Well it is still working! But it should not be cloudy. I would ask the vetI just saw a comment on the facebook wall that insulin is no good when it becomes cloudy. Mine is cloudy. Is that worth checking with the vet or getting a new one?
Maybe someone left it out of the fridge.
So, insulin at 6 am, plus 4, 10 am. To test. I can see if. can arrange that in my schedule.What are UC syringes?
I would try and get home around +4
Are these the ones you are using now?
Yes, the Vet was very assertive that I use these and do the 1 UC measure, not 1ml.Are these the ones you are using now?
Insulin 6 am. Test BG 10am and feed.So, insulin at 6 am, plus 4, 10 am. To test. I can see if. can arrange that in my schedule.
It is very hard to draw up 0.5 U on a 1 ml syringe. They are too big.Yes, the Vet was very assertive that I use these and do the 1 UC measure, not 1ml.
I have 6 mins until I am due to test. Stuck with the 20 mins measure. I can source those other syringes for sure. I will post the new BG in 6 mins.Do you have an update on the BG?
As well as the honey give some more high carb food. About a teaspoon of the food.Bron, it's 3.1 as at 840 pm.
Done, he's eating now. has eaten more than a teaspoon.As well as the honey give some more high carb food. About a teaspoon of the food.
The effect of the dose is still strong and it is obviously too much insulin so it can take time for the BG to go up. This is not unusual.Ive given a blob of honey, about the size of a five cent piece. He ate a stack of the gravy from the Fancy Feast. Can't understand why it's taken so long.
As long as we can keep it from dropping too low, you won’t need to go to the vet. Hopefully to effects of the insulin will start to wane soon.If I don't get this up past 4, do I need to go to the vet?
3.7 (67) that is a bit better. I would offer another teaspoon of the high carb…no more than that...as we want to get him up over 90 (5).3.7 as at 9.04. It's climbing, slowly.
That is what we are here for. Very happy to help anytime.I'm going to test in another 20 mins. Thank you Bron. I wish I could give you chocolates, mow your lawn or something. I would have been doing unknown harm to Ollie without your steady calm influence.
Don’t feed him too much as we might need him to eat a bit later. Is the food high carb still?Thank-you. I'm giving him food, and honey, on repeat until he's at 5.
Looks like it could be a longish night for you.10.12 pm 5:6
11.00 pm 3.9
11.03 5.1 I think I got a dodgy reading before. will test again in 60 mins. Have set alarm.
Can do will snooze for 30 and retest. Thanks heaps Bron.I would test in 30 minutes, not 60 with that drop
I would give him a teaspoon high carb as he’s dropped under 5 (90) again.11.40: 4.7 mml
The little ones you recommended earlier in this thread. So I can get less than 1UC.What type of syringes are ou going to get?
Sorry for the delay. I just saw Bron's tag at 12:30 p.m. my time (U.S.) I know it's the middle of the night for you. I agree with what Bron is saying. He's dropped lower than we want on 1 unit and he's dropped lower than we want while he's on Caninsulin/Vetsulin on .75 unit. As Bron said, if he's not at 200 or above at his preshot test, then skip the morning dose. Then, going forward please only give him half a unit .5 units of insulin. I see that can be a problem for your type of syringe though, as Bron said. I'm a little concerned about that. So you would stay at .5 units until at least after the dental procedure (unless he drops below 90 again (5 in your units) and then that would mean another reduction of .25 units and your new dose would then be .25.) So for now:
1) AMPS 200 or over: give .5 units 30 minutes after he's eaten a good meal
2) AMPS under 200: skip insulin for the morning cycle
3) Any drops under 90 (5) and another reduction is earned.
4) Do not raise the dose back up above .5 units prior to the dental.
Okay? Bron is wonderful isn't she. I've been reading through this thread and I see you both must be exhausted.