Ollie - Libre, WBC and Dental 22 May

Status
Not open for further replies.
IMG_6849.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6849.jpeg
    IMG_6849.jpeg
    68.1 KB · Views: 364
I'll see if I can wrangle this. Even working from home in the morning might be possible until 10, and then come into work. I work across hospitals, health care is harder to work from home.
 
Yes, the Vet was very assertive that I use these and do the 1 UC measure, not 1ml.
It is very hard to draw up 0.5 U on a 1 ml syringe. They are too big.
You would be better getting U40, 3/10 ml syringes if you can.
Or, if you got the U100 syringes, you could use the conversion table for U40 insulin using an U100 syringe, and give it that way. But don’t try that without our specific instructions.
 
Ive given a blob of honey, about the size of a five cent piece. He ate a stack of the gravy from the Fancy Feast. Can't understand why it's taken so long.
 
Ive given a blob of honey, about the size of a five cent piece. He ate a stack of the gravy from the Fancy Feast. Can't understand why it's taken so long.
The effect of the dose is still strong and it is obviously too much insulin so it can take time for the BG to go up. This is not unusual.
You just have to keep testing and giving honey or high carb if necessary
 
Why hasn't the vet, who I saw today, said this? Perhaps because she hasn't seen the numbers you have?

I have to share my spreadsheet with her Thursday night as proof.
 
The best BGs for a cat are 2.8-6.7 but while you are using Caninsulin it is better to keep the BGs above 5 (90).
11 (200) is too high but safer until Ollie is eating better and he is on Optisulin

3.7 as at 9.04. It's climbing, slowly.
3.7 (67) that is a bit better. I would offer another teaspoon of the high carb…no more than that...as we want to get him up over 90 (5).
 
I'm going to test in another 20 mins. Thank you Bron. I wish I could give you chocolates, mow your lawn or something. I would have been doing unknown harm to Ollie without your steady calm influence.
 
Yes, i just got him some gravy, and a few pieces of soft meat from a FF ' classic feast' tin that I had stored away from the normal diabetes stash. He licked the gravy from my finger.
 
Bron, is it safe for me to go to sleep? Should I set an alarm in a couple of hours and re-test? That Fancy Feast did the trick. I can take some normal diabetes food to bed with me.
 
That is a jump up! 101
Don’t feed any more and test again in 30 minutes to see if he is not dropping back. He could wobble about a bit before deciding to stay up so just be aware of that.
You will need to continue testing for 2 hours after he last had any high carb food or honey. This is to make sure he is able to stay up on his own without help.
Hopefully Suzanne will be along soon about the dose moving forward.
 
Okay thank you. I can carry him upstairs with me, he likes to go to bed with me, and test until 12.30. I'll take a snack to bed with me. And my laptop x Thanks again Bron x
 
Keep posting the BG results if you don’t mind. Thanks for keeping the SS updated. That is helpful.
Tomorrow can you start a new thread please as this one has got very long with Ollie’s drop in BGs tonight…thanks.
I’m hoping Suzanne will see the pm I sent her and pop in as well.
 
10.12 pm 5:6
11.00 pm 3.9
11.03 5.1 I think I got a dodgy reading before. will test again in 60 mins. Have set alarm.
 
11.40: 4.7 mml
I would give him a teaspoon high carb as he’s dropped under 5 (90) again.
Unless Suzanne pops in and says something different, in the morning, unless he is up over 200 (11) I would skip the dose.
If he is over 11 and eats well you could give 0.5 U providing you can monitor him.

Edit…we must be at +6.5 now
 
Last edited:
Ok. He’s snacking now in bed on high-carb Fancy Feast.

yes easily +6.5. I gave insulin about 5.15pm. It’s now midnight.

setting 30 min timer now that he’s finished a midnight snack, and napping.

I’m going to skip tomorrow am dose Bron unless high BG and then, a tiny dose. Need new syringes as well.
 
Hi. Bron asked me to check on you. Did you get another test after midnight? If so what was it? If not and you see this please test. I know you are exhausted.
 
Sorry for the delay. I just saw Bron's tag at 12:30 p.m. my time (U.S.) I know it's the middle of the night for you. I agree with what Bron is saying. He's dropped lower than we want on 1 unit and he's dropped lower than we want while he's on Caninsulin/Vetsulin on .75 unit. As Bron said, if he's not at 200 or above at his preshot test, then skip the morning dose. Then, going forward please only give him half a unit .5 units of insulin. I see that can be a problem for your type of syringe though, as Bron said. I'm a little concerned about that. So you would stay at .5 units until at least after the dental procedure (unless he drops below 90 again (5 in your units) and then that would mean another reduction of .25 units and your new dose would then be .25.) So for now:
1) AMPS 200 or over: give .5 units 30 minutes after he's eaten a good meal
2) AMPS under 200: skip insulin for the morning cycle
3) Any drops under 90 (5) and another reduction is earned.
4) Do not raise the dose back up above .5 units prior to the dental.

Okay? Bron is wonderful isn't she. I've been reading through this thread and I see you both must be exhausted.
 
What type of syringes are ou going to get?
The little ones you recommended earlier in this thread. So I can get less than 1UC.
Sorry for the delay. I just saw Bron's tag at 12:30 p.m. my time (U.S.) I know it's the middle of the night for you. I agree with what Bron is saying. He's dropped lower than we want on 1 unit and he's dropped lower than we want while he's on Caninsulin/Vetsulin on .75 unit. As Bron said, if he's not at 200 or above at his preshot test, then skip the morning dose. Then, going forward please only give him half a unit .5 units of insulin. I see that can be a problem for your type of syringe though, as Bron said. I'm a little concerned about that. So you would stay at .5 units until at least after the dental procedure (unless he drops below 90 again (5 in your units) and then that would mean another reduction of .25 units and your new dose would then be .25.) So for now:
1) AMPS 200 or over: give .5 units 30 minutes after he's eaten a good meal
2) AMPS under 200: skip insulin for the morning cycle
3) Any drops under 90 (5) and another reduction is earned.
4) Do not raise the dose back up above .5 units prior to the dental.

Okay? Bron is wonderful isn't she. I've been reading through this thread and I see you both must be exhausted.


Thank you so much for your comprehensive advice. I tested at 4am and he was 7.9. That’s when I decided to stop testing and went to sleep.
Definitely missing dose this morning, taking the day off work and will get smaller syringes for future smaller doses.
Yes exhausted. Set a timer every 30 mins to test, snacks in bed. I’m really tired today.
It’s 730am now, and I’ll re read through your advice with a coffee. Just tested Ollie, he is 10.8 mmol, he will need some food and a tiny dose.

I just checked the comparison between 200 amps and I can see we're just under at 194 (10.8), so at this stage i've just offered him slurry pate, which he's taken. I'll check for that 200 (11) marker and give syringe if he exceeds that. I'll have to get dressed and go to the pharmacy for smaller syringe too, as i dont want to risk using the existing ones and making an error.

Thank you again so much for your clear directions. At an overwhelming time, it's very helpful to not have to decipher.
thanks so much.
 
Last edited:
Closing thread at Bron's request because it's getting too long. Will relabel a new one clearly. Cheers. Cath.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top