O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.5 12

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Great job Simone :-D :-D It is scary and exciting ~ and you learn a little more each time they go lower than your own "normal."
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Thank you for your help, he is now 434. He looks so much better when he is in the red, What shall I give him tonight?
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

He didnt officially drop low enough for a 1/4 unit decrease but the experienced dosing people like Sienne and Dyana may recommend one. Please come back and check here to give them a chance to respond.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

509 45 minutes before pm shot is due
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Probably because of the chicken with gravy I gave him. Should I have tried maple syrup then tried to get him to eat regular food, What do I do next time he gets low, I am getting the impression I should try to wait it out a bit?
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Fed him cooked chicken tonight he is a very happy cat :)
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Ok I am going to PM some people. Worst case if it was my cat I'd be reducing by 1/4unit to 0.5units. But I will try and find some more experienced dosing people.

You did good but next time maybe a little less high carb - like 1-2 teaspoons - but every 30minutes as long as he is under 60. All the same I would come on here and get someone to help you through it.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

For an immediate answer as it is almost shot time, I think. You can shoot through the bounce tonight.
That means shoot your regular dose of 0.75, tonight.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Ok Thank you so .75 +1.75 He is 589 but probably becaus eof the carbs I gave him. What do you think if next time he goes low I give the syrup and regular food or maybe one tablespoon high carb food?
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

This is what I usually do, but every cat is different and you are in the process of learning how Simke reacts to the different carb percentages.

When J.D. goes into the 60s, I feed him some Low Carb food and test again in 30 minutes.
When J.D. goes into the 50s, I might feed him some Medium Carb food (some low carb mixed with some high carb) to try to bump him up into the 60s. And I would test again in 30 minutes.
When J.D. goes into the 40s, I might give him some high carb food and test again in 30 minutes.
When J.D. goes into the 30s, I definitely give him some high carb food and test in 15 minutes.

It also depends on how fast Simke is dropping or not, and if it is early in the cycle or later in the cycle. If it is early in the cycle, then I would be more inclined to feed the higher carb food as the insulin is still getting stronger at that point. If it is later in the cycle and Simke is staying basically the same numbers, then some Medium Carb food might be just fine.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

I would stick with the current dose as long as Simone is going to be around to monitor and has plenty of supplies, since he did not go below 50. I have asked for others opinions and hopefully someone will weigh in later tonight.
Simone, please check this condo from today for additional posts, before shooting tomorrow morning.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

Is medium just some high mixed with his regular food? Or I look up the food carbs for different food? Suggestions for tomorrow's am shot
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

MC is food that's in the above 10% to 15% range. If you mix HC + LC you get MC.

If it were me, I'd be sticking with the 0.75u in the AM barring any wild plummeting tonight. Simke didn't drop below 50 today. See what some of the others have to say.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

I use the Fancy Feast Medleys as medium carb, but you can just mix high carb with low carb, like Sienne said.
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

+4 360 I think it is ok to go to bed for the night?
 
Re: O5/08 ams 245 +2 137, +2.5 95 + 3 58, +3.5 59 +4 70 +4.

He just ate half a can of food :). Should I try to put him on feeding schedule, have been offering him food every two to four hours . Sometimes he is hungry sometimes he isn't offer it more if he doesn't eat but often 6.30 , 9, 11, 1, 4, 8, 10
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top