Oliver 11/27 6+ 257 10+155 11+132PMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
11/26 PMPS night time BG's (Where is the best place to put these?) besides SS
5+ 360
9+ 390
12+ 372
AMPS 410

He has been running around meowing and cuddling and seems great
Haven't noticed any sneezing or cold issues, so hope we are over that
Vet will be in touch and I will share the Bouncing and etc.
Just not sure weather to stay with the 1 unit or go back to the 2 units
as the vet was just wanting me to go to 1 unit this time and back to the 2?????
Going to shoot after feeding the 2 units and stay with that for a while .
Thanks
 
Re: ???? Please Oliver 11/27 AMPS

Morning Kelly ~O) ~O) ~O)

I do not have any dosage advise, just wanted to say I'm sure people will be chiming in soon to help you.

Good luck today with Oliver !
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410

Thanks and fingers crossed:)
He is doing well... and I went ahead with the 2 units per my Vet. Will check as I am in and out today. Any suggestions on times to check that would be best?
Thanksgiving prep on it way. Busy few days, so GO GO GO! :)
Kelly
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410

I'm not sure I understand your vet's rationale for suggesting you reduce and especially to reduce for one cycle. If I had to guess, it was due to the 97 at PMPS.

With Lantus, when you see a lower pre-shot number than you're currently comfortable shooting, you have several options:
  • Skip the shot. This has a major impact on the depot. Sometimes the skip is helpful -- you need to drain the depot a bit but in most cases, this is the least good option.
  • Reduce the dose (a "big chicken sh*t" or BCS dose). This also acts to drain the depot a bit.
  • Stall (and don't feed). When you stall, this acts much like a dose reduction. It allows you to see whether the numbers are continuing to drop, if they are rising, or if they are flat and your kitty is surfing. The down side of stalling is that it can throw your schedule off. You especially don't want to stall AND reduce the dose since it will double the effect on the depot.
  • Shoot and monitor closely, especially early in the cycle. We generally recommend that you get a +1 and +2 test in order to see where numbers are heading.
With any of these options, you go back to your usual dose unless the pre-shot number was below 50 which indicates that a dose reduction is needed.

It's important to remember that with Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir. With ProZinc, you have the ability to adjust dose based on the pre-shot number. This is because ProZinc is not a depot-type of insulin. With Lantus, you have to always remember that the decision you make about dose has an effect on the depot and in some instances, what you do doesn't get an immediate reaction. You may see the effect of a dose change during the next cycle or two because the depot has to catch up with whatever change in dose you've made.

I like getting a +2 or +3 test. The early test can give you good info. If your +2 or +3 is considerably lower than your pre-shot number, it typically indicates that you may see dropping numbers during the cycle (i.e., an "active" cycle).

You may want to read over the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410

Just stopped in to say hi Kelly! Hope everything works out with your dose for Oliver. The info Sienne gave you is great bookmark stuff. I reread this info ALOT :lol:
Have a great day!
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277

Hi all is still going well today off for errands and will post another check this afternoon.
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277

Yesterday's thread(s) for Oliver

Hi Kelly!! Hope you got some sleep last night!!

When our kitties bounce like that, take advantage of it..that's when you know you can go to sleep and not worry! You'll have plenty of opportunities to stay up all night testing :-D

That was a pretty quick drop this morning too, so if you can, I'd get a +5 to +7 today. When the +2 or +3 is significantly lower than the Pre-shot number, you can expect an "active" cycle and it's best to do a little more testing

He may be lower at PMPS too, but we'll just have to wait and see. Oliver's in control of this dance..we just follow!

I added the link to yesterday's condo for you here. When you do your first condo of the day, put the link to your previous condo in so people can quickly go back and read the "history". Since you had 2 condo's yesterday, the one I linked here does have the link to the other one from yesterday (I put it there)

I know you're getting a lot of conflicting information here. I'm sure it makes it all the more confusing when we're all telling you different things...and then your vet is telling you something else too. It makes it hard to know what to do for Oliver.

Before we make any decisions about what to do tonight, let's just see how he does today on the 2 unit dose from this morning :-D

Sienne, I think the reason (besides her vet telling her to drop back to 1 unit) was that she'd just started Lantus on the 24th, and with the 70's she was getting at the end of the cycle yesterday, we can probably assume that he went even lower. Also, she didn't get a lot of tests in during the PM cycle, and her high AMPS numbers "could" be bouncing off an unknown low overnight.
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277 6+ 257 10+155

Well Heck
I wish I would have known I did not need to do PM testings due to bouncing. I got up a few times and did bg and checked on him. He is usually right by me in bed or in the doorway watching over us. :) Hes a great guy. He is having an awesome day. I have been so busy that I've been in and out so just got your message Chris tonight. Great numbers so far and hope its ok PMPS and we can have a relaxing and calm evening. Dont feel like dancing tonight :P JK
Going to clean and do more T day preparing. :)
Hope everyone else Has a great Holiday.
Much appreciation for all your help and kind words and encouragement. For that I am thankful beyond words.
Hugs Kelly
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277 6+ 257 10+155

...with the 70's she was getting at the end of the cycle yesterday, we can probably assume that he went even lower. Also, she didn't get a lot of tests in during the PM cycle, and her high AMPS numbers "could" be bouncing off an unknown low overnight.
Maybe you can assume the numbers were lower. I can't. There's no way to know where the numbers were. There are some cycles where Oliver has a late nadir so it's just as likely that the 70s were the low point. I don't think you can jump to the conclusion that a dose reduction was warranted based on Oliver surfing in the 70s.

Kelly -- can you please get a test at around +11? I want to make sure that Oliver's numbers aren't dropping at shot time. If they are, it may be worth stalling for a bit to see if the numbers level out.
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277 6+ 257 10+155 PMPS 136

136 to shoot or not to shoot that is the question. :P


With a PMPS of 136 should I just keep plugging away ? feed him extra good and Shoot it then ? Help its time to do it now trying to get back on schedule from the last couple of stalls. :)
I like to do 6 am and 6 pm.
Thanks
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 AMPS 410 2.5+ 277 6+ 257 10+155 PMPS 136

Kelly --

Remember to change the PMPS in your subject line.

If you need to move your shot time, you can move the time back by 15 min. at every shot time without it having much of an effect on Oliver's numbers.

Please get a +1 and a +2 test to start with this evening.
 
Re: Oliver 11/27 PMPS 162 4+243 10+ 251

With the changes in PMPS in the last few days (stalling) we are 2 hours off schedule right now. Going to make 15 min changes (I hope ) each shot through the Holiday weekend.
To get back to our original time that works best here.
Sienna-With all the up's and down's we are just starting the new insulin 11/24 , I was hesitant to shot at a 70 ish (never shot lower then 150) so we stalled and it went up a bit so in discussion here and with my vet we decided to go to 1 unit the one time to see what he does. Is the reasoning behind our dose change.
Thanks
Happy Thanksgiving
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top