Non emergency- Need help with long term dosing

SkoomasMom

Member Since 2020
Skooma was at 2.5 units of Lantus 2x a day for so long that we didn't do curves as much.
One day he just seemed 'off' and I took his bg at about +6 and it was 421. So off to the vet he went for a fructosamine test and urinalysis.
The vet says he is running high has been for a while according to the fructosimine. And she increased his dosing to 3 units andasked us do a curve in the am. (Since he is/was a feral cat home testing ( especially curves) is not as easy as we'd like)
Well that night we increased to 3 units and the next morning I started a curve and saw him at 130 BG so I didnt shoot. Ive been trying to get his BG before each shot and its all over the place for the past two weeks. He's about at the end of his limit with me poking his ear twice a day and the vet is MIA for help.
Is there a dosing pattern I can follow so we only have to do this once a week? What is going on with his preshot numbers?

Thank you in advance. I wish I could do more tightly controlled curves, but this is nearly impossible with a feral and I just don't kmow what to do anymore.
Side note: If you have the DCIN calendar you'll see Skooma on this month.
 
Last edited:
Sorry but daily testing is the only way to make sure they stay safe. There is a meter that is implanted, the Freestyle Libre, but it lasts just two weeks and I think is costly. When numbers are all over the place there’s a good chance they are getting too low and then bouncing or just not getting enough juice. Lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes the cat so some mid cycle tests are necessary. Preshots let you know if it’s safe to shoot.
 
Sorry but daily testing is the only way to make sure they stay safe. There is a meter that is implanted, the Freestyle Libre, but it lasts just two weeks and I think is costly. When numbers are all over the place there’s a good chance they are getting g too low and then bouncing or just not getting enough juice.
I've been looking at the Libre route. Do you know how well it would stay on a cat who likes to play wrestle with his friend?
 
I've been looking at the Libre route. Do you know how well it would stay on a cat who likes to play wrestle with his friend?

Sorry but I don’t. I never had one on Max as they weren’t around then and he was an only cat by the time he became diabetic. Do a search and see if people using it can tell you that.
 
I've been looking at the Libre route. Do you know how well it would stay on a cat who likes to play wrestle with his friend?
Hello,
Would you mind recording your cat wresting? I play with my cat but when he rollson his side (being lazy), I tend to switch him to the other side so that the Libre does not fall out. I may too cautious..
I truly recommend putting a one on your cat baby outdit) ((you create a hole for his head). My vet came up with this idea and it really protects the Libre from Djoko removing it it. To give you an idea, once he got sick and I needed to wash his onesie and within the next hour, the libre was gone. The onesie protects from rubbing but also from the cat removing it. When Djoko grooms himself, he wants to take it off. I cannot talk for other cats however..they may stand it differently.
Djoko runs with it and there is no issue: it is on his left shoulder (close to shoulder blade). He plays with his paws and it does not seem to affect the libre either.
 
@Marj & Djoko I will try to video it although they like to stop when I enter the room.
The wrestling involves 2 16lb cats grabbing each other by the neck and tossing each other onto the floor where they will them pretend to gator chomp each other while rolling around trying to get ontop of one another.
It is a bit more than just running or batting at each other.
These are some old videos where you can see 'spots' of it:
the wrestling I spoke of
Tormund's normal 'hug' and kissing
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Hi there, I went to look at your spreadsheet, this is not the one we use, it's going to be very difficult for anyone to give you advice looking at your spreadsheet. I posted the link above for you

You can take a look at anyones spreadsheet and you will see what I am talking about

Tormund kissing and hugging Skooma is adorable
If you need help with the spreadsheet we have a wonderful member who will set it up for you
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Hi there, I went to look at your spreadsheet, this is not the one we use, it's going to be very difficult for anyone to give you advice looking at your spreadsheet. I posted the link above for you

You can take a look at anyones spreadsheet and you will see what I am talking about
Thank you. I will try to convert it over and update my info with it.
Also thank you. Skooma and Tormund warm my heart daily when they play/love on eachother
 
You shouldn't be changing doses every other day, you might want to post a new thread stating Please take a look at Skooma's Spreadsheet.
Lantus is not based on his BG, it's based on how low his nadir is, how low his BG is dropping
 
Lantus is not based on his BG, it's based on how low his nadir is, how low his BG is dropping
He used to be on a steady 2.5 units 2x a day. Then when we upped the dose to 3 because his fructosamine test said he was running high, he was shooting some odd numbers. The vet gave me a tiered shoot dosing which was supposed to be temporary. But then she went MIA and now I'm just lost as to what to do with him. I'll post a new thread. Thank you for all your help all
 
He used to be on a steady 2.5 units 2x a day. Then when we upped the dose to 3 because his fructosamine test said he was running high, he was shooting some odd numbers. The vet gave me a tiered shoot dosing which was supposed to be temporary. But then she went MIA and now I'm just lost as to what to do with him. I'll post a new thread. Thank you for all your help all
We usually increase by 0.25 units, it's good you are going to start a new thread
 
Back
Top