Re: Simke is 245 this morning should I give him insulin
Simone:
We use a peculiar way of expressing time here and it can take some getting used to. If you look across the top of Simke's SS, the hours are expressed in relation to when you've given a shot. Your shot is your AMPS or PMPS. All other times are expressed as the numbers of hours since you gave a shot. Thus, a +1 is one hour after you shot, a +6 is six hours after you shot, etc. We do this because we are all in different time zones so there's less chance of confusion and errors if we use a common way of referencing time.
Whenever you shoot a number that's lower than where you've previously shot, we suggest getting early tests -- a +1 and a +2. You should always have a good supply of strips and high carb/gravy-based food should you need them.
When you have a chance, can you edit the subject line of this thread so it reads: 5/8 Simke AMPS-245
Just an observation... Last night you didn't get any tests due to the high PMPS. Given that Simke's in a much better range this morning, it would have bee very informative if you had gotten a "before bed" test. I'd like to encourage you to always get, at the very least, a test before you turn in for the night.