Oliver, was seizing now up to 232

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good job! Now you've still got to keep testing every half hour for a while yet. The honey can wear off and numbers drop back down as you've seen. How is your test strip supply? Has his twitching stopped?
Twitching has stopped. He is interested in the gravy. We are going to continue to do all the things we’ve been doing. Thanks for being with me you all!!!

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
 
Chris, sorry I just saw this one. We live on the equivalent of a one lane logging road way up high. We are are the beginning of a severe weather warning and we cannot. Take the risk. Even if we did get out I don’t know if we could get back. Our private road goes over 1000’ pretty straight up.

Totally understand but that means you need to be extra careful to always have lots of extra supplies in case something like this happens again. Several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (the beef is the highest carb), a good supply of corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup, LOTS of extra strips (I usually got nervous if I dropped below 200 strips in the house) and get a few 5cc - 10cc syringes (no needle) just in case. Farm supply places usually carry a wide selection of different sized syringes without needles.
 
Thank goodness. Keep those numbers up, Oliver


Now a warning, cats can be super sensitive to insulin following a low hypo. Obviously no insulin tonight, and going forward is drop that dose Waaaaay Back. I'll let the lantus people give the specific dosing advice. You are doing a great job of saving his life.
 
Shelley

It would be helpful for you and the folks helping here if I got a spreadsheet up and running for Oliver. I need to send you a private message as I need just two things from you that we don’t post publicly. In just a few minutes, you’ll see a red “1” at the top right of this page by Inbox. Click on that and you’ll have a message from me.
 
Ditto what Chris said. Could you at least call a vet, even an ER vet for suggestions?

Updating the recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 Oliver at 80 and showing interest in food.
 
Given how long it has taken to get Oliver up into safe numbers and his having dropped back so far before, I think you could keep going with the gravy and test again in 30 minutes. Also, since you can't get to a vet it would be no harm to have him be that little bit higher (more of a safety buffer in case he might drop back again).


Mogs
.
 
Try some gravy with the meat chunks too. It's that regular food that'll sustain him.

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy
 
Try some gravy with the meat chunks too. It's that regular food that'll sustain him.

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy

Yes! He started accepting little chunks of meat. BG at 4:20 is 232.
 
Awesome, great job today. You can put away the honey and gravy for now. And let's wait an hour to the next test. There still may be some of the honey goodness wearing off yet. It can take a couple hours for the carbs to wear off, in which case the numbers might drop a bit, but I doubt to a dangerous level. What you are seeing now is a bounce or reaction to those lows.

You might want to think about ordering more test strips, you've gone through a lot today. In more ways than one. :bighug:

Once Marje has helped you get a spreadsheet together, we can talk about strategies for dosing tomorrow.

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy
4:20 (+8.25) - 232
 
Spreadsheet is up and linked. When Shelley can take a breath, I’ll get some additional info from her and fill in the empty spots but at least today is up.

Great, great job, Shelley!!! And, of course, Wendy, Mogs, and others.

As a reminder.....when we have a situation like this going on, it is absolutely best for the caregiver to have one or two, at most, experienced members helping. That avoids repetitive posts and also allows the caregiver to focus on the kitty and testing/feeding. We truly appreciate everyone’s help but it’s important to keep the thread short for the sake of the kitty and the CG. Once the crisis is past, then it’s fine to express your relief and support.

Subject line updated. Thank you all very much.
 
Awesome, great job today. You can put away the honey and gravy for now. And let's wait an hour to the next test. There still may be some of the honey goodness wearing off yet. It can take a couple hours for the carbs to wear off, in which case the numbers might drop a bit, but I doubt to a dangerous level. What you are seeing now is a bounce or reaction to those lows.

You might want to think about ordering more test strips, you've gone through a lot today. In more ways than one. :bighug:

Once Marje has helped you get a spreadsheet together, we can talk about strategies for dosing tomorrow.

Recap:
8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
2:35 (+6.5) - 37
3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy
4:20 (+8.25) - 232
Sir Oliver just scarfed a 1/4 of a big can of Paws Happy Life Turkey in gravy. He is curled in my lap he probably won’t like us taking his gravy, but that’s just means he’s getting better.
 
You're going to skip tonight and shoot at your usual AMPS tomorrow morning.

After the low numbers that Oliver experienced today, if he's like many cats who experience an episode of symptomatic hypoglycemia, he may be VERY sensitive to the effect of insulin. I doubt your nerves could withstand another episode of Oliver in low numbers.

In the meantime, do you think you can fill in some of Oliver's numbers from previous days on your spreadsheet?
 
You're going to skip tonight and shoot at your usual AMPS tomorrow morning.

After the low numbers that Oliver experienced today, if he's like many cats who experience an episode of symptomatic hypoglycemia, he may be VERY sensitive to the effect of insulin. I doubt your nerves could withstand another episode of Oliver in low numbers.

In the meantime, do you think you can fill in some of Oliver's numbers from previous days on your spreadsheet?
I’m drained. I will for sure check it and fill in tomorrow, but at first glance I did not understand and I don’t have the brain power left to think any more...
 
Totally understand but that means you need to be extra careful to always have lots of extra supplies in case something like this happens again. Several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (the beef is the highest carb), a good supply of corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup, LOTS of extra strips (I usually got nervous if I dropped below 200 strips in the house) and get a few 5cc - 10cc syringes (no needle) just in case. Farm supply places usually carry a wide selection of different sized syringes without needles.

Forgot to add an important thing to your list!...a bottle of your favorite adult beverage for when it's all over!
 
I’m drained. I will for sure check it and fill in tomorrow, but at first glance I did not understand and I don’t have the brain power left to think any more...
I left you instructions on the SS with the PM I sent. As Sienne said, it would be really helpful if you could add in any data but if you will PM me tomorrow, I’ll help you. Take tonight to rest.

As Chris said, we’ve (we three moderators and Chris) been discussing tomorrow’s shot in the morning and, based on our experience with some other cats, the change in Oliver’s diet, the low number of strips you have, we believe you should skip the morning’s shot as well provided he’s never had any ketones.

If you have urine or blood ketone test strips, we’d suggest you test him. We are assuming he’s been healthy....no infections?? Is he on any antibiotics and, if so, what are they for? Is there a chance you can get out tomorrow for supplies? It’s unlikely you could get more AT strips but perhaps it’s possible to get a human meter and strips? I don’t know where you are but the Nova Max Plus only requires a 0.3 ml drop like the AT and also tests blood ketones but you have to have different strips. Many members use ReliOn meters from Walmart like the Prime or Premier; they require a 0.5 ml drop.

How is he doing? Have you tested him again? It’s a good idea to test him before you go to bed.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug:Shelley and Oliver :bighug::bighug:

I just wanted you to know how many of us were watching from the sidelines (as you got great support from the mods :bighug:) and thinking about you and Oliver today praying that he would be ok and have his BG come up. I’m so glad he did come up for you and is resting well.

An extra round of hugs
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
thank you!
 
Good morning, Shelley.

You did a sterling job working to get Oliver's numbers up last night. I've never been so pleased to see a cat's BG go over 200! I hope that Oliver is feeling OK today and that you had a good, restorative sleep for yourself because what you went through yesterday will have been incredibly draining. You must have been wiped out after the adrenaline surge passed. :bighug:

Wishing you both a much better day today.

(((Shelley and Oliver)))


Mogs
.
 
Good morning, Shelley.

You did a sterling job working to get Oliver's numbers up last night. I've never been so pleased to see a cat's BG go over 200! I hope that Oliver is feeling OK today and that you had a good, restorative sleep for yourself because what you went through yesterday will have been incredibly draining. You must have been wiped out after the adrenaline surge passed. :bighug:

Wishing you both a much better day today.

(((Shelley and Oliver)))


Mogs
.
Thank you so much for helping us. All of you.
 
I left you instructions on the SS with the PM I sent. As Sienne said, it would be really helpful if you could add in any data but if you will PM me tomorrow, I’ll help you. Take tonight to rest.

As Chris said, we’ve (we three moderators and Chris) been discussing tomorrow’s shot in the morning and, based on our experience with some other cats, the change in Oliver’s diet, the low number of strips you have, we believe you should skip the morning’s shot as well provided he’s never had any ketones.

If you have urine or blood ketone test strips, we’d suggest you test him. We are assuming he’s been healthy....no infections?? Is he on any antibiotics and, if so, what are they for? Is there a chance you can get out tomorrow for supplies? It’s unlikely you could get more AT strips but perhaps it’s possible to get a human meter and strips? I don’t know where you are but the Nova Max Plus only requires a 0.3 ml drop like the AT and also tests blood Keon test but you have to have different strips. Many members use ReliOn meters from Walmart like the Prime or Premier; they reuigere a 0.5 ml drop.

How is he doing? Have you tested him again? It’s a good idea to test him before you go to bed.

I’m sorry, I just saw this. He has been healthy, yes, no infections. The last time I tested him was at 8:00 PM PT and he was still in the 200’s. Not sure if I reported that test or not. I was planning to test him at 8:00 am PT. It’s only 3:45 a.m. now, but I have a habit of waking when I’m supposed to be sleeping. . Will let you know in the morning what he reads, again, thanks for everything getting me through this emergency.
Shelley
 
:bighug::bighug:Shelley and Oliver :bighug::bighug:

I just wanted you to know how many of us were watching from the sidelines (as you got great support from the mods :bighug:) and thinking about you and Oliver today praying that he would be ok and have his BG come up. I’m so glad he did come up for you and is resting well.

An extra round of hugs
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I agree with "thebigfuzz". I think a lot of us were watching this post. Thank God Oliver is doing so much better. The "moderators" are life savers. They will help you with all of this. You did a great job, Shelley, in a very difficult situation! Prayers you never have to go through that again!
 
Shelley

How is Oliver doing today? Is he eating and acting normal? Is he still twitching and how much did he do so overnight, if any? Anything different about him today?

When you are up, please test his BG. I entered the +20 for last night on the SS for you. You can enter it in the “AMPS” column or message me and I will enter it for you.

Could we also ask, please, if you could start a new thread just as you did yesterday as this one has gotten quite long. Please entitle it something like “Oliver post hypo” as that will draw our attention. Once you have posted it, I’ll add a link in this thread to the new one.

As history for others reading the new thread, we always post a link to the previous one so in the first text box of the new thread, we would appreciate it if you could cut and paste all of this below:

Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/oliver-was-seizing-now-up-to-232.242335/#post-2730585
 
So is chocolate. And good ice cream! :cat:

:bighug:


Mogs
.
So grateful for now that Oliver and Shelley are okay. I was watching and sending my prayers and continue to do so. Mogs so good to see your name, you did so much for me. So many scary moments but watching the way all of you moderators stayed calm and cool and continued to update each moment / action and reaction. Thank you all from me for being there for Shelley and Oliver. Shelley you did an amazing job :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So grateful for now that Oliver and Shelley are okay. I was watching and sending my prayers and continue to do so. Mogs so good to see your name, you did so much for me. So many scary moments but watching the way all of you moderators stayed calm and cool and continued to update each moment / action and reaction. Thank you all from me for being there for Shelley and Oliver. Shelley you did an amazing job :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for your prayers and good wishes!! Oliver and his parents were lucky to learn about this group!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top