Wendy&Lewis
Member Since 2011
Hi,
My name is Wendy and I'm new here. Not sure if this is the right board to post questions, please let me know if it's not.
My beloved cat Lewis was diagnosed with diabetes last Saturday. It's been 5 days but I feel like 5 years...
Lewis is a neutered male cat, almost 6 years old. Two years ago he had urinary tract problem and was on Purina UR prescription dry food ever since. Some special days (2-3 times/week) I gave him Fancy Feast Appetizer or Classic canfood for treat. He absolutely loves it.
I took him to vet because he was vomiting (like 2-3 times a week), accompanied with some diarrhea. His initial BG was 470. We did urination check and luckily, no ketone found. My vet gave me PZI and told me to give him injections twice per day, 1 unit each time. So I did. I also changed his diet to wet food-only.
However, we could not start a set routine for insulin injections and diet because of his vomiting problem... His stool is almost normal now (sometimes it's a little mushy but my vet said not to worry about it), but he keeps vomiting up his food.
Monday, he vomitted up his food twice. I was feeding him Purina DM can food, so I thought he might not like the food. I switched to Fancy Feast Appetizer and Wellness can food, trying to figure out which one he likes better. My vet also gave me Famotidine to mix with his food at every meal and Propulsid--which is an oral medication that I need to give him 30 minutes before eating, 2-3 times/day.
Due to his vomiting, I skipped one insulin shot on Monday morning. Only one shot Monday night.
Tuesday, I fed him 6 little meals throughout the day. So no vomit. But because he was eating tiny amount every time, I was worried the insulin might be too much and did not give him the morning shot. One shot Tuesday night.
Wednesday, took him to the vet before breakfast and morning shot. Got the AMPS BG, which was 500!!! My vet used a home test kit for that BG test just to show me how to use it at home....however, I fainted at the sight of blood.....which was quite a disaster.
That said, I couldn't do any home test yet. Felt like a loser and I deicided to make it today....but, Lewis vomited up his breakfast in the morning. I gave him another round of food, and gave him the insulin shot. Everything was fine until noon...he vomited again. I called my vet, he told me to feed him frequently but very small amount each time, so I'm doing it. My vet also changed his mind--before he told me to skip one insulin shot if he vomits, now he said please go ahead give him the injection and feed him a little more later, because his BG is not being controlled very well.
His last meal was about 1 hour ago. He does not seem very energetic and playful right now, not a good sign. Usually he would be very happy and playful after eating. :sad:
I'm so worried about him. Sorry for the long post, and here are my main questions:
1. I know I'm doing a poor job regulating him, but I'm really worried about his vomiting problem right now. I just hope he'll stop vomiting soon so that I can put him on a regular diet and hopefully do his BG curve soon (my fainting will go away, I have confidence). Is it normal for a sugar cat to vomit up his food that frequently?
2. Is Fancy Feast Appetizer a good choice for sugar cat? I've tried different types of wet food, but it seems this is by far his favorite. I'm definitely open to suggestions.
3. I live in Northern Virginia, but my vet is in Gaithersburg, Maryland (we used to live close by). It's such a long distance to drive up there so it becomes inconvenient since we have to go up there frequently now. Can anyone recommend a good vet (with experience dealing with diabetic cats preferred) in NoVA area?
Thank you all for reading.
A very worried mom
My name is Wendy and I'm new here. Not sure if this is the right board to post questions, please let me know if it's not.
My beloved cat Lewis was diagnosed with diabetes last Saturday. It's been 5 days but I feel like 5 years...
Lewis is a neutered male cat, almost 6 years old. Two years ago he had urinary tract problem and was on Purina UR prescription dry food ever since. Some special days (2-3 times/week) I gave him Fancy Feast Appetizer or Classic canfood for treat. He absolutely loves it.
I took him to vet because he was vomiting (like 2-3 times a week), accompanied with some diarrhea. His initial BG was 470. We did urination check and luckily, no ketone found. My vet gave me PZI and told me to give him injections twice per day, 1 unit each time. So I did. I also changed his diet to wet food-only.
However, we could not start a set routine for insulin injections and diet because of his vomiting problem... His stool is almost normal now (sometimes it's a little mushy but my vet said not to worry about it), but he keeps vomiting up his food.
Monday, he vomitted up his food twice. I was feeding him Purina DM can food, so I thought he might not like the food. I switched to Fancy Feast Appetizer and Wellness can food, trying to figure out which one he likes better. My vet also gave me Famotidine to mix with his food at every meal and Propulsid--which is an oral medication that I need to give him 30 minutes before eating, 2-3 times/day.
Due to his vomiting, I skipped one insulin shot on Monday morning. Only one shot Monday night.
Tuesday, I fed him 6 little meals throughout the day. So no vomit. But because he was eating tiny amount every time, I was worried the insulin might be too much and did not give him the morning shot. One shot Tuesday night.
Wednesday, took him to the vet before breakfast and morning shot. Got the AMPS BG, which was 500!!! My vet used a home test kit for that BG test just to show me how to use it at home....however, I fainted at the sight of blood.....which was quite a disaster.
That said, I couldn't do any home test yet. Felt like a loser and I deicided to make it today....but, Lewis vomited up his breakfast in the morning. I gave him another round of food, and gave him the insulin shot. Everything was fine until noon...he vomited again. I called my vet, he told me to feed him frequently but very small amount each time, so I'm doing it. My vet also changed his mind--before he told me to skip one insulin shot if he vomits, now he said please go ahead give him the injection and feed him a little more later, because his BG is not being controlled very well.
His last meal was about 1 hour ago. He does not seem very energetic and playful right now, not a good sign. Usually he would be very happy and playful after eating. :sad:
I'm so worried about him. Sorry for the long post, and here are my main questions:
1. I know I'm doing a poor job regulating him, but I'm really worried about his vomiting problem right now. I just hope he'll stop vomiting soon so that I can put him on a regular diet and hopefully do his BG curve soon (my fainting will go away, I have confidence). Is it normal for a sugar cat to vomit up his food that frequently?
2. Is Fancy Feast Appetizer a good choice for sugar cat? I've tried different types of wet food, but it seems this is by far his favorite. I'm definitely open to suggestions.
3. I live in Northern Virginia, but my vet is in Gaithersburg, Maryland (we used to live close by). It's such a long distance to drive up there so it becomes inconvenient since we have to go up there frequently now. Can anyone recommend a good vet (with experience dealing with diabetic cats preferred) in NoVA area?
Thank you all for reading.
A very worried mom