Noodle AMPS 348 is this from doubling his dose? Need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Yesterday Noodle's AMPS was 288 but with small ketones. He had been on .5U Lantus but due to the ketones I raised him last night to 1U. This morning's AMPS was 60 points higher. Is this kind of jump to be expected after a dose raise like this? His ketones were slightly smaller on the test stick but am still trying to get several urine samples a day when I'm home. Thanks for any thoughts on the big BG rise. So upset that my boy is back in the 300s after showing a couple of high 200s :sad:

Christi
 
Re: Noodle AMPS 348 is this from doubling his dose? Need adv

Its pretty standard when you change dose to have a couple of days of higher numbers we affectionately call it NDW New Dose Wonkiness. If he gets any higher on the ketones or they stay small for more than a couple days you need to get him back to the vet.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Noodle AMPS 348 is this from doubling his dose? Need adv

hi Noodle
come on let's meet down by the pool. we both need to see some blue :) hoping i will see you down there soon. we both need to swim around in the blue together. Take care Noodle.
your friend Tibbs drinking11
 
Re: Noodle AMPS 348 is this from doubling his dose? Need adv

Hello my good friend Tibbs,
Sounds like a good idea to me--getting down into the blue. I'm about to drive my mom crazy with all my pinks. She says blue is much more desirable for us anyway, not the pinks we've been in. She says your mom is much calmer and patient and helps my mom not to go so nuts. I've never been in the blue yet but I see you have. I can't wait to find out what it's like. Hope to see you there soon.

Love, Noodle :cool:
 
Re: Noodle AMPS 348 is this from doubling his dose? Need adv

Thanks, Mel. I wondered if it might be something like you said and I have, mistakenly, been bouncing Noodle around too much with the frequent dose changes :sad: . I checked in with my vet again and he said to monitor Noodle, which I'm doing once or more a day. He doesn't seem too concerned with the small ketones but it has me worried sick. If they don't clear in another day or two, I'm going to get yet another opinion. Fortunately, Noodle is acting great, eating and drinking well but I'd still feel better if he is checked. Hopefully the increased insulin will do its job soon. Thanks so much for your help.

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top