cannat
New Member
Emo's spreadsheet is posted in my signature if you want to look at all his numbers...
The way I have been working his doses, with the Humilin N is:
Under 200 - no insulin (I've read in a few places that a small dose can drop his BG up to 200 points, and we haven't done a curve yet to be sure)
200 to 250 - half unit of insulin
over 250 - unit of insulin
Other than the insulin, Emo has been on Friskies Ocean Whitefish and Tuna Dinner, 6% carbs. He has been more himself over the last week than he has been in a while. As you can see from his numbers, he hasn't been at 200 or above since Friday (10/1) night, so he hasn't had insulin since then. I guess my question is, when is a cat considered OTJ? Am I doing the right thing holding off on shots? Our vet said around 200 is fine for a diabetic cat. Of course, I'd love to have him at completely numbers, but I will do just about anything to keep him from another hypoglycemic episode.
The way I have been working his doses, with the Humilin N is:
Under 200 - no insulin (I've read in a few places that a small dose can drop his BG up to 200 points, and we haven't done a curve yet to be sure)
200 to 250 - half unit of insulin
over 250 - unit of insulin
Other than the insulin, Emo has been on Friskies Ocean Whitefish and Tuna Dinner, 6% carbs. He has been more himself over the last week than he has been in a while. As you can see from his numbers, he hasn't been at 200 or above since Friday (10/1) night, so he hasn't had insulin since then. I guess my question is, when is a cat considered OTJ? Am I doing the right thing holding off on shots? Our vet said around 200 is fine for a diabetic cat. Of course, I'd love to have him at completely numbers, but I will do just about anything to keep him from another hypoglycemic episode.