no change in numbers after increasing dose

Liliana Iliana

Member Since 2025
Hello,
increasing dosage by .25 didn't work out. I was waiting 6 cycles and BG was over 350 all the time. Last night i decided to increase by .5 and my hopes were up when i saw nadir point 176. today we started in the yellow range but, for the rest of the day we had only red :(. i know i have stick to this for 6 cycles but i can't help to wonder if i do something wrong. What if i was wrong increasing the dose by .5? It's a struggle for me to make sure i get in the syringe the correct amount of insulin, but what if i did a mistake? I have bought so many type of wet food until i finally got one he likes and it's low carb. The rest made happy others cats i have :). I arrange to take him at work with me so i can have him under my supervision all the time. I check his urine for ketones every week. Yesterday was negative. i will appreciated any advice i can get.
Thank you
 
just chiming in.. no expert 🫶🏼 but waiting it out is always a good thing.. you dont want to miss the right dose as too much is definitely not a fun time. i know its hard tho at those numbers to wait.. but for safety its good to do so. and sometimes.. nothing is happening.. nothing.. and then something does. try to hang in there! 🎇

(frequent meals and snacks also helps guard against ketones i understand.. ✨..)
 
Context for anyone who might be able to chime in: BG-s is staying between 350 - 450 for the last 5 days

Also, because the Lantus, Levamir and Biosimilars forum is so busy, it's a good idea to adhere to the thread naming convention: Date - Cat's name, AMPS (plus any question text). This helps people who are skimming through quickly find you. It can also help, when you have. a question, to use the question mark prefix next to your thread title (which you can find in the dropdown to the left of the thread title field). Here's a thread of beginner tips for using this part of the FDMB: Sticky - The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!

Finally, I'm not by any means experienced enough to give dosing advice, but I will say that if you change doses too quickly, your cat's system just can't catch up. I know it's hard to watch them in high numbers (do I ever), and I also can't use TR (so far), so I can't speak to its specifics. But cats can bounce into high numbers from unaccustomed lows, among other reasons for unexpectedly stubborn high numbers.

Anyway, I hope someone more experienced will be able to stop by soon and offer insight!
 
just chiming in.. no expert 🫶🏼 but waiting it out is always a good thing.. you dont want to miss the right dose as too much is definitely not a fun time. i know its hard tho at those numbers to wait.. but for safety its good to do so. and sometimes.. nothing is happening.. nothing.. and then something does. try to hang in there! 🎇

(frequent meals and snacks also helps guard against ketones i understand.. ✨..)
Thank you for your kind words. I do feed him often, meals and snacks, 6-7 times a day.
 
Context for anyone who might be able to chime in: BG-s is staying between 350 - 450 for the last 5 days

Also, because the Lantus, Levamir and Biosimilars forum is so busy, it's a good idea to adhere to the thread naming convention: Date - Cat's name, AMPS (plus any question text). This helps people who are skimming through quickly find you. It can also help, when you have. a question, to use the question mark prefix next to your thread title (which you can find in the dropdown to the left of the thread title field). Here's a thread of beginner tips for using this part of the FDMB: Sticky - The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!

Finally, I'm not by any means experienced enough to give dosing advice, but I will say that if you change doses too quickly, your cat's system just can't catch up. I know it's hard to watch them in high numbers (do I ever), and I also can't use TR (so far), so I can't speak to its specifics. But cats can bounce into high numbers from unaccustomed lows, among other reasons for unexpectedly stubborn high numbers.

Anyway, I hope someone more experienced will be able to stop by soon and offer insight!
I am new here so thank you for telling me how to do the threads and where. I will keep this in mind.
 
Hi Liliana! Welcome to the FDMB!!

Felix saw some beautiful green numbers tonight, which is great! That new dose's depot is building and is beginning to result in some lower numbers. Here is the detailed language from the sticky for dosing using the tightly regulated method:

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
He's seeing nadirs less than 200 now, so be cautious as you move forward with increases and be sure to keep the guidelines in mind. You can always check in here if you have any questions about dose increases/decreases (or anything else, for that matter).
 
@Liliana Iliana

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."

Increasing to 1.25 was correct (blue highlighted rule), but now that you've seen some green at this dose, you want to hold it for 10 cycles (red highlighted rule).

If he dropped below 50 at any time, you'd decrease by .25.
 
Hi Liliana! Welcome to the FDMB!!

Felix saw some beautiful green numbers tonight, which is great! That new dose's depot is building and is beginning to result in some lower numbers. Here is the detailed language from the sticky for dosing using the tightly regulated method:

"Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."
He's seeing nadirs less than 200 now, so be cautious as you move forward with increases and be sure to keep the guidelines in mind. You can always check in here if you have any questions about dose increases/decreases (or anything else, for that matter).
Thank you! i have printed out this rules and have them besides me all the time and keep reading them. Even if i know i am doing the right thing i still need someone to tell me if it's ok.
 
@Liliana Iliana

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300."

Increasing to 1.25 was correct (blue highlighted rule), but now that you've seen some green at this dose, you want to hold it for 10 cycles (red highlighted rule).

If he dropped below 50 at any time, you'd decrease by .25.
Thank you for your support. Probably it will take me a while to follow this rules without people with more experience telling me I'm doing correctly.
 
Back
Top