Newly diagnosed

emilyc36459

Member Since 2026
Hi all, my name is Emily, my 13 year old boy Charlie (13 years old, 17.5 lbs) just got diagnosed last week his levels were in the 400s. Today he stayed at the vet all day to be monitored with his first dose/curve. When he got there they said his levels were so high they were unreadable. They gave him 4 units of vetsulin based on his weight but the numbers weren't budging so they gave him another 2 units. Im supposed to continue giving 6 units every 12 hours until he goes back next week to stay the day again/another curve to make sure they're getting the units right. My vet recommended keeping karo syrup on hand in case he goes too low.
I'm so nervous about all this and just want to make sure I'm doing right by him. I'm worried about the 6 units being a lot? I feel like a lot of the posts ive seen in groups start at like 1 unit. I'm so new to this and have so many questions that I'll need to ask when I go back next week. Vet didn't say anything about me needing to check his levels once everything settles down but I see a lot of people on here checking levels twice a day before giving the insulin? I'm just scared he'll go hypoglycemic. I don't know what I'm doing 😭 any tips or advice would be so appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2608.jpeg
    IMG_2608.jpeg
    5.4 MB · Views: 8
Hello Emily and welcome to the board. I’m so very sorry about your boy Charlie, you definitely found the right place to help your kitty. The board isn’t as active during this time of day but maybe I can answer a few of the basic questions. I don’t want to overwhelm you so please take all the time you need to review the info.

First, I am not experienced enough to give dose advice but in my personal opinion 6 units seems very high for a starting dose. Hopefully an experienced member can give their opinion on this soon as well. My vet also started my cat on Vetsulin when we first started insulin but at the time I was unaware that Vetsulin is called Caninsulin in the rest of the world because it’s an insulin for dogs. My cat, Khloe, also had very high numbers (500,600) and had wild swings when on Vetsulin and it wasn’t until I switched to Lantus that my girl started seeing healthy, low numbers. While I have never used it, Prozinc is also an option for insulin.

Next, testing blood glucose levels at home is very beneficial to not only know if they are at a safe level to give insulin but to also know how low the insulin takes them during a 12 hour cycle. My vet also wanted me to do in clinic glucose curves but the thing about them is that stress raises blood glucose and being at the vet can be very stressful so the in clinic curves may not even give you correct information. The AAHA also no longer recommends in clinic curves for this reason. If your vet requests glucose curves, you can actually do them yourself at home by testing BG every 2 hours for 12 hours total. My vet allows me to send in my curve results, perhaps you could ask if that is an option? I’ll also quickly mention handheld glucose meters, myself and most members here use human glucose meters due to the price of the test strips being much more affordable. Pet meters are also available but the test strips are usually around $1 each. I have managed, with the help from the board, to get Khloe into nice numbers using a human meter.

Karo syrup is a good option for low numbers but honey or pancake syrup can also be used. From personal experience, I can tell you I was SO scared about hypo events but a couple of drops of honey for Khloe brings her right back up within 15-30 mins. The first few times it happened were nerve wracking but I eventually got the hang of it and it became less scary over time. Another thing to mention is diet. An all wet, low carb diet is best. Kitties do not have to eat only twice a day and most do better with multiple smalls meals. There are a few charts here on the board that you can look at that show the carb% of different foods. Ideally, you want something under 10% carbs.

And lastly, with Charlie having high numbers, it would be beneficial to test for ketones at home. Ketones can lead to DKA so if you are testing at home, you can catch any ketones early. You can either use strips to dip into a urine sample or there are also blood ketone meters where you test a small blood sample, similar to a handheld BG meter.

I know that’s a lot of info so please don’t feel rushed to take it all in tonight. Hopefully some experienced members will weigh in tomorrow to see what they think.

Once you’re settled and have the time, this link is the best place to start. It goes over how to set up a spreadsheet and signature so that experienced members can see how Charlie reacts to the insulin and offer the best advice for him. If you need any help setting it up, I’d be more than happy to help. Best wishes to you and Charlie! New? How you can help us, help you!
 
Hello and welcome Emily and Charlie.

6 units is a HUGE amount to start. Normally we start Vetsulin kitties on 0.5 or 1.0 units. Listen to your gut on this one. Cats are often stressed at the vets and have higher blood sugars there than they would at home. Meaning home testing is best and curves done at the vet are not how you want to decide what dose to give. Cause you'll end up on too high a dose at home. Here are some posts in case he goes too low:
Another warning flag for me is that this vet is prescribing Vetsulin. In other countries, it is called Caninsulin, meaning it's a great insulin for dogs. And yes, my cat started on it too way back when. Cats have faster metabolisms than dogs. For at least the last decade the AAHA has recommended Prozinc or Lantus for cats instead of Vetsulin. Any chance you can find another vet?

Can you tell me what food he is eating? Low carb wet or raw food is best for a diabetic cat. Higher carb dry food can cause a cat to need a higher dose of insulin. If you do shoot the 6 units, do not change his diet until you know how to home test his blood sugars. In the US, a lot of people buy the Relion Premier (I think) at Walmart. It's test strips are cost effective and takes a reasonably small drop of blood. This post has videos picture and tips on how to home test: Hometesting Links and Tips
 
Hi and welcome ! It's very overwhelming. I'm sorry you've ended up needing to be here but this is a great place to learn how to help your kitty. Unfortunately, I have heard plenty of vets say they use medical textbooks and diagrams to treat diabetic cats...which is usually outdated and not patient specific. I was lucky enough to find a Vet eventually who had a diabetic cat , but that was after sometime. Write down questions and don't be afraid to ask ✨️ you can do this.
 
Hello and welcome Emily and Charlie.

6 units is a HUGE amount to start. Normally we start Vetsulin kitties on 0.5 or 1.0 units. Listen to your gut on this one. Cats are often stressed at the vets and have higher blood sugars there than they would at home. Meaning home testing is best and curves done at the vet are not how you want to decide what dose to give. Cause you'll end up on too high a dose at home. Here are some posts in case he goes too low:
Another warning flag for me is that this vet is prescribing Vetsulin. In other countries, it is called Caninsulin, meaning it's a great insulin for dogs. And yes, my cat started on it too way back when. Cats have faster metabolisms than dogs. For at least the last decade the AAHA has recommended Prozinc or Lantus for cats instead of Vetsulin. Any chance you can find another vet?

Can you tell me what food he is eating? Low carb wet or raw food is best for a diabetic cat. Higher carb dry food can cause a cat to need a higher dose of insulin. If you do shoot the 6 units, do not change his diet until you know how to home test his blood sugars. In the US, a lot of people buy the Relion Premier (I think) at Walmart. It's test strips are cost effective and takes a reasonably small drop of blood. This post has videos picture and tips on how to home test: Hometesting Links and Tips
Hi yes, I am looking into getting a second opinion but I'm unsure of what to do in the meantime:(
he's scheduled to go back for another curve next week .
The vet is closed today and tomorrow so I can't call and ask all my questions, I do have my vets cell but I don't want to blow him up, I did say the 6 units seems concerning given everyone's responses in other groups I posted to and he said if I was more comfortable with doing 5 I could do that..

He's currently eating a quarter cup of dry morning and night , he's on the hills urinary c/d metabolic because he got blocked like 5-6 years ago. He also shares half a can of wet food with water added with my other two cats .
 
Are you interested in learning to home test his blood sugars? If you learn to do that, he won't need to go to the clinic for curves. And we'll be able to help you out with dosing. 5 units is still way too much insulin to start.

C/D is a very high carb food. A better solution is a low carb wet food with lower phosphorus. More information on this web page by a vet specializing in feline nutrition: Cat Urinary Tract Diseases: Cystitis, Urethral Obstruction, Urinary Tract Infection. My second cat was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis and put on C/D one week after Neko got her diabetes diagnosis. She stole his food all the time, I had to police the meals. I asked his vet what food both could eat, and essentially the low carb wet or raw with plenty of water added. Neko was also started out on Caninsulin, but at 1 unit by her vet. She was a larger cat too, but closer to 15 lbs (just under).
 
Are you interested in learning to home test his blood sugars? If you learn to do that, he won't need to go to the clinic for curves. And we'll be able to help you out with dosing. 5 units is still way too much insulin to start.

C/D is a very high carb food. A better solution is a low carb wet food with lower phosphorus. More information on this web page by a vet specializing in feline nutrition: Cat Urinary Tract Diseases: Cystitis, Urethral Obstruction, Urinary Tract Infection. My second cat was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis and put on C/D one week after Neko got her diabetes diagnosis. She stole his food all the time, I had to police the meals. I asked his vet what food both could eat, and essentially the low carb wet or raw with plenty of water added. Neko was also started out on Caninsulin, but at 1 unit by her vet. She was a larger cat too, but closer to 15 lbs (just under).
Yes I just bought the glucometer and everything . I tried pricking him a couple times but wasn't able to get a big enough drop to test :( I felt bad after pricking a couple times so I'm giving him a break. I might try again in an hour or so before I go to bed with some different tricks. I am really curious what his levels are at having been on 5 units twice today. I feel bad straying from what my vet says but everyone here and in the other groups seem soo sure that it's way too high. My vet said I'm welcome to check his BG if it brings me peace of mind but said he finds people tend to micromanage and change doses by the day when it takes like a week for a certain dose to kick in and that he'd like me to check in before changing dosage. Could you maybe explain why it's so bad in a way that I can bring it up to my vet? I have anxiety and don't want him to feel like I'm accusing him or like I know better than him, but my baby does come first and I just want to do the right thing. He does seem a little tired rn but he's always lazy so it's hard to tell lol but he's immediately alert for a churu so he's gotta be doing somewhat okay. And Should I wait until he comes down a bit before I start messing with his food ?
 
Yes I just bought the glucometer and everything . I tried pricking him a couple times but wasn't able to get a big enough drop to test :( I felt bad after pricking a couple times so I'm giving him a break. I might try again in an hour or so before I go to bed with some different tricks. I am really curious what his levels are at having been on 5 units twice today. I feel bad straying from what my vet says but everyone here and in the other groups seem soo sure that it's way too high. My vet said I'm welcome to check his BG if it brings me peace of mind but said he finds people tend to micromanage and change doses by the day when it takes like a week for a certain dose to kick in and that he'd like me to check in before changing dosage. Could you maybe explain why it's so bad in a way that I can bring it up to my vet? I have anxiety and don't want him to feel like I'm accusing him or like I know better than him, but my baby does come first and I just want to do the right thing. He does seem a little tired rn but he's always lazy so it's hard to tell lol but he's immediately alert for a churu so he's gotta be doing somewhat okay. And Should I wait until he comes down a bit before I start messing with his food ?
First off, you don't owe your vet your peace of mind...you have to do what you feel is best for your baby. You aren't second guessing them- just seeking understanding and clarification. Plenty of vets really don't know the ins and out of feline diabetes since so much of the narrative of treatment in veterinary medicine is based off dogs in clinical testing and real life. Second, a good vet will want to work with you and not take anything that has to do with your pets health personally. Diabetes is a race, not a sprint and it's hard. You need this vet currently but work on getting to the point where you feel supported- not tolerated. Gives me the sads, and I was a vet tech for 11 years.
* rant over*
Lastly, we test before dosing because cats are weird. They spontaneously go into remission, their finicky little pancreas sometimes process insulin differently and then blood sugars bottom out at 3AM, they hide illness and stop eating on a whim , and their bodies are so sensitive that things like the weather can affect their medication needs. I've previously had the same dose for my guy for months, then last year around Xmas, he's acting weird and screaming at me but not actually eating his breakfast. I check a BG and its 34 !!! Aaaaaaand, I had just given him his usual morning dose ! I had to skip his next dose that evening and shovel honey in his mouth all day. He went from being on 2 units to .5 units - just because cats are weird.
 
My vet said I'm welcome to check his BG if it brings me peace of mind but said he finds people tend to micromanage and change doses by the day when it takes like a week for a certain dose to kick in and that he'd like me to check in before changing dosage.
Our dosing methods for Vetsulin have you stay with the same dose for a week, unless they go under 90 - which means the dose needs to be reduced. I've lost track of the number of times I've seen cats come on here with too high a dose prescribed by the vet, only to have to have someone (occasionally me) stay up into the wee hours coaching them through low numbers with food and blood glucose checks. Especially when someone is new to home testing. One of the reasons we start on a lower dose is that it is so much easier to learn to test when you aren't panicking because kitty doesn't look or act right.

Remember, you are the one home with your cat, not the vet. You hold the syringe on the dose. You have to feel you are doing the right thing. If you are going to test again, somewhere around 4 hours after the shot would be ideal as that's around when the lowest numbers will be.

Tips for testing, make sure you are a 26 or 28 gauge lancet to start. Many of the kits come with higher number gauge but thinner lancets that don't get enough blood. I also needed to put a very small smear of Vaseline on Neko's ears where I was going to poke. Blood tends to hide in black fur, the vaseline helped it beed up. Are you using a rice sock or similar to warm his ear before testing?
 
Our dosing methods for Vetsulin have you stay with the same dose for a week, unless they go under 90 - which means the dose needs to be reduced. I've lost track of the number of times I've seen cats come on here with too high a dose prescribed by the vet, only to have to have someone (occasionally me) stay up into the wee hours coaching them through low numbers with food and blood glucose checks. Especially when someone is new to home testing. One of the reasons we start on a lower dose is that it is so much easier to learn to test when you aren't panicking because kitty doesn't look or act right.

Remember, you are the one home with your cat, not the vet. You hold the syringe on the dose. You have to feel you are doing the right thing. If you are going to test again, somewhere around 4 hours after the shot would be ideal as that's around when the lowest numbers will be.

Tips for testing, make sure you are a 26 or 28 gauge lancet to start. Many of the kits come with higher number gauge but thinner lancets that don't get enough blood. I also needed to put a very small smear of Vaseline on Neko's ears where I was going to poke. Blood tends to hide in black fur, the vaseline helped it beed up. Are you using a rice sock or similar to warm his ear
I wasn't able to get a read yesterday after I got the monitor but I got his first one this morning before he ate and before the insulin. It was at 302. I did call my old vet as well to get a second opinion (they couldn't give me full advice because they hadn't seen him) but they said as long as he's staying in the 300's that I should just keep giving him the 5 units until I can follow up with my vet. I do worry cause I have to go back to work today so I won't be able to continuously check his BG. I did get pet cameras so I can keep an eye on him at work . I'll try and test his BG maybe before ? And then 4 hours after the insulin for his PM one though
 
Hi Emily, you’ve gotten some great advice here already. I just wanted to emphasize that 5 units is a high for a starting dose for Vetsulin. It looks like 1 unit is usually the recommended starting dose, so you’re 5x. I’m not trying to scare you but it really could be dangerous for Charlie.

Couple other important topics to work on:
  • Can’t rely on visible symptoms alone to know if he’s safe
  • A lower carb food will greatly increase his chances of regulation/remission
  • Signature and spreadsheet (the link Sara sent)
  • Hypo tool kit (link Wendy sent)
  • Discuss switching to Lantus or Prozinc insulin
I know it can feel like a lot at first. It gets easier. We want Charlie to be safe and have the best possible chance at this. I’ve seen hundreds of caregivers join here and a large percentage of them with veterinarians not providing the full suite of things needed to manage FD. It’s impossible for them though. They see so many cats, dogs, etc with all sorts of conditions.

Anyways, I hope you stick around and keep asking questions. These folks are a wealth of knowledge and experience.
 
Lots of good information here!! I agree with Wendy (but then we typically agree with each other). Once you feel like you've got a handle on home testing, I'd encourage you to adjust Charlie's diet to low carb. Canned food or raw are preferred options -- there are some freeze or air dried raw foods that are also options. Chances are that Charlie's numbers will drop once you switch to low carb food so home testing is important.

For a newly diagnosed cat, numbers in the 300s aren't bad. It's also a really good data point -- Charlie's numbers were much higher at the vet's office. You also won't know how low his numbers go when the insulin is at its most active point in the cycle (i.e., "nadir"). Vetsulin does not last a full 12-hours. You should try to get a test at around 4 or 5 hours after you give a shot, if not before that time. (This is one of the issues with Vetsulin. It has a relatively short duration and it can drop blood glucose numbers hard and fast. Lantus and Prozinc are gentler and last at least 12-hours.)
 
Back
Top