??? ODD BEHAVIORS!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I am having a very hard time regulating Corky, my building is being renovated, and there is so much noise hammering, drilling, last night my apt got flooded from the rain, I spend all night till 4:00Am drying my floor., so much commotion is unraveling for both cats, they have beardly eaten for the past 3 meals , finally Corky [pooped for the first time in 3 days, Coco has not in 4 days, she seems fine,, I have been putting a dash of Purelax in their food, the times they have tried to go, or eat, there is a different noise and they get spooked, I am concerned for both, could this behavior have anything to do with what's going on? or should I be very concerned. need Advise
 
Hi, I'm no expert, so I'll just share my experience. I know my cat would be scared with so much going on.

My Snickers recently went 4 to 5 days without pooping, and she started straining in the litter box. I tried 1/8 to 1/4 Miralax twice per day, mixed in with food. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin to her food, which is supposed to help. And I added water to her food as well. It helped but not enough.

I finally brought her to the vet, and she was ok, but backed up from her constipation. She received fluids and an enema, which she did not like at all, but she seems much better now.

Constipation in cats can be dangerous if it goes for on for several days, but your cats are probably freaked out. Maybe they'll poop during the night when it's quieter. If it continues to be a problem, then I'd take them to your vet. Hope that helps a bit.
 
Hi, I'm no expert, so I'll just share my experience. I know my cat would be scared with so much going on.

My Snickers recently went 4 to 5 days without pooping, and she started straining in the litter box. I tried 1/8 to 1/4 Miralax twice per day, mixed in with food. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin to her food, which is supposed to help. And I added water to her food as well. It helped but not enough.

I finally brought her to the vet, and she was ok, but backed up from her constipation. She received fluids and an enema, which she did not like at all, but she seems much better now.

Constipation in cats can be dangerous if it goes for on for several days, but your cats are probably freaked out. Maybe they'll poop during the night when it's quieter. If it continues to be a problem, then I'd take them to your vet. Hope that helps a bit.
Thank you for your suggestions and yes that is what I have been given them, Miralax, also known as Pirilax I tried the Organic Pumkin pure and it constipated them more. They both ate really good tonight the workers leave at 4:00pm The feed at 6:00PM and dose, like you say hopefully they will both go tonight, thank you so much for your input, I am hoping this will help because I have no funds for a Vet, maybe I am just panicking a bit, I have nothing to do but take care of them, they are my whole world, I have no family, so they are.:bighug: May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day with your loved ones.
 
Thank you for your suggestions and yes that is what I have been given them, Miralax, also known as Pirilax I tried the Organic Pumkin pure and it constipated them more.
I'm sorry the pumpkin didn't work for you, and I know how important our kitty kats are to us.

Do you give your cats wet food? Maybe u can try mixing water with it and stirring it together. If they will drink more water that can help constipation.

If you give any dry food, mix water with that too. That might sound weird, but my niece mixes water with her cats' dry food, let's it sit for a few minutes, and then it gets mushy. But her cats love it, plus they get water with it.

I don't give dry food, but I do use those freeze dried treats. I grind the treats up between my fingers or with a coffee grinder (only used for this purpose, we have another grinder for our coffee), so that it makes a kind of powder. Then I mix the powder with water so that it's a really soupy treat. My cat loves it.

Some people use probiotics to help constipation, but I don't have any specific experience with that aside from some probiotics I used on previous cats to help with diarrhea. If you search probiotics on this forum you can probably find some recommendations.

Try not to panic just yet. As long as your cats are acting relatively ok then it's most likely due to the noise and will probably pass. Just hang in there!
 
I'm sorry the pumpkin didn't work for you, and I know how important our kitty kats are to us.

Do you give your cats wet food? Maybe u can try mixing water with it and stirring it together. If they will drink more water that can help constipation.

If you give any dry food, mix water with that too. That might sound weird, but my niece mixes water with her cats' dry food, let's it sit for a few minutes, and then it gets mushy. But her cats love it, plus they get water with it.

I don't give dry food, but I do use those freeze dried treats. I grind the treats up between my fingers or with a coffee grinder (only used for this purpose, we have another grinder for our coffee), so that it makes a kind of powder. Then I mix the powder with water so that it's a really soupy treat. My cat loves it.

Some people use probiotics to help constipation, but I don't have any specific experience with that aside from some probiotics I used on previous cats to help with diarrhea. If you search probiotics on this forum you can probably find some recommendations.

Try not to panic just yet. As long as your cats are acting relatively ok then it's most likely due to the noise and will probably pass. Just hang in there!

Yes my babies eat Fancy Feast, mostly the flake and classic pate, I have tries other flavors and ended up having to return them they are drinking much water though they do urinate ok, thanks for your advise, I am going to try the pumpkin again, they really like the taste, maybe with these flavors it will work, Ill put the Miralax for about 5 days and see if I get results, Have a great weekend
 
Yes my babies eat Fancy Feast, mostly the flake and classic pate, I have tries other flavors and ended up having to return them they are drinking much water though they do urinate ok, thanks for your advise, I am going to try the pumpkin again, they really like the taste, maybe with these flavors it will work, Ill put the Miralax for about 5 days and see if I get results, Have a great weekend

Finally, todays thy both pooped I put water in their food and WALLA!! thanks:bighug:
 
I'm not sure what you mean by his being "unstable" -- overall, his numbers are lower than they were a week or two ago. I definitely don't know what you mean by a "prolonged curve."
 
I have a question I there such thing as a prolonged curve? Since I increased Corky's dose he's BG has been very very unstable.
I've never heard the term "prolonged curve." Do you mean just doing a curve that goes on for longer than 12 hours? Traditional curves, like the kind vets like, are about 12 hours. It looks like you're testing plenty already though. Just keep doing what you're doing with regard to testing.

By "unstable," are you referring to the 300s that show up in the hot pink color, versus the 200s and 100s of blues and yellows? I am not as experienced on this subject as others, but I think it's pretty common for cats to have fluctuating blood sugar numbers when still getting regulated. If that's your concern, I think you should just keep doing what you're doing for now. Since increasing to 1 unit, you have way less pink and red numbers and way more blues and yellows. That's a good thing!

If I could take a guess, I'll bet you're like me and just anxious to see all dark green numbers that are in the normal range. I'm not a patient person, and so I understand if that's the case. But every cat is different. Some cats get better faster, and others take a little while longer. You're following SLGS right? So just try to be patient and follow the protocol. I think you're already seeing some successes and should feel good about everything. Don't make yourself more worried than you need to be. Like Sienne and Gabby said, Corky's numbers are lower than they were a week or two ago. So that means you're doing the right thing. Just keep at it :)
 
I've never heard the term "prolonged curve." Do you mean just doing a curve that goes on for longer than 12 hours? Traditional curves, like the kind vets like, are about 12 hours. It looks like you're testing plenty already though. Just keep doing what you're doing with regard to testing.

By "unstable," are you referring to the 300s that show up in the hot pink color, versus the 200s and 100s of blues and yellows? I am not as experienced on this subject as others, but I think it's pretty common for cats to have fluctuating blood sugar numbers when still getting regulated. If that's your concern, I think you should just keep doing what you're doing for now. Since increasing to 1 unit, you have way less pink and red numbers and way more blues and yellows. That's a good thing!

If I could take a guess, I'll bet you're like me and just anxious to see all dark green numbers that are in the normal range. I'm not a patient person, and so I understand if that's the case. But every cat is different. Some cats get better faster, and others take a little while longer. You're following SLGS right? So just try to be patient and follow the protocol. I think you're already seeing some successes and should feel good about everything. Don't make yourself more worried than you need to be. Like Sienne and Gabby said, Corky's numbers are lower than they were a week or two ago. So that means you're doing the right thing. Just keep at it :)
Thanks, actually Corky has never been on light green and maybe a few in the dark green, I was mistaking when I thought being in the yellow numbers was great, I was mistaken, that was what the Vet had said that Corky as a diabetic should be in the range between 200-300, figure that, and yes a bit anxious since I've been used to see all yellows, thanks for your advise.
Have a blessed Thanksgiving Day :bighug:
 
Thanks, actually Corky has never been on light green and maybe a few in the dark green, I was mistaking when I thought being in the yellow numbers was great, I was mistaken, that was what the Vet had said that Corky as a diabetic should be in the range between 200-300, figure that, and yes a bit anxious since I've been used to see all yellows, thanks for your advise.
Have a blessed Thanksgiving Day :bighug:
Oh I see, I think. Maybe your vet meant for the 200-300 range to be a starting point. Seems like Corky is doing better than that now, which is great! You also have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day :)
 
Thanks, actually Corky has never been on light green and maybe a few in the dark green.
Just to make sure there's no confusion, dark green numbers are fantastic but the light green numbers mean danger! If you get a light green number it means your cat's blood sugar is dropping too low and they risk going into hypo. Sorry if you already know that, just wanted to make sure I was clear. :)
 
Thanks, actually Corky has never been on light green and maybe a few in the dark green, I was mistaking when I thought being in the yellow numbers was great, I was mistaken, that was what the Vet had said that Corky as a diabetic should be in the range between 200-300, figure that, and yes a bit anxious since I've been used to see all yellows, thanks for your advise.
Have a blessed Thanksgiving Day :bighug:

I am back asking probably the same questions, Corky has fallen back to the 200 range Are we going backwards? I thought once as reducing the doses we would not have to go back to increases, since July of diagnosed, I thought by now there would be a stability on his BG's, (nadirs) The reason why I asked about prolonged curve, is because usually after 1 week of dose change I've seen more stable numbers, Could you please review his spreadsheet, and advise, I am always confused about this subject
 
I am back asking probably the same questions, Corky has fallen back to the 200 range Are we going backwards? I thought once as reducing the doses we would not have to go back to increases, since July of diagnosed, I thought by now there would be a stability on his BG's, (nadirs) The reason why I asked about prolonged curve, is because usually after 1 week of dose change I've seen more stable numbers, Could you please review his spreadsheet, and advise, I am always confused about this subject
Hi, I'd like to help but I would not consider myself an experienced member on this subject, especially since my cat uses Lantus and not Prozinc. I don't want to give you wrong information. That being said, I don't think you're going backwards in anyway. A cat's numbers can fluctuate. July isn't really that long ago. Some cats respond quickly to treatment, and some take several months or longer. To me, it looks like your numbers are doing better now than they were a few months ago.

One thing though, I think that perhaps there is some confusion on the definition of a "prolonged curve," so let me try to clear this up. A "glucose curve" is more like a tool that vets and us pet parents use to determine how well a dose of insulin is working. You start by taking your cat's AMPS (morning pre-shot) and continue taking their blood glucose measurements every 2 hours, for the next 12 hours, until their PMPS (evening pre-shot). That's a curve.

So let's say, as an example, that you check your cat's blood sugar at 6:00 am, and then give the injection of insulin. You will then check your cat's blood sugar at 8:00 am, 10:00 am, 12:00 pm, 2:00 pm, 4:00 pm, and 6:00 pm. Do you see how it's getting checked every two hours? That's a glucose curve.

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think there is such a thing as a "prolonged curve." If there is, then I would like to know what it is. I think, perhaps, you may mean something else when you're using the term "curve," or am I mistaken?

I am tagging three members for you who are very smart on these matters. :) Maybe they can help guide you better.

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko

I hope it's okay that I am tagging you three. You are the names currently sticking out to me, from my reading through the message board. I know you have a lot of experience with everything. I've never actually tagged anyone before. Usually I just lurk around. So I hope I'm doing this right.
 
Corky has fallen back to the 200 range Are we going backwards?
It's just one cycle. If you're comfortable with the mid to low blue nadirs over the last week you'll need to wait a couple more cycles to see if he's really sneaking up on you.

The other thing we could look at for today's cycle - Meters are allowed to have +/- 20% variation. The 20% variance applies to tests taken with a single meter. A lot of times it’s not anything to really think about but when you are wondering about the BG it’s something to consider. That 225 could be a 180. And 213 & 218 could be in the 170's.
 
@Snickers and Chrissy - tagging us is fine. Good description of a curve. The only thing I would add is that some members opt for an 18 hour curve where you test every 3 hours. It's rarely done although with monitors like the Libre, it's much easier to do.

Maria -
Insulin is hormone. A cat's needs for insulin can vary. A dose that was good last week may be too high or too low this week. It's why we encourage testing. If nothing changed, you could keep the same dose forever. While a cat that is tightly regulated may need only minor changes in the dose, some cats go into remission. In other words, you have to test and you have to adjust the dose based on what the data tell you.

I suspect you are not going back to refer to the information on Prozinc dosing. The information states:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Corky's nadirs have mostly been over 150. He's been at this dose for 14 days. Based on the above information, you needed to assess the effectiveness of the dose a week ago and make a change.
 
You're doing a fantastic job of testing Corky. I'm very impressed. If you would like to try to get his numbers into an even better, more normal range, you should consider an increase to 1.25 units and hold that dose for one week (14 cycles) unless he drops below 90. 90 is a good safe number, but the goal of the SLGS is to keep the cat within 90 and 150 as much as possible. People who follow MPM have a goal of keeping their cats between 50 and 120 (also safe numbers). Normal glucose numbers for a cat can be from about 50 and 120 (max.) So I don't understand your vet's instructions to keep Corky between 200 and 300 ? Those numbers are numbers that are way higher than the normal range for a cat and are harmful to Corky's health. You have, fortunately, been seeing some blue nadirs, but I think you can do a little better with an increase and with your excellent level of testing. Do you feed him snacks in the early portion of the cycle (prior to his typical nadir?) By snacks I mean small portions of LC wet food. I realize that lately he hasn't been eating much because of all the construction. When is that nightmare going to end? It sounds very stressful for all of you.
 
Last edited:
You're doing a fantastic job of testing Corky. I'm very impressed. If you would like to try to get his numbers into an even better, more normal range, you should consider an increase to 1.25 units and hold that dose for one week (14 cycles) unless he drops below 90. 90 is a good safe number, but the goal of the SLGS is to keep the cat within 90 and 150 as much as possible. People who follow MPM have a goal of keeping their cats between 50 and 120 (also safe numbers). Normal glucose numbers for a cat can be from about 50 and 120 (max.) So I don't understand your vet's instructions to keep Corky between 200 and 300 ? Those numbers are numbers that are way higher than the normal range for a cat and are harmful to Corky's health. You have, fortunately, been seeing some blue nadirs, but I think you can do a little better with an increase and with your excellent level of testing. Do you feed him snacks in the early portion of the cycle (prior to his typical nadir?) By snacks I mean small portions of LC wet food. I realize that lately he hasn't been eating much because of all the construction. When is that nightmare going to end? It sounds very stressful for all of you.

Yes, I constantly read the Prozinc dosing methods, but I am always doubtful as weather I am doing the right thing, also, yes I do feed two small meals in between dosing I got both kitties on the same schedule and I guess I am proud of my spreadsheet consistency, is important for me and for all of you that when I ask for advise you have all the numbers available to be able to make a good decision for my Corky, like this morning his BG was 299 and rapidly lowered to 216 it's scares me, that a lot of times this rapid change happens and at 10:00pm and like this morning I have a DRs appt and I'm afraid that his BG will decrease a lot while I am not home, I barely go anywhere anymore unless need to, If I increase to 1.25 I get chills just typing it, because when hi BG starts to go down is a very drastic fall. What do you think? Should I still increase?
and thank you for your complement, is always very welcomed, and the noise, it will be a long while before this is over, renovation on the exterior of the building including changing windows to shattered proof, and exterior design, it's madness, my windows are gone I have plywood in the openings is dark and just a horrible experience, that will cost me starting next year another assessment, of $455.00 monthly, insane totally, every day is a different noise for us starting 7:30AM nonstop Craaazy!
 
Last edited:
Yes, I constantly read the Prozinc dosing methods, but I am always doubtful as weather I am doing the right thing, also, yes I do feed two small meals in between dosing I got both kitties on the same schedule and I guess I am proud of my spreadsheet consistency, is important for me and for all of you that when I ask for advise you have all the numbers available to be able to make a good decision for my Corky, like this morning his BG was 299 and rapidly lowered to 216 it's scares me, that a lot of times this rapid change happens and at 10:00pm and like this morning I have a DRs appt and I'm afraid that his BG will decrease a lot while I am not home, I barely go anywhere anymore unless need to, If I increase to 1.25 I get chills just typing it, because when hi BG starts to go down is a very drastic fall. What do you think? Should I still increase?
and thank you for your complement, is always very welcomed, and the noise, it will be a long while before this is over, renovation on the exterior of the building including changing windows to shattered proof, and exterior design, it's madness, my windows are gone I have plywood in the openings is dark and just a horrible experience, that will cost me starting next year another assessment, of $455.00 monthly, insane totally, every day is a different noise for us starting 7:30AM nonstop Craaazy!
I totally understand feeling doubtful and scared, but you're doing a great job. Your spreadsheet is fantastic and makes it really easy to see what's happening with Corky, and helps the experienced members offer dosing advice. So just a really great job all around!

Keep in mind that the initial numbers your vet gave you, of wanting to keep Corky between 200-300, are extremely high. 200 isn't terrible, but 300 is very high. Do you know about renal threshold? I might explain this badly, but renal threshold is basically the highest blood glucose number your cat can have before it starts to negatively impact their kidneys and other organs in their body. I think that for most cats the renal threshold is between 220 to 250. In other words, it's best to keep Corky under these numbers for as much of the day as possible. It looks like Corky is trending in that direction, so that's excellent! But there is still room for improvement.

Think of it like this: numbers under 50 are the bad, scary numbers. Anything between 50-99 is the absolute best. Between 100-200 is still really good but can possibly be improved. 200-299 is high and can potentially cause internal damage. So when Corky goes from 299 to 216, that's not a bad thing. It's a good thing! It means Corky is getting into safer numbers, not scary numbers. I know you're concerned about Corky going too low, and it's awesome that you're so vigilant about it. Because you are so vigilant, it means you'll know quickly if something goes wrong.

My cat, Snickers, is on Lantus, not Prozinc, but I'll share my own experience in case it helps. I started out giving Snickers .25 units then went up to .5 then .75 and now I'm at 1 unit. This morning her BG was 80, and I still gave her 1 unit. I just checked her two hours later, and she is at 79. Sometimes her drop is slightly steeper, sometimes not. Because I have the spreadsheet, I know that Snickers handles her insulin well and was comfortable shooting her even when her BG was 80. Now I'm NOT saying you should do that, I'm only trying to demonstrate that it can be perfectly safe to shoot 1 unit or more of insulin, and that a drop from 299 to 216 isn't dangerous.

I'm not experienced enough to offer dosing advice, but I know you said you have a doctor's appointment this morning and need to leave the house. So if you're very, very uncomfortable giving the insulin then maybe just give her your normal dose for now, or even a slightly reduced one. And then you can increase to 1.25 units later tonight, or even tomorrow, when you'll be home to monitor. You can also leave out food for Corky.

That's terrible about all the construction! And the added cost! Yikes!! I bet eventually you and Corky will get so used to it that you tune it out and don't even notice anymore, haha. :)
 
You're doing a fantastic job of testing Corky. I'm very impressed. If you would like to try to get his numbers into an even better, more normal range, you should consider an increase to 1.25 units and hold that dose for one week (14 cycles) unless he drops below 90. 90 is a good safe number, but the goal of the SLGS is to keep the cat within 90 and 150 as much as possible. People who follow MPM have a goal of keeping their cats between 50 and 120 (also safe numbers). Normal glucose numbers for a cat can be from about 50 and 120 (max.) So I don't understand your vet's instructions to keep Corky between 200 and 300 ? Those numbers are numbers that are way higher than the normal range for a cat and are harmful to Corky's health. You have, fortunately, been seeing some blue nadirs, but I think you can do a little better with an increase and with your excellent level of testing. Do you feed him snacks in the early portion of the cycle (prior to his typical nadir?) By snacks I mean small portions of LC wet food. I realize that lately he hasn't been eating much because of all the construction. When is that nightmare going to end? It sounds very stressful for all of you.

I have the the syringe diagrams for most of all the doses, however I do not have on for 1.25, I will dose Corky at 6:00PM with the increase could you send me a diagram of the syringe ? I believe you know which are the types of syringes I have, the one that reads 5-10 etc, the one with the 1/2 units, thanks highly apreciated
 
Yes, I constantly read the Prozinc dosing methods, but I am always doubtful as weather I am doing the right thing, also, yes I do feed two small meals in between dosing I got both kitties on the same schedule and I guess I am proud of my spreadsheet consistency, is important for me and for all of you that when I ask for advise you have all the numbers available to be able to make a good decision for my Corky, like this morning his BG was 299 and rapidly lowered to 216 it's scares me, that a lot of times this rapid change happens and at 10:00pm and like this morning I have a DRs appt and I'm afraid that his BG will decrease a lot while I am not home, I barely go anywhere anymore unless need to, If I increase to 1.25 I get chills just typing it, because when hi BG starts to go down is a very drastic fall. What do you think? Should I still increase?
and thank you for your complement, is always very welcomed, and the noise, it will be a long while before this is over, renovation on the exterior of the building including changing windows to shattered proof, and exterior design, it's madness, my windows are gone I have plywood in the openings is dark and just a horrible experience, that will cost me starting next year another assessment, of $455.00 monthly, insane totally, every day is a different noise for us starting 7:30AM nonstop Craaazy!
I don’t see any scary numbers on Corky’s spreadsheet. They’re all very very safe, but he could be gotten into better, healthier BG numbers. Can you tell me the date and hours recently that has you really concerned? 299 to 216 is only a drop of 83. It’s not bad. I don’t like to see a cat drop more than 100 points in a single hour, but that is because it can trigger a bounce where the BG will go high and possibly will stay high for up to 6 cycles. We will only be concerned if he drops below 50, but we will not freak out if he is between 50 and 90 — but we would reduce his dose if he does drop below 90 and the reason for doing this would be to try to keep him in the SLGS target BG of between 90 and 150. Let’s say he had a 69 BG, for example. That would not be a dangerous BG at all, in and of itself. You would just need to monitor closely to make sure he didn’t drop below 50 and many times just feeding a small amount of LC wet food will stabilize the BG. So try not to be afraid of letting Corky get down into more normal BG numbers. He will be better off for it. If you are testing him and you are prepared to handle any low numbers below 50 and you have a hypo kit with HC foods and Karo Syrup, then you are in control. I do remember what the feeling was when my cat first (finally) had a green number. I was frightened. Later, I became addicted to keeping him in green as much as possible. I wanted him between 50 and 99 all the time.
 
I have the the syringe diagrams for most of all the doses, however I do not have on for 1.25, I will dose Corky at 6:00PM with the increase could you send me a diagram of the syringe ? I believe you know which are the types of syringes I have, the one that reads 5-10 etc, the one with the 1/2 units, thanks highly apreciated
You have U-40 syringes with half unit markings? So do draw a 1.25 unit dose, you place the plunger between the 1 unit line and the 1.5 unit line. You have to eyeball it.
 
This photo show the plunger drawn to the 1.5 unit mark (which is not Corky’s new dose.)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-20_16-31-52.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-20_16-31-52.jpeg
    23.2 KB · Views: 125
So the whole unit markings are the lines on the right and the half unit markings are the ones on the left. I’m sure you already know that.
 
This photo show the plunger drawn to the 1.5 unit mark (which is not Corky’s new dose.)
thank you, now I only have 2 1/2 pkg of these, however I have a ton of the syringes that go from 1-2-3-4-5-do you have a diagram for that one just in case I need to continue the 1.25 dosing? sorry to bother you so, if you can send me the measurement for it will be great!
I am going to be really honest, I get so paranoid when I have to increase Corky's dose, because since he has such a rapid low number change on Bg, I probably won't sleep tonight checking every 2 hours if not more until I feel comfortable placing my head on the pillow, I just pulled out the insulin and my hands are shaking Wow, Corky is fine, I'm the one that's an emotional reck, I mean his BGs decrease after +3 and +10 the +10 are my worries
 
Last edited:
thank you, now I only have 2 1/2 pkg of these, however I have a ton of the syringes that go from 1-2-3-4-5-do you have a diagram for that one just in case I need to continue the 1.25 dosing? sorry to bother you so, if you can send me the measurement for both it will be great!
Can you send a picture of your syringes?
 
Maria - look at the pics I posted before - you measure the same way but now you're going between the 1 and the 2 marks instead of the 0 and the 1 mark. Does that make sense?

I have to get to my desktop to post the pics again.
 
If you copy the photo, you can simply touch the screen here and paste the photo into your message.
I get a message that I do not have permission upload a file, my email is [email addressed deleted - Sienne] I can email the photos to you if you wish, or I can describe each package to you and amount I have

1) Advocate PetTest - .55cc 31g / 5/16" needdle (have 3 bags)
2) U-40 Insulin Syringe - 2/10cc / 29g / 12.7mm (have 7 bags )
3) Sure Comfort- Insulin Syringes - 1cc (O1ml) 1/2" length - 30g ( have a full box)

I got everything on each bag hope this can help, and off course , about 3 bags of the diagram you send me, hope this can help
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I get a message that I do not have permission upload a file, my email is <removed for safety>, I can email the photos to you if you wish, or I can describe each package to you and amount I have

1) Advocate PetTest - .55cc 31g / 5/16" needdle (have 3 bags)
2) U-40 Insulin Syringe - 2/10cc / 29g / 12.7mm (have 7 bags )
3) Sure Comfort- Insulin Syringes - 1cc (O1ml) 1/2" length - 30g ( have a full box)

I got everything on each bag hope this can help, and off course , about 3 bags of the diagram you send me, hope this can help
OMG! the first diagram you send me showed to fill up to the 3rd small line which now I see that's 1.5 which is what I dosed, and yes I have 3 pkgs of these, so now what that I messed up the dose
Wnhat have I done??? :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Based on Shelly’s picture, how much did you shoot? The 1.5 line? For 1.25 you must place the plunger between the 1 and the 1.5 line. It’s just a tiny bit past the 1 line because there’s not much space there between the marks.
 
OMG! the first diagram you send me showed to fill up to the 3rd small line which now I see that's 1.5 which is what I dosed, and yes I have 3 pkgs of these, so now what that I messed up the dose
Wnhat have I done??? :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
I am freaking out!!!
 
right on the third small line! I am shaking, my stomach is doing summersaults, I had to take a blood pressure medication I have ice behind my neck, right now I'm in shambles for what I did, this means that by 10PM his nadir will probably be below 90, should I give him his last small meal as carbs if this happens??? see I was just going to dose him when i got the first diagram, so I went by that instead of waiting for complete report, this is bad! do I go back to the 1.25 at the 6:AM? I hate dose changing it totally unhinges, me totally, the plunger was right on the 1.5
I'm hopeless!
 
Okay. Please try to stay calm. You are in control with testing his BG and intervening with food and HC options (but only if necessary!) you will just need to test frequently. You can handle this yourself. I can check back with you in an hour. Then you can tell me where Corky’s BG is at that time. I doubt if it will have moved much, but it will be good to see. Okay?
 
right on the third small line! I am shaking, my stomach is doing summersaults, I had to take a blood pressure medication I have ice behind my neck, right now I'm in shambles for what I did, this means that by 10PM his nadir will probably be below 90, should I give him his last small meal as carbs if this happens??? see I was just going to dose him when i got the first diagram, so I went by that instead of waiting for complete report, this is bad! do I go back to the 1.25 at the 6:AM? I hate dose changing it totally unhinges, me totally
First we need to see what happens tonight. It’s going to be okay. Going below 90 will not hurt him. We do not want him to go below 50 and I am confident we can keep him above 50. Please test him in an hour and report back. Also, feed him small amounts of food each hour. Give him LC at +1 and test. Report the number here.
 
Okay. Please try to stay calm. You are in control with testing his BG and intervening with food and HC options (but only if necessary!) you will just need to test frequently. You can handle this yourself. I can check back with you in an hour. Then you can tell me where Corky’s BG is at that time. I doubt if it will have moved much, but it will be good to see. Okay?
ok I can't stop crying I am really upset for this mistake I was afraid I was going to make some day
I will test at 8:00PM so I will contact you again, please with me for a few because it might be a "Sleepless in Miami" for me but I am not going anywhere tomorrow, so its good, should I go to the right dose tomorrow for 6:00AM of 1.25????
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top