opinions on Landos AM dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
Thank you in advance friends!

Lando and I are newbies ( he has only been on insulin since this Sat AM [after one false start]). His starting numbers were in the high 300s and this AM he read 115. I cut his dose from 2units to 1unit. The vet suggested i skip the shot, but had read here that a little insulin is better than none. Also, vet suggested that i go ahead with normal dose this PM. Any thoughts? I get the feeling that i am a helicopter pet parent because i am so scared i will do the wrong thing.-chelsea
 
Oh Darn thanks Diane! Fixing now- ok i think i fixed the sheet! The vet did Landos first curve and i havent done one myself yet, only “spot checking” since i have had 4 unsuccessful tried at the glucose monitor so far
 
OK can see it now , I am going to tag a few members for you to take a look at your SS
One thing can you please add the meter you are using to your signature and what you are feeding, is it all low carb wet?, or lc and dry.
You do need to do a lot more testing during each cycle , we don't know how the insulin is working for Lando and how low it's dropping him

@tiffmaxee

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Thank you ladies
 
Thank you Diane, the testing is what i am really working on. I stuck my poor guy 4 xs before i could get a reading this am, and tried again 2xs with no luck at noon. Ill get there. Will add the info as requested. Thanks for taking the time to help me. BTW he is a picky eater i am in the process of weaning him off dry HILLS KD. he eats fancy feast pate, KD dry and trying to introduce weruva.
 
Hi Chelsea, great portrait of Lando.

I just want to verify, you got the 115 on an AlphaTrak meter?

Try your very hardest to get another reading today. We really want to see how the insulin is working.
 
Thank you Diane, the testing is what i am really working on. I stuck my poor guy 4 xs before i could get a reading this am, and tried again 2xs with no luck at noon. Ill get there. Will add the info as requested. Thanks for taking the time to help me. BTW he is a picky eater i am in the process of weaning him off dry HILLS KD. he eats fancy feast pate, KD dry and trying to introduce weruva.


Chelsea
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

Chelsea I see you have TR on your SS for the dosing method, if you are feeding any dry food you can't follow TR you have to follow SLGS until he's off all dry food completely.


WHY is he eating K/D dry? Does he have kidney disease?


Read this in your profile , I think you should add this to your signature also,
If you can't fit it then just get rid of not swimsuit ready :p
uti’s and crystals

@Lando demando
 
Last edited:
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
Here is a video one of our members did
 
Chelsea
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

You could try TR if you are feeding LC wet (and no dry) and if you think that's more testing than you can manage, you can switch to SLGS.

Chelsea I see you have TR on your SS for the dosing method, if you are feeding any dry food you can't follow TR you have to follow SLGS until he's off all dry food completely.


WHY is he eating K/D dry? Does he have kidney disease?

thank you for all of this info Dianne. Lando eats KD dry since he was put on kd wet due to UTIs and crystals in the past and then he refused to eat the wet ( thus the dry started). I pretty much follow what my vet tells me and he said that the first order of business would be to get him on insulin, then change his diet ( since he is a picky eater and hard to budge).

TR vs SLGS wow i was way off! I assumed i was doing TR, but my vet recommended starting lando on 2u for two weeks then re-test the curves ( which sounds like SLGS)?

it sounds like i need to reread and comprehend a few things…. Most everything
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
Here is a video one of our members did


Thank you! Yes i watched the videos and am doing most everything here. It sounds like excuses, but it is so hard for me to see, have a backlight, hold my cat and the equipment all myself. Ive had three successes so im sure ill get there. :(
 
thank you for all of this info Dianne. Lando eats KD dry since he was put on kd wet due to UTIs and crystals in the past and then he refused to eat the wet ( thus the dry started). I pretty much follow what my vet tells me and he said that the first order of business would be to get him on insulin, then change his diet ( since he is a picky eater and hard to budge).

TR vs SLGS wow i was way off! I assumed i was doing TR, but my vet recommended starting lando on 2u for two weeks then re-test the curves ( which sounds like SLGS)?

it sounds like i need to reread and comprehend a few things…. Most everything
Yes until you get rid of all dry food it's SLGS, you can stay with the Fancy Feast Classic Pates , they are fine, I see you said you were looking into Weruva ,you can just make sure they are under 10% carbs
I know Weruva is more expensive than Fancy Feast, but that's up to you.
Just trying to save you more money :cat:
 
Thank you! Yes i watched the videos and am doing most everything here. It sounds like excuses, but it is so hard for me to see, have a backlight, hold my cat and the equipment all myself. Ive had three successes so im sure ill get there. :(
You will get there, are you using 26 or 28 gauge lancets, are you just holding the lancet in your hand or using a lancing device
 
Ok i just got a successful test ( good lighting helped) and hes at 341. Im thinking i did it wrong this am!?
 
Yes until you get rid of all dry food it's SLGS, you can stay with the Fancy Feast Classic Pates , they are fine, I see you said you were looking into Weruva ,you can just make sure they are under 10% carbs
I know Weruva is more expensive than Fancy Feast, but that's up to you.
Just trying to save you more money :cat:
I love saving money, but at this point i just dont want to fail Lando ( or my other two senior cats )
 
Just a reminder to add history of
uti’s and crystals on n your signature
Instead of picky eater put LC Wet/ K/D Dry
And SLGS you can get rid of about the swimsuit lol and could put transitioning to all wet
Only because members will ask you and go to your SS and put SLGS instead of TR
 
Thank you! And thank you for all of this help. I REALLY appreciate it!
Thanks for adding to your signature just add SLGS to it also
and on your SS for insulin pit Lantus
Always make sure you have medium and high carb wet food in case you need to bring his BG up in case he ever drops too low such as


Food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
For your hypo kit you can get the following and also look at the food chart

Have some honey on hand also


med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any other ones from the food chart, I gave the link above

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
Last edited:
Thanks for adding to your signature just add SLGS to it also
and on your SS for insulin pit Lantus
Always make sure you have medium and high carb wet food in case you need to bring his BG up in case he ever drops too low such as


Food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
For your hypo kit you can get the following and also look at the food chart

Have some honey on hand also


med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any other ones from the food chart, I gave the link above

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Oh i love the magic marker idea
 
One one last thing


because you are using a pet meter your take action BG is 68. That means if the BG drops under 68 you need to give some higher carb food to bring the BG up over 68.

Just post if you ever need any help :cat:

Thanks for adding to your signature just add SLGS to it also
and on your SS for insulin put Lantus
 
Oh forgot to ask you are you using syringes with half unit markings
We always increase or decrease by 0.25 units not whole units. It makes it much easier to adjust units
You might skip over a good dose by adjusting by whole units


30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
One one last thing


because you are using a pet meter your take action BG is 68. That means if the BG drops under 68 you need to give some higher carb food to bring the BG up over 68.

Just post if you ever need any help :cat:

Thanks for adding to your signature just add SLGS to it also
and on your SS for insulin put Lantus
This is so incredibly helpful. I read the dont shoot under 200 ( bad advice) thread and probably should have read the entire thread and more! You are an angel for helping educate me! Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top