the right dose being in the range of 2.2 to 3.0 units. I'll try 2.4 units tonight.
 
I don't know how to tag someone. Is that so they know they've been referenced in a conversation? Anyway, please feel free to read my chat with Ruby.
Type @ then the name without a space :)
 
If you look at Teasel's SS, Ruby, you'll see that I only started AMPS and PMPS testing on 8/17/2016. I wasn't on FDMB yet and following your methods. The first set of numbers on 8/03/2016 were from a BG curve day I did for my vet. That told me that 3.6 units was a good dose - then. It's too high now. I did a single test at +5 on 8/13/16 and it was a good number, 7.4. I decided to do a quick check test at +3 on 8/16/2016 and got a 5.7 that really surprised me so I did repeat tests through that day. The 2.9 at +4 scared me but numbers moved up so that I had 11.9 as a PMPS. I had called my vet during the day and she suggested lowering the dose from 3.6 units to 3.4 units that evening. This felt like too small a reduction so I decided to give 3.2 units instead and did two evening tests. His AMPS on 8/17/2016 was 6.9 and I knew I shouldn't give any insulin. The vet I work with wasn't in that day and I didn't know how to proceed so I joined FDMB and have been here since. I dropped his dose to 2.6 u after the NS. had anAMPS of 16.9 on 8/18/2016 but only 7.9 at +11. I fed him and delayed his dose for 2 hours. By then his BG was at 20.6 but I was concerned about the duration of 2.6 u and didn't want to deal with dose overlap the next morning. That's why I gave him only 1.0 u to get by.
The rest of the SS data shows me trying to bring his dose back up to where it needs to be. @Sue and Oliver (GA) was offering helpful feedback through this.

I agree with you about the right dose being in the range of 2.2 to 3.0 units. I'll try 2.4 units tonight.

Excuse my ineptitude. I'm doing this so that @Sue and Oliver will see it.
 
yes, if you want to tag me just do @ and then type the name of someone, or just the beginnen letters and then a dropdown box will show up. Then click on the persons name, that's it!
Thanks for filling me in Kris, now I know the whole story!
btw, everyone can read the story, it's just that if you want to say something to a person or just want to get there attention in your thread then you can tag them, but everyone can read what you say to a person.;)
Hope the 2.4U increase will help bring the number down more!
 
I like your 2.4 tonight. I think he may need more, but I like the slow steady approach to get there. If you want to work getting the dose up, you can increase by 0.2 every three cycles - if he is too high and if you can monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top