Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192 +3 220 +5 191 +8 208 +10 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Hello!

I have been posting over on the main health forum here:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=108206

With Dyana's support and guidance yesterday :-D, my kitty Ophie navigated her way through our first "low" (107) AMPS bg. I ended up skipping her morning shot yesterday, and bumped her evening shot up a bit earlier than normal.

This morning, her AMPS was 130. I know this is a good number, however, for me as a newbie, this poses a dosing dilemma! Today, I decided to delay her shot an hour and reduce her dose from 1.75 to 1.5. Before I shot her, her BG was 152. It's been 2 hours since her shot, and she is 196. I will test again in 2 hours.

I'm hoping to get some thoughts and advice on how to proceed. I am back to work on Monday, and I would not want to give her a shot with a low AMPS bg without being home to make sure she doesn't drop too low.

Thanks for looking!

Joely
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Welcome to Lantus Land Joely and Ophie :)



I know it's scary, but with a 152 at +1, it would have been a good opportunity today to see how low she went on her regular dose this morning, since you will be home to monitor. It's okay. Are you planning to back to the regular dose tonight?
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Welcome to Lantus Land.

I want to go back an read the posts on the Health board but in the meantime, if no one has yet suggested it (I can't imagine that Dyana didn't!), you may want to look over the starred, sticky notes at the top of this board. There's an overwhelming amount of information in the notes but they will help you to have a reference for how this Board works, how to maximize Ophie's experience with Lantus, how we dose, etc.

I agree with Dyana's observation. It would have been good to see how Ophie was responding at this dose but everyone is a bit nervous when they see lower than usual numbers. I have a additional thoughts. I'd encourage you to get at the least a "before bed" test every, single night. This is especially important if you can't routinely test during the AM cycle. In addition, many cats experience lower numbers at night so you want to make sure you are able to monitor and keep Ophie safe. If you don't test during the PM cycle, you're missing half of your data!

With handling a low pre-shot number, you have a few choices. You can skip, stall (and don't feed), or reduce the dose. Each of these options has an effect on the insulin depot. If you stall AND reduce the dose, you are doubling the impact on the depot. Generally, you want to stick with one or the other. (A late shot acts like a dose reduction which is why it's double the effect.) On this Board, we use 150 as a "post and ask for help" number. We tend to shoot lower than what you see on the Health board given that on Health, there are a few different types of insulin that people use. Looking at Ophie's spreadsheet (SS), there's a good chance you're going to need to get comfortable with shooting lower numbers relatively quickly.

Please let us know how we can help. The people here are incredibly generous when it comes to their time and their knowledge. Please let us know how we can help.
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Hello Dyana! :) And hello Sienne!

Thank you for the welcome to Lantus Land!

Ophie is such a trooper. Right after I took her reading at +4, my 3 y/o niece descended upon our house. Ophie didn't even get her treat for the poke! Anyway, the 3 y/o has left and I just got another BG. So, it looks like -- based how her numbers are tracking -- I could have given her full dose this morning. And, that makes sense that I doubled the impact by delaying and reducing. You are correct, I am new and I am (very!) nervous. Though, after yesterday with Dyana's help, I am feeling more capable of helping Ophie. I won't dwell (too much!! ohmygod_smile ) on my decision this morning, and move onward.

Dyana, I do plan to give her the full dose tonight. Do you think that is wise?

Question: Do people feed their kitties before they get the AMPS #? I usually get up, give her food (she is starving) while I prepare all her "stuff." As I've heard twice that an option for a "low" AMPS is to delay food... so I'm assuming kitties are not fed right away? Just curious how people do their AMPS.

I am starting to tackle all the stickies and announcements. While very, very overwhelming, little pieces are coming together (I had first peeked when I joined and nearly jumped out the window it was so much to consume! :lol: ).

Also, in general, things are getting easier. For example, I didn't think I would ever get to a place where Ophie would let me poke her ear more than twice a day. It's been barely 3 weeks and she comes running (most of the time) and sits (somewhat) nicely on my lap for testing. And, it's true... ears really do learn how to bleed! Who knew?!

Anyway, I plan to test again in 2 hours (baring an invasion of children) and report back.

Thank you so much.

Please do let me know if there are specific pieces of information that I should provide during my posts that would be helpful (besides the SS, of course).
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Well, I would say to change your first Subject Line to 11/16 Ophie +12 130, AMPS 152, +6 191
or whatever numbers you want to add and can fit. We like to see the latest and greatest numbers.
A lot of us will scan the first page you see when you come into the forum and look at the (first) Subject Lines to see how people are doing.

I would suggest not feeding, until after the PS test. So, that if you need to stall without feeding, you don't have to wait as long for any food influence to clear. Another words, if you get a test number that you are unsure of shooting, post the number and ask for help. If you stall without feeding, you can wait 30 minutes and test again, to see which way the numbers are headed. If you already fed, it could take up to 2 hours for the influence of the food to wear off. That's why we don't recommend feeding from +10 on.

Ask, if my way with words is confusing and you need more explanation.

Also, when you have time, look at the other people's condos and see the questions they are asking. Some of the questions may be the same as questions you have or didn't know you had :)
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Always test without the influence of food for at least 2 hours so you know what number you're shooting.

I test/shoot/feed all in about 10 minutes unless I get a pre-shot number I'm not comfortable shooting (but I routinely shoot high 50's and low 60's at this point) If I do get a number I think it too low, I don't feed, and retest in 30 minutes. If the number is rising, I go ahead and shoot, but as you've been told, if you get a number under 150, we generally like for you to stall, don't feed and use that 30 minutes to find someone to help you through it.

If we agree to "watch out" for you, we don't leave you unless we find someone else to take over. That's a promise we take pretty seriously. We've ALL needed our hand held at some point in this adventure, and there's always been someone willing to do it, so paying it forward is the way we pay them back for their kindness when we needed it.

Welcome to Lantus Land too!! We're a pretty close family here and we'll help you any way we can! The numbers you're seeing today are not only due to the smaller dose, but the skipped dose yesterday too. You might want to consider getting a +10 or +11 tonight and then when it's PMPS time, you'll have a good idea of if the number is climbing and feel more comfortable shooting

Let us know how we can help you!
 
Re: 11/16 Ophie AMPS 130 - New Here!

Welcome to LL, it's the most wonderful place you never want to be. ;-) We've been here 2.5 years and Zener, our FD kitty, would not still be with us without all the knowledge and support we receive here. Welcome welcome welcome!
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208

Thank you so much to the additional posters! I appreciate the warm welcome!

It's hard to know "the right thing" to do, so I am grateful for your guidance and support.

I'm continuing to test Ophie regularly today, despite the expanding/contracting kid population in my house, even though I'm no so fast to post my updates here.

I will try to get my +11 and +12 numbers tonight. I will delay her shot by only 15 minutes, so I can get back on track. I will also get back to her 1.75 dose.

I only have tomorrow to figure this all out before I'm back to work on Monday :YMSIGH: What do you do when you're not going to be home? Assuming I give her the full dose tonight, get back to track by tomorrow and full dose in the AM, monitor all day, full dose for PM... what would I do on Monday if her AMPS is "low" again? I will be hopefully giving her shot at 6AM, and I have to be out of the house by 6:30? Yikes. I realize there is a lot of "what-ifs" above, and I don't know that anyone can answer me. I'm sure many, before you were comfortable shooting low, had to get off to work... but somehow managed to sort out this process?

Sorry to have so many questions.

Many thanks to all! I can see how everyone is "family" as I am so grateful that Dyana stuck with me allll day yesterday when I posted about my "low" number... and it was so incredibly helpful.

The kids are storming back in... so I'm off.
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208

This is what I did. I figured out what would be the latest I would generally be home after work and that was 6:00pm (although my boss has been pushing me a lot lately to stay later :? ) I try to get to bed early, and then get up to do a +10 or + 11 in the morning (so that's 4:00am or 5:00am). I can then compare the 6:00am Pre Shot test to the earlier test and know whether J.D. is rising, dropping, or surfing (staying the same). If I shoot at 6:00am, then I have 90 minutes before I have to leave the house at 7:30am. That 90 minutes in the morning is the best I can do, to get other tests, make sure he eats, and decide if I have to leave higher carb food out for the day or not. That 90 minutes between shot time and when I have to leave the house also gives me time to post on the board if I have a question, or stall for a bit.

A bunch of us use automatic feeders that we program to open at certain times, or freeze cat food in food pops that will slowly thaw during the day and provide a later meal for the cat.
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208

Is there any way you can get up earlier in the morning so you can test and then IF you need to stall, you'd be able to? I know it's awful having to get up earlier in the morning, but sometimes we just have to do what we have to do

I'm NOT a morning person and never have been, so figured I'd put China on an 11am/11pm schedule...After doing this dance awhile, I now get up at 6am, test/shoot/feed and go back to bed...sometimes I don't remember doing it....LOL

But that way, if I need to stall, I can, and still can shoot early enough in the evening that I don't have to stay up TOO late to get some of those +5 and +6 numbers that let me sleep peacefully knowing she's safe...but man, 6am still comes awfully early!!
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208

Like Chris, I test, feed and shoot all within the space of a few minutes. In fact, Gabby gets her shot while she's eating. She barely notices that she's getting her shot.

I don't know if this is even possible for you but would your schedule accommodate testing Ophie earlier than at 6:00? If you are able to test earlier, you may be able to get an additional test before you leave the house. Having a +1 or a +2 test may let you know more about what's going on with Ophie's numbers. Of course, whether this would work also depends on what time you get home for your PM shot.

I always find it amazing when someone comments that their vet is against home testing because the caregiver's cat will end up hating them. Obviously, Ophie doesn't feel that way. I really think our kitties know that what we're doing helps them to feel better.
 
Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208, +10

Great suggestions :). I see everyone has faced this dilemma.

I work M-Tu-W (not Th-F or weekend). I could get up at 4:30/:45. So I could test her, see what's going on that early. I was initially giving her her shot at 5:15/:30, but I just cannot be home from work that early. So, I've moved the shot up to 6AM as I wanted consistency across the entire week; I could give her shot as late as 6:30 on work days, but I have to be out the door right at 6:30.

So, I guess that could be my plan come Monday: test at 4:45AM, if low number, withhold food, test again at 5:15, if same, wait another 30 minutes, etc. If I see she is rising sufficiently by 6:30, I can give her food and her shot and feel confident all will be OK for the day. If she doesn't rise or surfs, I would skip her AM shot. Ouch, my head hurts :lol:

I go to be early (usually by 9). If I'm getting up at 4:30, I am not sure how I will be able to test her in the middle of the night. Did I mention my head hurts?

:YMSIGH:

Thank you all! Really!
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192, +3 220, +5 191, +8 208

you've had lots of great info from dyana, chris and sienne, so i just want to add my welcome to Lantus Land.

it is overwhelming at first, but you'll be surprised how quickly it starts to make sense. it gets infinitely easier, don't worry!!! we'll hold your hand and help you figure it out, one question at a time.
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192 +3 220 +5 191 +8 208 +10

I've been twisting myself around and freaking out again. As I'm gearing up for shot time in a little bit, my last reading at +11 was 179. I am not confident that I can help Ophie turn this all around before Monday and keep her safe. I also have been reading the other convos, so I'm all worried about what I've done to her depot by skipping shot yesterday/reducing-delaying this morning, among (many!) other things (what the heck is bouncing exactly?). Would you give her a full dose tonight? I'm thinking I should just drop back to 1.5 for the next few days (because I have to work M/Tu/W), and try the increase again on Wednesday morning, when I can be home with her on Thursday to see the effects of the 1.75? Then if I'm getting low +12 BGs, I can then put a better plan into effect to see how she responds throughout the day? In the meantime, I can also implement some additional strategies over the next few days, like: adjusting her to a 6:30 shot time, getting her AMPS before she eats, practice withholding food until 6:30, test her more frequently before and after work (now that I'm a master ear poker)...

This seems like a good idea... right? Or am I just being crazy. It seems like such a good (comforting) idea for me to go back to 1.5 until Wednesday. I know she will be safe from a hypo that way, even if her BG is in the 200s... she's been in the 200s for a long time, what's 3 extra days? I can fix her depot and make her change dose slowly.

Ugh.
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192 +3 220 +5 191 +8 208 +10

Me again. Sorry, I realize I'm being a little crazy. I had one additional thought. I actually think the 1.75 dose might be what's right for her, based on how her numbers have been over the last 2 days, despite my choices to skip shot then reduce and delay. After all, it's my goal to get her blue (and maybe eventually green). And, it seems 1.75 gets her blue for sure. I just need to make sure she stays well during the cycle to be sure it's the right dose.

So, I've decided to give her 1.5 tonight. And stick with that until Wednesday.

We are off to the neighbors house for some Saturday night fun after I do my final BG and shot right now. I roasted Ophie some chicken breast for dinner. She will be very excited after her shot tonight!

Best to all for a happy Saturday night. Rest well my fellow sugar baby mommas (and papas?).
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192 +3 220 +5 191 +8 208 +10

I think you're doing good. Go with what your gut tells you. You're a smart one.
 
Re: Ophie +12 133, AMPS 152, +2 192 +3 220 +5 191 +8 208 +10

You hold the syringe, so you have to do what's comfortable for you.

I think your original idea of dropping back to 1.5 for a few days while you're adjusting to new schedules and learning more about how to handle things is probably a good idea. High numbers do their damage slowly, so a few more days isn't really going to hurt much...it's the low numbers that kill quickly

I'll take a breast please :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top