SkoomasMom
Member Since 2020
Skooma was at 2.5 units of Lantus 2x a day for so long that we didn't do curves as much.
One day he just seemed 'off' and I took his bg at about +6 and it was 421. So off to the vet he went for a fructosamine test and urinalysis.
The vet says he is running high has been for a while according to the fructosimine. And she increased his dosing to 3 units andasked us do a curve in the am. (Since he is/was a feral cat home testing ( especially curves) is not as easy as we'd like)
Well that night we increased to 3 units and the next morning I started a curve and saw him at 130 BG so I didnt shoot. Ive been trying to get his BG before each shot and its all over the place for the past two weeks. He's about at the end of his limit with me poking his ear twice a day and the vet is MIA for help.
Is there a dosing pattern I can follow so we only have to do this once a week? What is going on with his preshot numbers?
Thank you in advance. I wish I could do more tightly controlled curves, but this is nearly impossible with a feral and I just don't kmow what to do anymore.
Side note: If you have the DCIN calendar you'll see Skooma on this month.
One day he just seemed 'off' and I took his bg at about +6 and it was 421. So off to the vet he went for a fructosamine test and urinalysis.
The vet says he is running high has been for a while according to the fructosimine. And she increased his dosing to 3 units andasked us do a curve in the am. (Since he is/was a feral cat home testing ( especially curves) is not as easy as we'd like)
Well that night we increased to 3 units and the next morning I started a curve and saw him at 130 BG so I didnt shoot. Ive been trying to get his BG before each shot and its all over the place for the past two weeks. He's about at the end of his limit with me poking his ear twice a day and the vet is MIA for help.
Is there a dosing pattern I can follow so we only have to do this once a week? What is going on with his preshot numbers?
Thank you in advance. I wish I could do more tightly controlled curves, but this is nearly impossible with a feral and I just don't kmow what to do anymore.
Side note: If you have the DCIN calendar you'll see Skooma on this month.
Last edited: