Nigel and I need help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nigel looks to be trying for another active cycle. Am I safe to assume you don't want to be chasing numbers for the next several hours? I can't stay up to night to monitor with you.....I already dosed off for a bit.
 
He’s in a playful & affectionate mood. Seems good but should I make food available to him for the night?
 
If you have 34% wet food mix 1/2 tsp of that with 1/2 tsp of the low carb food he's been eating and give him that. If the 34% is dry food then give him a tsp of it & we'll see what that does to his BG in half an hour. I don't want to send him to the moon but we need to get his BG up if you want to sleep soon.

Because of the depot, we are not just dealing with the half dose you gave tonight but also the 1u dose the morning and some residual depot still left from previous shots before the monitoring started. That is why I suggested 0.5u this morning and no shot tonight.....to help drain that depot.
 
Alright, I gave him a bit of dry food. So he’ll be good with no more food through the night? Also, should I not give him a shot tomorrow or wait and see where his numbers are?
 
If it was my cat, I would grab a +11, post to the forum with the ? Preface on title and "dosing advice asap", and wait until advised. That gives an hour for eyes on your post.

Eta: with me being relatively inexperienced, I am not comfortable giving informed dosing advice, and will always err on side of caution and defer to those more experienced. Better to be high for a day than too low for a minute.

Eta2: what she said!
 
Last edited:
If we get his BG up for now, can you get up and grab a reading during the night to check on him? Sometimes folks set an alarm to check or simply check when they wake to use the facilities. In any event Nigel seems to be getting peak action later in the cycle which may be another indicator the 1u dose is too high and we really don't know what the 0.5u dose did last night with no readings between +5 and +11 when nadir would normally occur bt +4 and +7.

Nigel's BG today dropped over 250 points on the 1u dose and is remaining at normal levels late again tonight albeit at lot flatter so far.
Assuming you will be working again tomorrow, same hours , I suggest you do not give Nigel any insulin unless his BG is over 250 at AMPS until we figure out what is going on. If he is over 250, then I would give 0.5u, get a +1 and +2 test before you leave and leave some food out for him to eat while you are gone. You don't want to be using kibble unless absolutely necessary so as Majandra suggested, please get some higher carb food to keep on hand.

Let us know what the next reading is. I think it's due any time now.
 
You’re saying to make this post in the AM an hour before his scheduled injection time?

If it was my cat, I would grab a +11, post to the forum with the ? Preface on title and "dosing advice asap", and wait until advised. That gives an hour for eyes on your post.

Eta: with me being relatively inexperienced, I am not comfortable giving informed dosing advice, and will always err on side of caution and defer to those more experienced. Better to be high for a day than too low for a minute.

Eta2: what she said!
 
That's what I would do if I didn't have solid advice already.
I think what Linda said sounds reasonable though.
 
When you test during the night .... If his numbers are 70 or below, give him some food with a DROP of karo mixed in to make a medium carb snack and retest 15 minutes after he has eaten to ensure BG has gone up. He's in no danger unless his BG drops below 50. If you get a number below 50 get Nigel to lick some karo off your finger and post for help with the prefix "911" to get some help to keep him safe.
 
Grant, let's see if he is going up or down at AMPS but yes I'd be leaning toward skipping with that +11 reading. He's done some pretty quick changes before. I'll be watching for the AMPS.
 
It’s at a little past 6 my time (right now). I usually feed him when I get up at 6 then give him his shot right after.
 
I think I'd skip and see what he does without the shot today. Stick to the low carb food and get a test before you leave for work just to see what he does without the shot.
 
Good morning!
Looks like he stayed safe last night. Good call on the skip. Now you get a worry free day at work :)
 
Oh my Niegel is really keeping you on your toes , good call to skip right now, stick to all low carb food and let's see how he does during the day, if you can when you get home tonight take a reading at +11 and maybe the graph and post it so that we can see how he behaved without the insulin before you decide what dose to give and shoot
 
Thanks! Yeah, I wanted to post a picture of the graph but it looked like it needs a url. Guess I’ll need to upload it somewhere.

Oh my Niegel is really keeping you on your toes , good call to skip right now, stick to all low carb food and let's see how he does during the day, if you can when you get home tonight take a reading at +11 and maybe the graph and post it so that we can see how he behaved without the insulin before you decide what dose to give and shoot
 
Ok, think I figured it out.
 

Attachments

  • A1C77D28-F7B5-4CE1-B756-61CF74F45B10.jpeg
    A1C77D28-F7B5-4CE1-B756-61CF74F45B10.jpeg
    29.1 KB · Views: 224
That graph is indeed interesting and helpful. It looks like Nigel didn't go much if any lower than we thought during yesterday's day cycle which is good. He then had a second smaller drop just around PM shot time. Since he was given higher carb food during the first couple of hours of the PM cycle last night to slow him down and allow you to get some sleep, it looks like he either had a big food bump from the HC food or he bounced from the lower BGs earlier or a combination of the two in the latter half of the cycle and then started dropping off again this morning. The high carb food would be wearing off (although there might still be some small influence at this point) and a bounce could be clearing as of AMPS. The picture is still not clear but I definitely think the 1u was too high a dose.
Please take a shot of the graph again when you get home today. It will be interesting to see what it looks like having skipped this morning's shot.:)
 
Yup! That makes two of us. When I saw the post over yonder a few minutes ago, I started to wonder if someone would tell him to shoot at least the half unit again and we'd be no further ahead figuring him out. He may need some insulin....it may even be less than half a unit but I really hope Grant is right and Nigel was incorrectly diagnosed.
It gives me chills to think what might have happened if he had just blindly kept shooting the full unit waiting for the vet to download the information in 10 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top