Obie amps 225 pmps 56 after a shot reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
I'm skipping his shot again tonight.
I feel he may be showing a bit of progress. Remission might just be in my boys future :smile:
 
Take a look at Webster's 11/30 condo today. Mike is skipping Webster's shot tonight for the same reason and Wendy & I have been talking to him about the pros of learning to shoot normal numbers. Hopefully there will be something of help to you in there too.

You want to wrap your head around shooting normal numbers to keep his progress going. When you do, always get a +1 and +2 to see where he's headed.
 
He was at 129 this morning after skipping his evening shot.
I gave him a .50 shot instead of the full 1.00 shot since he really didn't bounce much and I can't be home to check him for another 8 hours.
I'm ok with shooting low on average and 129 is low in the AM for him but not low in general, and a week ago I would have given him his full shot without blinking, but he is doing weird yet positive things lately and I am curious what his numbers are going to be later.
 
It's okay to shoot a BCS (a one time reduced) dose, when you are unsure and won't be home to monitor. Depending upon his numbers and as long as he isn't real low at PMPS, I would go right back to his regular dose of 1.00, if you'll be home to monitor.
 
At +9 and he is at 50 on Human Meter. If he is below 100 at +12 I am going to skip again.
It tomorrow he is close to what he is today, I might lower his dose again(Or skip it if he is below 100).
Could this be the starting of remission?
 
Obie is looking really good. Hopefully he'll "agree" to a dose that can be shot both morning and evening, since consistency and giving the pancreas as much support as possible with insulin is the best for gaining tight regulation and hopefully eventually remission. Are you able to grab some evening tests to help fill in the data gaps? Even if you don't shoot tonight, it would be interesting to see what Obie does about 3 or so hours after he eats.
 
holy hell! His pmps was 59 !
I skipped his shot again.
This boy has spent so much time in the Pink and Red that this is hard getting used to or understanding.
Maybe his liver is finally understanding that it's ok be in the green.
:)
 
hi james,

when he was 37 a few days ago, did he show any signs of a symptomatic hypo?

what's Obie acting like? is he eating, feeling frisky or lethargic?

by the way, it would be helpful to have the subject line updated with current info - so it would read
12/1 Obie amps 129 pmbg 59 skipped shot
 
He didn't show any signs of hypo.
He is acting loving and curious and normal. He is eating like he always had.
I will start a new one tomorrow.
 
I'm not sure what to think about his blood sugar in the past few days. The reason I asked about a symptomatic hypo is because there are cases where that has kicked the pancreas back on and a cat has gone OTJ afterwards.

I was asking about his behavior because a cat that is ill can sometimes have a significant change in blood sugar too, but if he's acting fine, that's obviously not the case.

For the moment, i guess we all just enjoy how well he's doing with his blood sugar! so congratulations! it's great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top