Yes, I constantly read the Prozinc dosing methods, but I am always doubtful as weather I am doing the right thing, also, yes I do feed two small meals in between dosing I got both kitties on the same schedule and I guess I am proud of my spreadsheet consistency, is important for me and for all of you that when I ask for advise you have all the numbers available to be able to make a good decision for my Corky, like this morning his BG was 299 and rapidly lowered to 216 it's scares me, that a lot of times this rapid change happens and at 10:00pm and like this morning I have a DRs appt and I'm afraid that his BG will decrease a lot while I am not home, I barely go anywhere anymore unless need to, If I increase to 1.25 I get chills just typing it, because when hi BG starts to go down is a very drastic fall. What do you think? Should I still increase?
and thank you for your complement, is always very welcomed, and the noise, it will be a long while before this is over, renovation on the exterior of the building including changing windows to shattered proof, and exterior design, it's madness, my windows are gone I have plywood in the openings is dark and just a horrible experience, that will cost me starting next year another assessment, of $455.00 monthly, insane totally, every day is a different noise for us starting 7:30AM nonstop Craaazy!
I totally understand feeling doubtful and scared, but you're doing a great job. Your spreadsheet is fantastic and makes it really easy to see what's happening with Corky, and helps the experienced members offer dosing advice. So just a really great job all around!
Keep in mind that the initial numbers your vet gave you, of wanting to keep Corky between 200-300, are extremely high. 200 isn't terrible, but 300 is very high. Do you know about renal threshold? I might explain this badly, but renal threshold is basically the highest blood glucose number your cat can have before it starts to negatively impact their kidneys and other organs in their body. I think that for most cats the renal threshold is between 220 to 250. In other words, it's best to keep Corky under these numbers for as much of the day as possible. It looks like Corky is trending in that direction, so that's excellent! But there is still room for improvement.
Think of it like this: numbers under 50 are the bad, scary numbers. Anything between 50-99 is the absolute best. Between 100-200 is still really good but can possibly be improved. 200-299 is high and can potentially cause internal damage. So when Corky goes from 299 to 216, that's not a bad thing. It's a good thing! It means Corky is getting into safer numbers, not scary numbers. I know you're concerned about Corky going too low, and it's awesome that you're so vigilant about it. Because you are so vigilant, it means you'll know quickly if something goes wrong.
My cat, Snickers, is on Lantus, not Prozinc, but I'll share my own experience in case it helps. I started out giving Snickers .25 units then went up to .5 then .75 and now I'm at 1 unit. This morning her BG was 80, and I still gave her 1 unit. I just checked her two hours later, and she is at 79. Sometimes her drop is slightly steeper, sometimes not. Because I have the spreadsheet, I know that Snickers handles her insulin well and was comfortable shooting her even when her BG was 80. Now I'm NOT saying you should do that, I'm only trying to demonstrate that it can be perfectly safe to shoot 1 unit or more of insulin, and that a drop from 299 to 216 isn't dangerous.
I'm not experienced enough to offer dosing advice, but I know you said you have a doctor's appointment this morning and need to leave the house. So if you're very, very uncomfortable giving the insulin then maybe just give her your normal dose for now, or even a slightly reduced one. And then you can increase to 1.25 units later tonight, or even tomorrow, when you'll be home to monitor. You can also leave out food for Corky.
That's terrible about all the construction! And the added cost! Yikes!! I bet eventually you and Corky will get so used to it that you tune it out and don't even notice anymore, haha.
