No shoot question/issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy and Bradley

Member Since 2011
Okay guys...I'm running into a no-shoot problem, which is a good problem to have I guess.

Anyway, I checked Bradley pre-shot this morning and he was 160 (he ate about 2 1/2 hours before I checked him). I just now checked him again, one hour later, and he is at 135. So certainly in the no-shoot range. Maybe he won't need insulin at all this morning? Well, my problem is is that his schedule keeps getting pushed further back now because of the no-shoot numbers. I can see myself having to give insulin in the middle of the night at the rate we're going and I can't do that. It's getting later in the day when I give insulin so it's going to get later at night/early morning too.

My doses started originally at 6:00, and now we're going past 10:00 now. Should I just try him with no insulin this morning and see how he does?
 
Re: No shoot question

First, let me tell you that I am not an expert here. But, I have read a lot and researched a lot.

From my limited knowlege, it appears that Brantley's pancrease is producing some insulin. If you had a 160 and he ate and then saw lower numbers after eating it appears the pancrease is reacting to the food and producing insulin.

Absolutely, do not give him any insulin this morning on a dropping number that low.

I would test him during the day and see what he is doing, but there is no way I would give any insulin on what you are seeing.

Please note once again--- I am no expert, and someone else will help you--BUT do NOT shoot on the numbers you have. It is better to skip a cycle than to shoot on a low number. It is better to be a little high than low!

By the way...You have a GREAT problem!!!!!!! Congrats to you and Bradley--I have a feeling he will be OTJ soon!

Kim
 
Thank you so much! Don't worry, I surely wasn't going to shoot on those numbers. I normally just retest and retest until he hits 200 and then give the insulin, but since he is going down rather than up, I think it may be best to forgo all the retesting and just skip the insulin entirely and test a little later every so often just to track him until his next due-dose tonight.

To clarify a bit better, he actually ate 2 1/2 hours before I did the blood check, which came to 160. He didn't eat at all between the 160 and 135 results. His insulin schedule is so out of whack from all the no-shooting. I used to feed him right after his blood check before, but now since the blood check is much later, he eats two or more hours before.

Mabye he WILL be OTJ soon! (By the way, what does OTJ stand for exactly....over the jab?) I would LOVE that :smile:
 
Sound like a good idea to me!

OTJ--Off the Juice!!!

It really does look like you and Bradley are doing Great.
 
From what I have read--eating 2.5 hours before the preshot, could mean he actually was lower than 160 when he ate. The 160 could be a food spike and he actually might have an even lower bg and be going down further than 135.

I am getting above my "level", but I think this is correct concerning the food. Some of the others here can give you more insight.

Have a Good Day!
 
Oh, Bradley, looking good! That is a nice drop - and he didn't eat between numbers? That is great! I think you could do one of two things. Skip the shot completely, but get some tests during the day. If he is really headed up in a hour or so (like 250 or something in that range) you could give him a drop of insulin and he might still be in a good range to shoot this pm. Giving insulin by drops: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 24#p360982

Off the jab - love it!

This is definitely the tricky part. But it usually means you won't have to do it long! A regulated cat on insulin is generally in the 200 range at preshot and 100 at nadir. A cat off insulin runs anywhere from 40 - 120 with most numbers in the double digit range.
 
Just retested, now at 101. I know that's a good number, but is it okay he keeps dropping like that? What could be causing it to drop each hour? Just wondering if I should be concerned, or if that's normal. I really don't think he'd creep down into the scary numbers with no insulin, but what do I know.
 
Once again, I am not an expert here. But, it has been over 14 hours since your last dose..correct? So the insulin you gave, probably (most certainly) has peaked out. So I would say you are seeing a cat whose pancreas is working, at least some. I don't think you have anything to be alarmed by. In fact, I think this is Great news.

Sue and Crew will assist you---but, from my limited knowledge--- everything is good.
 
Great! Thanks guys! I'm so happy for both my cat and I :smile:

The real test is the number tonight. Now, if that's a good number, needing no insulin, I will certainly be jumping for joy~
 
Don't want to be premature but... This is good news and I'm excited (anit-jinx and paws crossed) cause if Bradley is dropping on his own, it may mean his pancreas is healing and starting to work again. If you're around today and want to experiment with the testing, you can test Bradley, feed him, and test again in an hour or so. If his BG# has dropped after eating, that indicates that the pancreas is starting to work. Some recommend testing a half hour after eating, so you can try that too. For my Max, it usually took an hour before he dropped on his own. Also, Bradley may creep back up into a little high numbers and that can be normal too. He may fluctuate a bit if his pancreas his sputtering back. Like Sue said, in that case, a drop of insulin may be enough to bring him back into good #'s numbers and support healing.
 
101! Fantastic! No, he can't go too low without insulin. That is a normal number without insulin. Just keep your eye on him. As others have said, you may see a high number at pmps (or not!) but we want to consider the dose in light of his movement on his own today.
 
Let me ask you guys...Does their sugar possibly go up after eating too?

I tested Brad before he ate and it was 118 (this was at 16+). Then, he ate some wet food. Then, I tested him again 40 minutes after that and it was 160. I was thinking his sugar would have went down a bit from 118 after eating but it went up. Any idea?
 
Yes it will go up--food spike.

The interesting thing would be to test him again in an hour or two and see if it starts coming back down. If that happens and you are giving no insulin, then you know the pancreas is making some insulin. And, if I am betting, Bradley is making insulin!

Everything is looking good---no surprises or anything negative!
 
Actually, I tested him at 19+ and it was 194, so it seems to be creeping up.

I actually wanted to ask you guys a question....His insulin schedule has gotten later and later since a lot of no-shooting. His schedule as of yesterday was 9 am and 9 pm, which is a little late for me. Since I didn't give him insulin this morning, and it seems hiis sugar may be up at this point already, can I get him back on a 7 am and 7 pm schedule? It's 6:50 pm here in NJ now, so I may test and shoot in 10 15 minutes or so if you think it's a good idea.
 
Sorry none of the dosing people seem to be around to answer you. I think your plan sounds OK. (as long as you hit 200 and it is a rising number)
 
I think I'm going to retest in a half hour and figure out a dose if need be...I'll be back with his sugar number as I will most likely need your help.
 
It's totally up to you of course, but I might try the .25u since Bradley was low for the next pre shot the other day on .5u. It's a little experiment to see how he does and if .25u is enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top