Newly diagnosed diabetic kitty NEW MEMBER

Status
Not open for further replies.

eva eva

Member Since 2022
Thank -you for being here.
I have a 10 year old tuxedo with newly diagnosed IDDM. They prescribed 2 units of insulin twice daily. her initial blood sugar 480. spilling 3+ sugar in urine. kidney function good. She has PU/PD and has lost 1.5 lb.
after 2 weeks on insulin I have bumped her up to 2.5units twice daily--due to continued PU/PD. I have purchased the urine sugar sticks--she has gone from 3+ to 2+ urine positivity. Fixed income choice.
food difficult to find. I would like a list of store stocked cat food to feed, please. thanks for your help
 
Hi and welcome. As far as food goes, it is helpful to know where you are located at least in general. There are different foods available depending on where you live.

What kind of insulin are you using?


This group is amazing and they can really help you help your kitty, if you participate and listen to the given advice. It would be good to set up your signature information so that the experts here do not have to keep bugging you with the same questions over and over.
 
Hi and welcome. As far as food goes, it is helpful to know where you are located at least in general. There are different foods available depending on where you live.

What kind of insulin are you using?


This group is amazing and they can really help you help your kitty, if you participate and listen to the given advice. It would be good to set up your signature information so that the experts here do not have to keep bugging you with the same questions over and over.


I am using vetsulin 40IU twice daily. checking site for food for her. I updated my profile. not sure if that works.
 
and while you may have only come here to find food, the resources here are massive and this group can offer much much more help for you and your cat than just food suggestions.

For example, the insulin type...vetsulin. It is highly recommended that you ask your vet for a different insulin such as Lantus or a generic version of insulin glargine, like Basaglar or Semglee.

The current guidelines for the treatment of feline diabetes (FD) published by the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) in 2018 no longer recommend N/NPH or Caninsulin/Vetsulin for the treatment of FD. These insulins continue to be recommended for dogs but the AAHA noted these types of insulin have insufficient duration to be recommended for the treatment of FD

signature setup:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/
 
and while you may have only come here to find food, the resources here are massive and this group can offer much much more help for you and your cat than just food suggestions.

For example, the insulin type...vetsulin. It is highly recommended that you ask your vet for a different insulin such as Lantus or a generic version of insulin glargine, like Basaglar or Semglee.

The current guidelines for the treatment of feline diabetes (FD) published by the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) in 2018 no longer recommend N/NPH or Caninsulin/Vetsulin for the treatment of FD. These insulins continue to be recommended for dogs but the AAHA noted these types of insulin have insufficient duration to be recommended for the treatment of FD

signature setup:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/


thanks!!
 
I willtag @Diane Tyler's Mom she has a link to the food list. Good luck with your kitty.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
We like to feed 6% carbs and under
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies
or any other ones you see on the list

One thing we do not increase doses but 0.5 units we increase by 0.25 units at a time

If you would like to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask
Are you home testing?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to you and your kitty.
I would also recommend you look at swapping to another more suitable insulin
We recommend increasing doses in 1/4 unit increments.
Also as well as the pre shot meal, which with vetsulin, needs to be giving 30 minutes before the dose, we recommend feeding 2 or 3 snacks of low carb food during the first half of all the cycles.
Are you home testing the BGs?
HELP US HELP YOU has links to the spreadsheet, the signature the hypo kit and other useful information.

Here is a link to USING VETSULIN

I will tag @FrostD as she is a vetsulin user.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
We like to feed 6% carbs and under
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies
or any other ones you see on the list

One thing we do not increase doses but 0.5 units we increase by 0.25 units at a time

If you would like to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask
Are you home testing?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
We like to feed 6% carbs and under
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies
or any other ones you see on the list

One thing we do not increase doses but 0.5 units we increase by 0.25 units at a time

If you would like to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask
Are you home testing?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/


Thanks for your help.

I have just received my BG monitor. Where is the best spot for BG? How often? On the insullin. If I get glargine, is it still twice daily dosing?
Thanks for the slower increase dosing. She still, after 5 days of the 2.5U, has a spill of 2++ in her urine. How long does this take to correct. I also just started her on the fancy feast yesterday. I am thinking hold off for a week before increasing as she is getting the lower carb food. what are your thoughts>
 
Thanks for your help.

I have just received my BG monitor. Where is the best spot for BG? How often? On the insullin. If I get glargine, is it still twice daily dosing?
Thanks for the slower increase dosing. She still, after 5 days of the 2.5U, has a spill of 2++ in her urine. How long does this take to correct. I also just started her on the fancy feast yesterday. I am thinking hold off for a week before increasing as she is getting the lower carb food. what are your thoughts>

@eva eva
Hi Eva
I will tag Melissa , she is a vetsulin user
Melissa can you also please read her intro post above

Eva
Can you go back to your signature and add the BG Meter you are using we need to know that , you said you just starting Fancy Feast yesterday, was the the Pate?
What were you feeding her before?
Every insulin is given twice a day
To add these 2 things to your signature tap on your name above then tap in signature add the items and tap save
We will have to wait for Melissa to come on to answer your other questions
@FrostD
 
Last edited:
HOMETESTING HINTS AND LINKS
Test before every dose of insulin to make sure it is safe to give the dose. And the. If you can test during the cycle sometime between +4 and +7 we see how low the dose is taking your kitty.
Yes. Lantus is twice daily dosing 12 hours apart.
I would not increase the dose of insulin until you are home testing and can see what the current dose is doing.
I am not sure what you were feeding but so be aware if you are swapping to a low carb diet (which is great) the blood glucose levels can drop considerably. So maybe don’t do the changeover of food u til you are home testing as well.
2.5 units is a large dose or a newly diagnosed cat.
 
Welcome!

Most of us test BG on the ear. Unfortunately I can't advise on dose without knowing BG readings.

Urine doesn't tell us much, and here's why - renal threshold is the point at which glucose spills over into the urine. For most cats, that's somewhere between 200-300mg/dL. So, if your cat is in that BG range for an extended period of time (a few hours at least), you will get glucose in the urine. Now comes the problem - insulin dose is determined by nadir, or the lowest BG in a cycle. With Vetsulin, that needs to be between 90-150 mg/dL. Because Vetsulin can be very harsh, it is very possible the insulin is dropping him down into normal BG numbers (or even dangerously low ones) for just a short time, then he comes back up. And once he comes back up, the glucose spills back into the urine.

If you are changing food, the best advice I can give until you are testing BG is to halve the dose. As Bron mentioned, the diet change can have significant effect on BG, and can be very serious if it causes a hypo (paralysis, blindness, organ damage, death). On the flipside, the risk of not enough insulin is potential ketones and DKA, so be sure to monitor ketones as well. Ideally 2-3 times a week at minimum. The DKA "recipe" is not enough insulin + inappetence/not enough food + infection/inflammation.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
We like to feed 6% carbs and under
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies
or any other ones you see on the list

One thing we do not increase doses but 0.5 units we increase by 0.25 units at a time

If you would like to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask
Are you home testing?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

a few questions:
not sure what the LC wet stands for she is a combo but there is friskies dry, wet is Fancy feast; dosing--initials? TR SLGS; I will look on the spreadsheet creation.
 
update on Phoebe: tonight 1st BG---606. given 2.5units vetsulin--dose that I increased from 2U on 7/22 due to PU/PD continuing. then I fed her FF. She has been started on fancy feast --anything with <10% CHO that she will eat. I also have dry friskies treats available. (I have other cats) free eating. I don't see her often there as of late. I have water all over the house. I check litter often --she is still PU so far. She is alert and chirps. I have ordered dry kibble for her. I read it isn't good no matter the company.---how true is this? How long before I see her sugars come down? And when do I increase her insulin? I understand .25U increase is better. However, I did .5U increase the last time. i am working on decreasing dry food for all and stopping the free eating. 3 other cats in home.

attempted to do the spreadsheet---a little too complex..... i have a notebook and white board. entered in my own spreadsheet--i can share.

on another subject: is there a site on renal insufficiency cat care and feeding? have a 14 yo long-hair, eats royal canin canned wet, very little dry--either special diet or friskies treats. Would like to know if the list on diabetic cats could be used for renal cats--focusing on the phosphorus content....what is the percentage to keep it below. What should the other parameters be: protien, fat, cho,-----can't seem to find these on line.
 
Last edited:
Which kibble did you order? As far as low carb, there are three brands - Dr Elsey's, Young Again, and Wysong Epigen.

I would stick to the 2U until you have more data. 606 is suspiciously high...it's more indicative of a possible overdose than it is too low of a dose. But with the high carb in the picture, little hard to say. Dose is based on nadir, do not let the higher preshots scare you into giving more insulin.

With Vetsulin there is only one dosing method so do not worry about that, just leave that part blank.

I can work with whatever data/spreadsheet you've got, the critical piece is knowing how long after the shot the BG reading was. Eventually though it will be easier if it's in our standard format, we can help with that.

If you can, please get a +3-ish test tonight (so roughly 3 hours after the shot).

We use the site below as our CKD "bible". Here specifically is a link to the food chart - https://felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm

Phosphorus is the primary concern, followed by protein, then sodium. The link above mentions what you should be looking for in terms of amounts.
 
on another subject: is there a site on renal insufficiency cat care and feeding? have a 14 yo long-hair, eats royal canin canned wet, very little dry--either special diet or friskies treats. Would like to know if the list on diabetic cats could be used for renal cats--focusing on the phosphorus content....what is the percentage to keep it below. What should the other parameters be: protien, fat, cho,-----can't seem to find these on line.



weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com


When you go to the weruva site and click on one of the pic of the food , click on Detailed Nutrition information that is under guaranteed analysis to the left Detailed Nutrition Information Tap on that
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS

Go to this thread , there are a lot of weruva foods listed here in post #3 , post numbers are to the left
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kidney-disease.262271/#post-2940026
 
@eva eva
Eva
Can you go back to your signature and add the BG Meter you are using we need to know that , you said you just starting Fancy Feast yesterday, was the the Pate?
What were you feeding her before?
Every insulin is given twice a day
To add these 2 things to your signature tap on your name above then tap in signature add the items and tap save
 
So I have the glycobalance dry food.....she and the rest all seem to like it.
i updated my signature. FF classic pate, alphatrak2 monitor.
5pm preinsulin bg---608
6am PI BG 516 2.5unit
all cat food will be taken up tonight ( i think she may be eating more at night?)
still PU.
Will get bg 3 ish hours after insulin tonight.


THANKS TO ALL OF YOU FOR HELPING ME.
 
So I have the glycobalance dry food.....she and the rest all seem to like it.
i updated my signature. FF classic pate, alphatrak2 monitor.
5pm preinsulin bg---608
6am PI BG 516 2.5unit
all cat food will be taken up tonight ( i think she may be eating more at night?)
still PU.
Will get bg 3 ish hours after insulin tonight.


THANKS TO ALL OF YOU FOR HELPING ME.
Hi you need you are feeding dry to your signature also :cat:
@eva eva
 
Last edited:
Which kibble did you order? As far as low carb, there are three brands - Dr Elsey's, Young Again, and Wysong Epigen.

I would stick to the 2U until you have more data. 606 is suspiciously high...it's more indicative of a possible overdose than it is too low of a dose. But with the high carb in the picture, little hard to say. Dose is based on nadir, do not let the higher preshots scare you into giving more insulin.

With Vetsulin there is only one dosing method so do not worry about that, just leave that part blank.

I can work with whatever data/spreadsheet you've got, the critical piece is knowing how long after the shot the BG reading was. Eventually though it will be easier if it's in our standard format, we can help with that.

If you can, please get a +3-ish test tonight (so roughly 3 hours after the shot).

We use the site below as our CKD "bible". Here specifically is a link to the food chart - https://felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm

Phosphorus is the primary concern, followed by protein, then sodium. The link above mentions what you should be looking for in terms of amounts.


Young Again, and Wysong Epigen. are these better than the Royal canin glycobalance? I will check them out. Is there a site where samples are available?
 
Young Again, and Wysong Epigen. are these better than the Royal canin glycobalance? I will check them out. Is there a site where samples are available?

Dr Elsey's chicken flavor and young again zero will send you samples just call them
Here are some low carb dry foods ,they are about 5 or 6% carbs
None of them are cheap
You need to order them online
Dr Elseys you can buy on chewey site
https://www.chewy.com/dr-elseys-cleanprotein-chicken/dp/146269?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=12791446238&utm_content=Dr. Elsey's&utm_term=&show-search=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI0PvU2Zj79wIVRIdbCh3JawEkEAQYASABEgIInfD_BwE




Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

Dr Elsey's web site
https://www.drelseys.com

Here is their web site
https://www.wysong.net/epigen
Call then see if they will send a sample
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much. You are right--they are all "veterinary diets" if I remember correctly. All need prescriptions. The vet I work with writes a script for me to send to chewy--they want the original--
I will look into these options. Again, thank you so much.

I actually have a small bag of Dr Elseys clean protein---not getting eaten at this time.
 
and while you may have only come here to find food, the resources here are massive and this group can offer much much more help for you and your cat than just food suggestions.

For example, the insulin type...vetsulin. It is highly recommended that you ask your vet for a different insulin such as Lantus or a generic version of insulin glargine, like Basaglar or Semglee.

The current guidelines for the treatment of feline diabetes (FD) published by the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) in 2018 no longer recommend N/NPH or Caninsulin/Vetsulin for the treatment of FD. These insulins continue to be recommended for dogs but the AAHA noted these types of insulin have insufficient duration to be recommended for the treatment of FD

signature setup:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/


thanks for the invormation on vetsulin. I would like to know if glargine is cheaper--all the prices I am reviewing online are higher than vetsulin. Where do I look for comparative information to the glargine?
 
No I did not know this..... Is there a kibble out there with a better CHO amount? Hoping for <10
Hi I gave you the list above post #25 the post numbers are to the right of each post :cat:
I see you also asked about glargine and the cost
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year





I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens

You will need U-100 syringes with half unit markings for lantus , just insert the syringe into the pen and draw out the insulin.
13.47 for a box of 100 Here is the link to buy them from
If they say you need a script from you vet they will call the vet to fax it over 'ask for refills and give your vets office a heads up . I know that some member didn't need a script at all ,I did I live in N.J. So I guess it depends on where you live

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct



We use the pens just like a vial , just stick the syringe in the gray rubber stopper and draw out your insulin
Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006


Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

The reason we don't use the needles that would go in the pens is because you can only dial the pens by whole units
With the U-100 syringes with half unit markings we can adjust by 0.25 units at a time
 
Last edited:
This is great. I have asked my vet for a script for the glargine. I understand glargine has a longer duration than vetsulin.
we have a Meier Pharmacy and I got the GoodRx coupon for 123.00
I looked at your other post on the dry kibble. I am getting the samples sent to me.
BG starting to get more of them.

DATE ---TIME ---BG--- PRE/POST/HOURS AFTER EATING ---APPETITE --- INSULIN UNIT DOSE TIME OF INJECTION--- COMMENT
27-Jul ---1700 --606 PRE F 2.5 (U40) 1705
28-Jul ---615A --516 PRE ?FASTING? F-G 2.5 630 HAD FRISKIES DRY DURING NOC
28-Jul ---1823 --564 PRE F 2.5 1830 STILL HAS ACCESS TO REG KIBBLE
28-Jul ---2213 --317 RANDOM POST 4 HOURS 0 0 0 POST 4 HR AFTER FEEDING
29-Jul ----615 --485 FASTING BG G 2.5 630 ALL FOOD PUT AWAY LAST NIGHT
29-Jul--- 1240--3 HOURS POST EATING.....106 BG ????GOOD DROP OF BLOOD

JUST A BIT NERVOUS ON THE SIGNIFICANT DROP.....SHOULD I GO BACK ON THE INSULIN -CURRENTLY GETTING 2.5U VETSULIN

this is with covering all food sources up between 0830 and 1240.

i gave her a little moist ff for the 106 bg.
 
Last edited:
@eva eva
That's great don't forget to order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings


https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct

When and if you start the glargine please post and ask what your starting dose should be
I just realized you don't have a spreadsheet set up
That's the only way the members here can help you

How to set up your spreadsheet this will also explain how it works Understanding the spreadsheet , it's very simple
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/


our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you need advice , if you need help with setting it up just ask

Enter what BG reading you already have when you set up your spreadsheet
 
Last edited:
i struggled with the spread sheet. tried to make my own and snip it in.---you can seehow that worked.
 
That is a massive, massive drop (and then a massive rebound up to 500/600). 106 at +6.5 means he was lower before that....so reiterating my prior advice to give 2U as your normal dose. That may be a smidge too high still but we'll see.
 
thank you for your help. I really appreciate the help. I went down to the 2 unit. As I read above with the monitor (alphatrak2) can read a bit higher than it is . So yes, that was a massive drop. that is why i gave her a little regular kibble. 4-5 pieces. I also made sure she had her FF pate for the protein breakdown for a longer sustaining of her sugar till the vetsulin wears off. she didn't have any s/s that i noticed. (other than resisting me on the BG).
It would be better if I could get the SS up and running. I have a booklet currently.

7/30/2022
0630 bg 450, this am bg was 45 min post eating. I only gave 1 unit. I will recheck 3-4 hours post again. ( I know pre eating is best to get first) . With her being 450 post i am afraid if I gave her the 2 unit it would tank her bg. Hypoglycemia is much more dangerous........i have real maple syrup to apply to her gums if she gets hypoglycemic.
 
@eva eva
That's great don't forget to order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings


https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct

When and if you start the glargine please post and ask what your starting dose should be
I just realized you don't have a spreadsheet set up
That's the only way the members here can help you

How to set up your spreadsheet this will also explain how it works Understanding the spreadsheet , it's very simple
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/


our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you need advice , if you need help with setting it up just ask

Enter what BG reading you already have when you set up your spreadsheet
My vet wrote a script for the vial of glargine. Will the pharmacy give me the pens if they are cheaper? I just remembered, once open the vial lasts 42 days..... the pens allow better storage for dosing and lasting.
 
My vet wrote a script for the vial of glargine. Will the pharmacy give me the pens if they are cheaper? I just remembered, once open the vial lasts 42 days..... the pens allow better storage for dosing and lasting.
I really don't know ,I wish your vet wrote it for the pens. If your vet is open today maybe you can have the phar pharmacy call the vet and she can change it
Don't forget you need the U-100 syringes with half unit markings
A vial or pen of glargine will last up to 6 months depending on the dose
5 pens will last a year or more. The manufacturer says it will last 28 days that's just for humans
 
Last edited:
My vet wrote a script for the vial of glargine. Will the pharmacy give me the pens if they are cheaper? I just remembered, once open the vial lasts 42 days..... the pens allow better storage for dosing and lasting.
I vial last for up to 6 months if not longer as long as you keep it in the refrigerator. I'm on month 3 as of today. The pens do last longer though, I have 2 pens that I will be using once I'm done with the vial.
 
on another subject: is there a site on renal insufficiency cat care and feeding? have a 14 yo long-hair, eats royal canin canned wet, very little dry--either special diet or friskies treats. Would like to know if the list on diabetic cats could be used for renal cats--focusing on the phosphorus content....what is the percentage to keep it below. What should the other parameters be: protien, fat, cho,-----can't seem to find these on line.



For kitties with diabetes and kitties that have kidney disease
Weruva foods
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com


When you go to the weruva site and click on one of the pic of the food , click on Detailed Nutritional information that is under guaranteed analysis to the left Detailed Nutrition Information Tap on that
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS

Go to this thread , there are a lot of weruva foods listed here in post #3 , post numbers are to the left
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kidney-disease.262271/#post-2940026

If your cat only likes pate check these out
https://weruva.com/brand-summary/slide-n-serve/
 
Last edited:
i have dropped down to the 1 unit of the vetsulin for the next few days. I feel I am trying to fix her sugars way too quickly. She is eating, she is acting normal, I don't want to tank her sugars.
07/27---1700 bg---606 2.5 unit
7/28----615 bg---516 ---2.5 unit starting to change diet
7/28--- 1823 bg---564---2.5unit
7/28----2213 bg 317-----------
7/29---0615 bg----485----2.5 unit---
7/29---1240 bg -----106----------too low too fast----?? 20-30 lower with alphatrak2 monitor?????? way too low--- given 4-5 pieces of regular friskies kibble
7/29--- 1725 bg----2.25 unit------ate well. left kibble available for night
______________________________________________________________________
07/30-----0630 BG---450 taken 45 minutes post eating given 1 unit vetsulin
7/30----1030 BG 425---taken 4 hours post insulin and eating
07/30---1830 BG---497---premeal BG----1 unit given 1 hour later
0730----2230---missed BG
08/01----0600 BG-----465 pre meal----1 unit vetsulin given 1 hour after meal. appetite good. acting normal. PU/PD
from what I have read, the alpha trak2 machine runs 20-30 point higher than her actual BG. So this last sugar could be 435-445?
I won't be able to do sugars for the next 24 hours.. oot. friend will be giving 1 unit for the next 2 doses. (i draw it up and store in fridge.)

Is there a pharmacy that is cheaper than USA for the glargine? I have read Canada is cheaper.....if so, where would this pharmacy be if anyone is using Canada?
 
I have the script for the Glargine. should I use up all the Vetsulin first and then order the Glargine? If I do, ae there any adjustments I need to do due to the different insulin?
I have my spreadsheet started.....little confusing. especially if I do more bg in the same hour?
 
I have the script for the Glargine. should I use up all the Vetsulin first and then order the Glargine? If I do, ae there any adjustments I need to do due to the different insulin?
I have my spreadsheet started.....little confusing. especially if I do more bg in the same hour?

whether you use up the vetsulin first or not is up to you, but considering it is not a good insulin for cats -- I would just switch right away if I were you. As far as adjustments I am not one to advise you there. Let's wait for one of the experts.

If you test the BG more than once in a time-period, you can stack the values in the cell, with a note that one test was a different time, like this time where I tested Hendrick's BG and it was 45, then I tested again 20 minutes later and it was 68:

upload_2022-8-2_12-23-57.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-2_12-23-57.png
    upload_2022-8-2_12-23-57.png
    1.2 KB · Views: 713
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top