Nico 2.0 | Page 2 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Nico 2.0

Yes to all! Just read that today and have pushed a little back into the vial as well. And absolutely I blame the vets office. Not only was I not shown or told properly, but their stupid, huge label covering the instructions that might've told me what to do. I don't know, because peeling it is ripping off what's on the box.🙄
And it's cloudy all the time.
When I get the brand new bottle in a few days, do I start back at 1 unit? This bottle was given to me by the vet, at it was donated by someone who'd lost their diabetic cat. Or I'd be even more ticked off.
I'd read if you suddenly give them good insulin, they can go into hypo. So my fear is if what I've been giving him is bad, then suddenly give him 2 units of real stuff, that could happen.
By the way, you said got your inhalers from Vanuatu. Did you mean you use InHouse Pharmacy? I've used both Canada Pharmacy & Mark's Marine. But they're both too expensive now that I have 2 asthmatic cats. So I looked up the place you mentioned and it gave me that InHouse Pharmacy
 
Yes. I do order my Flixotide inhalers from InHouse Pharmacy. I am on an asthma group on the groups.io. The group is called Feline Asthma and Respiratory Disorders. Many of us buy from InHouse Pharmacy.

I have ordered from Mark’s Marine too. I used to order my Levemir insulin from them because it was way too expensive in the U.S. and when my beloved heart kitty needed Xarelto (blood thinner) in addition to the regular Clopidogrel blood thinner, I got that from Mark’s Marine as well. In the U.S. the Xarelto was over $300 a month.
 
Thanks! I made the order today for 4months of inhalers for both for $166. Can't beat that. I have several days that need daily meds, so any way I can save I am.
So what's your take on my thoughts of thinking this was bad insulin after what I've done to the bottle, and starting over at 1 unit? Is that the safest thing to try? I'm just fearful after reading they can easily go hypo after suddenly receiving good insulin after bad.
 
Thanks! I made the order today for 4months of inhalers for both for $166. Can't beat that. I have several days that need daily meds, so any way I can save I am.
So what's your take on my thoughts of thinking this was bad insulin after what I've done to the bottle, and starting over at 1 unit? Is that the safest thing to try? I'm just fearful after reading they can easily go hypo after suddenly receiving good insulin after bad.
Yes. I think to be cautious we should start back with 1 unit. But it should not take us more than a couple of cycles to see if there’s a difference. Then we can increase the dose based on your testing data.

I am sorry this happened.

I’m glad you were able to order those inhalers at a good price. I don’t know of anywhere less expensive to buy them. It takes a while to het the payments cleared and get them shipped, but after that it’s not too long of a wait. We just went through a period from about the end of August to mid-September where all shipments were suspended due to uncertainty about tariffs. The Flixotide inhalers themselves (and most meds) are actually exempt from tariffs, but I believe some items are not and they’re going to impose a 15 percent surcharge on all orders at some point in the future.
 
Oh, and your new box of ProZinc should have a paper insert in the box with instructions — not that you need them at this point, right? 🤨. I am sure the donated insulin didn’t have that (all the more reason why the vet should have gone over everything with you.
 
The package insert that is inside every box of Prozinc can also be found online. Here's one: https://docs.boehringer-ingelheim.com/BIAH_mktmaterials/Prozinc for Cats Full PI 2021.pdf

The box itself doesn't have much info other than very general info:

image.cfm
 
Oh, and your new box of ProZinc should have a paper insert in the box with instructions — not that you need them at this point, right? 🤨. I am sure the donated insulin didn’t have that (all the more reason why the vet should have gone over everything with you.
Help! I don't think my boy got any of his insulin this morning. He's been fidgety more lately, and I felt wet on my finger holding his scruff. Then I saw the needle was bent when I took it away.
I could've sworn it went in. But I can't be 100%:sure either way.
What do I do?
 
Help! I don't think my boy got any of his insulin this morning. He's been fidgety more lately, and I felt wet on my finger holding his scruff. Then I saw the needle was bent when I took it away.
I could've sworn it went in. But I can't be 100%:sure either way.
What do I do?
Oh no. It sounds like you definitely had a fur shot. It happens to most people once in a while. You can’t reinject him though because you don’t know how much got into him and how much was on his fur. It’s not safe. Put FS in the units cell of your spreadsheet. I am sorry. Everyone gets upset when they have a fur shot. Fortunately, with ProZinc it should mostly only affect this one cycle and he can get back on track again with his next shot.
 
I didn't check. :( His numbers that is.
I figured If nothing was working and my stupid meter had told me simply 'HI', so I can't even get an accurate number. I thought maybe to get a +4 or 6 reading just for the heck of it? It just seemed pointless while nothing was working? And especially with the ketone test showing negative? I'm sure that sounds irresponsible. But unless the numbers went to hypo, what would the numbers show or help? That he's nearly always in the black, if not the red? We know that. And I think it's safe to say he's in nill chance of being hypo.
And thank you on the words of the fur shot. I'll write it down now.
On a FUN new note, I have another asthmatic cat who's had issues eating for a long time. I have to give her ondansetron so she'll eat at all every day. Now it's getting worse and as little money as I have left for the cats, I NEED to find out why. The thyroid test and mini Chem recently showed nothing. Hoping for the best. I hear stress keeps a person fat & at this point I'm going to be chubby for life.😅
 
I have another asthmatic cat who's had issues eating for a long time. I have to give her ondansetron so she'll eat at all every day. Now it's getting worse and as little money as I have left for the cats, I NEED to find out why. The thyroid test and mini Chem recently showed nothing. Hoping for the best.
I am really sorry to hear this. Does she have any history of anything besides the asthma? How often do you have to give Ondansetron? So her kidney values are okay? I guess it could be pancreatitis or IBD (which would most likely not show up on any bloodwork.). How long has she been like this where she won’t eat without the Ondansetron?
 
I am really sorry to hear this. Does she have any history of anything besides the asthma? How often do you have to give Ondansetron? So her kidney values are okay? I guess it could be pancreatitis or IBD (which would most likely not show up on any bloodwork.). How long has she been like this where she won’t eat without the Ondansetron?
She's been eating like this for a couple of months not. She's 15 & everything looked fine on previous taken labs. She'll call with a result on them tomorrow.
Both she and another cat have been odd like this. Kidney values seemed good.
 
When does the new insulin arrive? It will be shipped cold?
Oh my gosh! I tried answering this twice! Thought it went through the second, but that Tylenol pm must've gotten the better of me.😅
OK! The meds better come cold. It's thriving Chewy and when I've ordered chlorambucil in the past with another, it came in freezer packs.
*Question*
The meds are to come in today. I realize how important it is to get this in him, as I believe the previous was worthless.
So do I give it tonight and stay up? If I give it tonight, what do I do with testing, as in times?
Also, he threw up a bit of liquid around 4am. All just liquid. It's that something bad and too be worried about?
And we're starting him at 1 unit, right? Is that the safe method we're going with? And how do I progress from there if the numbers don't go down?
Thanks!
As for Angel, my other. Tests came back today and everything is in the normal/green. I'm going to ask them to email the results to have on hand. But she had a thyroid, chemistry, and cbc all done. Doc said she's in the clear for all of it. Said cancer will be a worry (most often hi-I've actually taken in 2 with scl scl this), but watch her weight for the biggest know on that. I'm supposed to treat her with Cerenia & Elura as needed. But, I listened to someone at a place I go occasionally for help as well as try to give it, and they suggested just try to change out her food. She's eaten well since. My cats SUCK. $409 to find out nothing's wrong?🙄 Cats
 
When does the new insulin arrive? It will be shipped cold?
Ok , so got the new insulin, and it doesn't look any different to me. New one is with the red cap on. Even more frothy, I'm guessing from the shipping? I don't see any 'particles' floating around in either. Does this mean regardless of my vigorous shaking, that there was nothing wrong with the first bottle? I'm so confused now as to what to do.
Does this mean the old bottle WAS working and my cat's just extra broken? Am I still to go to the new bottle? And starting out at 1 or 2, or in between?
I'm so lost.
 
When does the new insulin arrive? It will be shipped cold?
Ok , so got the new insulin, and it doesn't look any different to me. New one is with the red cap on. Even more frothy, I'm guessing from the shipping? I don't see any 'particles' floating around in either. Does this mean regardless of my vigorous shaking, that there was nothing wrong with the first bottle? I'm so confused now as to what to do.
Does this mean the old bottle WAS working and my cat's just extra broken? Am I still to go to the new bottle? And starting out at 1 or 2, or in between?
I'm so lost.
 
About to test him and then feed him. With the vials looking identical, not sure if I'm supposed to go back down to the 1 unit or stay at the 2. Which I have to give within 30min.:(
 
Sorry. Have a cat here with critical health condition.

Sometimes ProZinc has bubbles. As long as no particles it should be okay. Hopefully you went with 1 unit and are able to get a few tests. Based on those tests and your ability to monitor tomorrow we will go with 1 or 1.5 units tomorrow. We aren’t going to hold doses really long if the new Insulin is not working better than the old, bit we must find out. Okay?
 
I did just go ahead with our original plan of 1. How should I test him tonight? Already missed a +2, but I was pretty sure in the past you'd said +4 &. +6 are more important? Do I need to do the +6 tonight? I will if I need to. But if I don't have to stay up til 1:30, I won't on purpose. He wakes me daily at 4 and then again at 6.
As for tomorrow, I've been working my days around him. So whatever you think is best, just tell me, and I'll try my best to keep to it! Oh, and he seems more hungry than usual last 2 days. Should I feed him more? He eats 4.3oz of cooked, shredded pork+EZC + an ounce of broth (ounce per serving) each day. It's 6oz before cooking, which is what they say a very active (haha) cat should be eating. It's a good 220 in calories each day.
I do have another diabetic question. If they eat something with quite a bit (but still safe-Dr. Elsey's clean protein rabbit kibble) more carbs in it than their usual food, can it effect them quickly?
I have another girl the doctor diagnosed diabetic many years ago. Said after 2 months on insulin and diet change, went into remission. I was never sure she was diabetic really. Her numbers were fine at home, but would jump to 300 at the vets. Back home after a few hours, in normal range again. Anyhow! I gave her fur sibling some of the Dr. E's food as she was jealous. And within a seriously short time, she went to the water bowl and suddenly was gulping at it. She sat there drinking for a good 2 minutes. She never gulps and she never stays that long. So I tested her and she was 120 tonight about 1.5hrs after she ate. In the past, she's always been between 79-95 tops. Could the food have done that to her? Or do I need to start watching her? She hasn't been in insulin since 2022 I think? I test her now only every 6 months just to check. It's been so long and back then I just did what the doc told me to. She said to not even bother with a meter for her 1st month on insulin!😳 I'm so lucky I found you guys. When I think what could've happened to her but just blindly listening to a doc.
 
Oh! I had to rewrite this thing twice, but forgot to add....
You don't ever have to apologize. I truly appreciate all the help you're giving. And hope your baby pulls through and feels better soon.
 
Sorry. Have a cat here with critical health condition.

Sometimes ProZinc has bubbles. As long as no particles it should be okay. Hopefully you went with 1 unit and are able to get a few tests. Based on those tests and your ability to monitor tomorrow we will go with 1 or 1.5 units tomorrow. We aren’t going to hold doses really long if the new Insulin is not working better than the old, bit we must find out. Okay?
So I gave him the 1.5 today. I didn't get anyone else writing in, so kind of just winging it here. Was HI at PMPS, 565 +4, HI at AMPS this morning. Fed him at 7, shot at 7:30, fed small amount at 9:30, about to test at his +4 before his other small feeding.
 
+4 is unimpressive. Try to grab another test at +6. Keep to the 1.5 dose tonight. If he doesn’t go down tonight I think it will be safe to resume the 2 unit dose tomorrow morning IF you can rest and monitor and you have a hypo kit available and have read about how to manage low numbers. I don’t really anticipate any low numbers, but we must be prepared. Or you can hold the 1.5 for another day and get some data.
 
I am not around much today. Had to drive cat two hours to University ER. Hoping to go home soon. This is a nightmare and I am not getting any help here for my boy and they have no clue unless I spend $3-5K. I have already maxxed out everything so can’t do any more. I will try to check in this evening.
 
I am very sorry for what your baby is going through and pray it works out.
I spent first half day with both he and the other I'm watching it for now too.
I had only gotten his preshot and +4. I didn't remember if I was supposed to do a +2? And I advice on 6 was past his time. I couldn't recall which I'm supposed to take, after dealing with that blood curve. My doc actually told me other day, I only have to check him once a day to know what's going on. I mean, I guess if you learn where the nadir is it helps. But she does not believe in testing before shots. :/
So does this mean the previous bottle, regardless of massive shaking, was fine? If the numbers are still barely moving? So even the 2 units isn't going to work?:( It didn't seem to be previously. I'm not sure if I'm supposed to test after the shot again tonight? Guess I'll aim for the +4 again?
I think I'd prefer as you first said, move him to 2 in the morning, if you think that's safe. Aside from Karo, I do not have a 'kit', and will have to look that up and what to do. I only know to rub the syrup on the gums. I'll go look for that now.
Is there hope for him? When the numbers are so high? To either get them down to normal levels, or possible remission? :(
It's getting so hopeless right now.
Thanks again, and blessings to you and yours.💕
 
It’s really ignorant of the vet to say not to test before the shots. I think I said it before that you don’t know how much drop there is if you don’t test preshot. Also, you don’t know if it’s even safe to give insulin. I will show you what I mean.
 
It’s really ignorant of the vet to say not to test before the shots. I think I said it before that you don’t know how much drop there is if you don’t test preshot. Also, you don’t know if it’s even safe to give insulin. I will show you what I mean.
I agree 100%. I read another gal told me there's a lot of vets that are still like this. I did his preshot test on his pet meter and it just said HI again. So 600+.:(
If you want, I'd he glad to hear about your kitty when you have time. I didn't want to ask & pry. But if you'd like to talk, I'm here. I've been doing cat rescue for over 25yrs and I've had some ups and downs plenty with that. And understand the bills too. I've spent over 12k just in the last year on vet bills alone. Not too mention the meds & expensive foods. I've gone through all my savings now and and now burning up the cc's now with their bills and medication. So I can lend an ear if you'd like. My thoughts are with you both.
I don't know if I'm supposed to test him tonight, but guessing I should at the +4 again? And will in the morning too
 
At the +4, his numbers were 516. Updated his chart and guess we're going with 2 units in the am.:(
Not sure where do we go after 2 though and how long do we leave him there? I think last time he was on 2 units for 2 days and it did Nothing for his numbers.
 
Back
Top