Oliver, was seizing now up to 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelley & Oliver

Member Since 2021
Cat has gone into seizures on us. Shot was at 8 am
Seizure started at 10:15
Gave honey
Settled down
Won’t eat
On low carb food only
Continuing honey and sugar water
has tested at
23
23
Low
No vet available at miles from any, heavy snow
What else can I do
Insulin is Lantus
 
Hi Shelley,

I've just put out a request for help in the Lantus group. (ETA - I've asked them to reply to you here.)

If seizing at the moment, wait till it passes then immediately give another teaspoon of honey. Rub on the gums. Test BG. Wait 15 minutes and test again.

Once you've administered honey, please answer these questions as soon as possible:

1. What is the current BG?

2. How many test strips do you have?

3. How many hours since last Lantus shot.

4. What is the current dose of Lantus?

5. How many cycles (12 hours) have you been giving the current dose (so we can gauge the size of the depot).

6. Do you have ANY high carb food or treats in the house?

*** I'll do what I can to help till someone more experienced responds (I've not dealt with a cat experiencing seizures.)


Mogs
.
 
Do you have syrup/karo? Rub it on her/his gums as well as trying to get her to eat it. Worst case, syrup can be applied rectally if you have a syringe you can do that with.

Can you break down the timing and amounts of honey/sugar water? Is the cat still seizing? How far apart were those tests?
 
Hi Shelley,

I've just put out a request for help in the Lantus group.

If seizing at the moment, wait till it passes then immediately give another teaspoon of honey. Rub on the gums. Test BG. Wait 15 minutes and test again.

Once you've administered honey, please answer these questions as soon as possible:

1. What is the current BG? 27 at noon (10 montes ago)

2. How many test strips do you have? About 40

3. How many hours since last Lantus shot.
4
4. What is the current dose of Lantus?

5. How many cycles (12 hours) have you been giving the current dose (so we can gauge the size of the depot). Since last Friday almost a week

6. Do you have ANY high carb food or treats in the house? won’t eat

*** I'll do what I can to help till someone more experienced responds (I've not dealt with a cat experiencing seizures.)


Mogs
.
Thank you so much for helping. I just got acceptance to the group
Do you have syrup/karo? Rub it on her/his gums as well as trying to get her to eat it. Worst case, syrup can be applied rectally if you have a syringe you can do that with.

Can you break down the timing and amounts of honey/sugar water? Is the cat still seizing? How far apart were those tests?
 
@Wendy&Neko -

Thank you so much for responding, Wendy. Are you OK to lead on this? I can't see it through (plus I've never had to respond to a cat having seizures before).


Mogs
.
 
With a cat in seizures, I would do as Wendy suggested and give karo, syrup, honey....anything like that rectally. Be careful and lube the syringe...don’t worry about how much you give.

When seizures stop, you can give it orally until the BG rises above 68 but keep testing because as the syrup wears off, the BG can come back down. He needs a vet as soon as you can get him to one even if he’s doing better. Symptomatic hypos can have lasting effects. Lantus low numbers can last a long time depending on the dose and what the preshot BG was. Any info you can give us while he’s stable is helpful.

Please do not give insulin tonight! Cats which have symptomatic hypos are often very sensitive to insulin.
 
Here are Shelley's answers:

***ALPHATRAK***

* Last reading 10 20 mins ago: 27 - +4 hours after dose admin

* Almost 1 week on current dose (size of dose not yet confirmed)

* Cat won't eat.


Mogs
.
 
If the cat won't eat, you need to rub the honey/syrup on his gums or cheeks if he will allow it. If not, you need a needless syringe with syrup/honey, lube it up with vaseline or something like that, and inject rectally.
 
Shelley, please can you test again ASAP.

If still below 68 give more honey then post the BG reading here as soon as possible after that so that members assisting you will be able to guide you better. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Update on Oliver
With blood tests every half hour and lots of honey and sugar water he is going to right way
When had his first seizure we were giving honey and his Alpha trek reading was 23!
Every half hour:
23/LO/27/31 not out of the woods but he’s not seizing and his blood glucose is going the right direction.
 
Shelley, please can you test again ASAP.
Yes I put the info in a reply down below. Moving up, tests every 30 minutes. Only up to 37 and we are giving honey and sugar water, repeat.


If still below 68 give more honey then post the BG reading here as soon as possible after that so that members assisting you will be able to guide you better. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Those are all really the same basic number so he's still in a lot of danger.

I understand he's not eating but have you got any "gravy lovers" or kibble food to try? We would usually be encouraging you to get him to an ER vet, especially since even with the Karo he's not coming up the way he should but understand you can't really get out due to the snow.

What dose did you give him this morning?
 
Those are all really the same basic number so he's still in a lot of danger.

I understand he's not eating but have you got any "gravy lovers" or kibble food to try? We would usually be encouraging you to get him to an ER vet, especially since even with the Karo he's not coming up the way he should but understand you can't really get out due to the snow.

What dose did you give him this morning?
We did give him a bite of the gravy food left over from his prior life. Will try again. It made his nose wiggle.
3 units just like I have been all week. I’m so confused. He is never getting another shot without a test immediately
 
Maybe try to squeeze the gravy out of the food and see if Oliver will lick some of that - or if you have an oral syringe see if he'll take it that way. Syringe slowly from the side, across the tongue so it won't go down the wrong way.

Do you have any Temptations or Dreamies treats in the house? If yes, see if he'll take some of those (they're high carb).


Mogs
.
 
It's been half an hour since the last test result, could you test again? How is your kitty doing now?

He is at 31 I will test again in 5 minutes. Still giving sugar and honey. He is more alert. If I miss any of your posts I am really sorry!!! This message board is new to me.
 
From facebook, you said you've been doing this a couple of weeks.... 3 units Lantus seems like a huge dose for him to be on after such a short period!
 
From going back through your posts in the group, it looks like your vet started you at 2U and just recently increased to 3U and you were feeding Hills m/d Gluco Support.

When did you start the 2U? When did you start the 3? Did you change his food (if so, when)
 
A favour to ask of all following - right now our focus is on getting the cat into good numbers (just done) and keeping him there (work in progress). With too many people posting other things, it's hard to focus. Dosing will come later, but as Marje said - no shot tonight.

Shelley, we need to you to test again in 1/2 hour, to make sure he's staying above 68. We'll figure out a strategy going forward once we know your kitty will stay safe.
 
So it's almost 2 PM by you is that correct
You gave lantus at 8AM
It's now 2 PM is this correct
@Shelley.Washington
From going back through your posts in the group, it looks like your vet started you at 2U and just recently increased to 3U and you were feeding Hills m/d Gluco Support.

When did you start the 2U? When did you start the 3? Did you change his food (if so, when)
This is correct
2 U the two weeks before but he was still running in the 400s
We switched off hills and started on Frisky pate a few days ago
Gonna go test be right back
 
Oh no. It’s down to 38 again. 1/2 hour between test. Will keep try to get some gravy in him. He takes the honey well. And we made a title sugar syrup that we can get in him
It’s 2:15 pacific right now
 
Back to rubbing honey in his mouth. Lantus hypos can go on for hours. Is there any way of getting to an emergency vet? This would really be better handled by a glucose drip at the vets.

You might also want to consider the honey in the back end. Please test again in 20-30 minutes after the next honey.

Updating the recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
 
Shelley we're all REALLY worried that this may not be able to be dealt with at home. Is it absolutely impossible to get him to an ER vet to be put on a glucose drip? We don't want you to risk your life if it's really dangerous on the roads, but we're all terribly concerned that he's taking so much work and still not really responding.

Do you have a needless syringe that you could use to put corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup directly into his rectum? We understand it sounds awful, but it could also save his life because you could get more into him at once and the glucose is picked up quickly from the intestinal tract to get into the bloodstream fast. And yes, it can be a mess....but again, it could save his life.
 
Ditto what Chris said. Could you at least call a vet, even an ER vet for suggestions?

Updating the recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
 
Good job! Now you've still got to keep testing every half hour for a while yet. The honey can wear off and numbers drop back down as you've seen. How is your test strip supply? Has his twitching stopped?

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
 
Ditto what Chris said. Could you at least call a vet, even an ER vet for suggestions?

Updating the recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 Oliver at 80 and showing interest in food.
Shelley we're all REALLY worried that this may not be able to be dealt with at home. Is it absolutely impossible to get him to an ER vet to be put on a glucose drip? We don't want you to risk your life if it's really dangerous on the roads, but we're all terribly concerned that he's taking so much work and still not really responding.

Do you have a needless syringe that you could use to put corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup directly into his rectum? We understand it sounds awful, but it could also save his life because you could get more into him at once and the glucose is picked up quickly from the intestinal tract to get into the bloodstream fast. And yes, it can be a mess....but again, it could save his life.
Chris, sorry I just saw this one. We live on the equivalent of a one lane logging road way up high. We are are the beginning of a severe weather warning and we cannot. Take the risk. Even if we did get out I don’t know if we could get back. Our private road goes over 1000’ pretty straight up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top