Oscar PMPS Advice

Cuddle Furry

Member Since 2022
Hello Oscar for 18 months since diagnosed with Diabetes rarely hits a normal level. Hit a normal level of 87 at 9 hours since his morning AMPS. Was at 110 in the morning so I stalled 20 minutes and was at 129. I gave him a token dose of 2 units instead of his 3.5. Depending on his score when I test him before his PMPS what do you recommend on insulin does or skip? Oscar's Spreadsheet - Google Sheets
 
Hi Dave
Can you move your US 2023 tab over to the far left so it's the first one we see when we open your spreadsheet thanks :cat:
Here are the instructions


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...e-move-your-2023-ss-tab-s-to-the-left.272461/

When posting on the Levemir forum you need to put
Date Oscar AMPS# and any other tests after and continue with PMPS #
and link your previous days post to your new one
You need to do more testing than you have been to see how the insulin is working and how low Oscar is dropping.
You have no tests after AMPS so you don't know whether Oscar earned a reduction or not
You are just increasing the dose without knowing. You need tests after PMPS also
Since Oscar dropped under 90 today following SLGS he did earn a reduction but I can't tell you what dose to give since you aren't testing enough
Maybe one of the members I tagged can give you some advice

@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

Can you ladies please look at his SS
Thank you
 
Last edited:
Hello Oscar for 18 months since diagnosed with Diabetes rarely hits a normal level. Hit a normal level of 87 at 9 hours since his morning AMPS. Was at 110 in the morning so I stalled 20 minutes and was at 129. I gave him a token dose of 2 units instead of his 3.5. Depending on his score when I test him before his PMPS what do you recommend on insulin does or skip? Oscar's Spreadsheet - Google Sheets
@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

Previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/oscar-pmps-was-at-58.263185/
 
Last edited:
Can you get some more tests in during the PMPS cycle like a +2, +4 and 6
Usually Levimer has a late nadir maybe around +9 so you might want to test then also
I would have to do a test at 12:30 am to do so. I will stick with my 3 test on weekends. Will monitor his behavior closely. Have high carb wet food on hand and honey if needed.
 
Is there any way you can get some tests at different points in the cycle other than just +9? It's really helpful to have tests "sprinkled around". Also, be sure to get at least 1 test on the PM cycle (after the PMPS). Most cats go lower at night so it's important to make sure he's not dropping too fast before you head to bed.

Levemir can have its nadir at shot time so you'll need to learn to give the scheduled dose at numbers that might freak you out a little.

@Wendy&Neko can explain it a lot better than I can so hopefully she'll be on later
 
Chris is right, it's important to mix up those tests when a kitty is on Levemir. Cycles tend to be flatter, and nadirs as a result move around. Neko, Lev nadir was always in the +5 to +15 range. :p Though most commonly in the +9 to +12 range. It'd be really great (and a requirement of SLGS) if you can take a day to do a curve. That'd give you a better idea of when the insulin onsets and typically nadirs with Oscar. That will allow you to be more strategic with testing.
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
As far as dosing goes, with SLGS, that 87 earned Oscar a reduction down to 3.25 units.
 
Back
Top