So he could be all over the place for the next 2 days then. Would you have given him the 0.25?? I am just so afraid he will drop and I will not be there.
You know your cat better than I ever will. You know Ninja's little quirks and what they mean. You are still learning to use the Vetsulin and what to do if the numbers drop low. We talked about Shoot/no shoot limit back in post #45 (back on page 1).
Here it is again though. For those just starting out giving insulin, still new to home testing, trying to then do a food change to lower carb after they are testing, we suggest a No shoot limit of 200 to start. That will change over time as you gain experience and can be lowered.
Options:
1. You can always stall the shot, and recheck in 20-30 minutes to see if BG level is rising. If you have already fed, then we'll see some food influence in the next reading.
2. You can give a token dose. Usually 1/2 or less of the normal dose. He might be high at the next pre-shot, but he'll get back on track.
3. You can skip the shot entirely.
Ninja has given you low numbers in the past and you have skipped the shot. You will skip the dose again. It's easy to start right back up with the next dosing cycle. No worries. He'll get back on track.
Remember that you took your cat Ninja on vacation with you to visit your sister over the holidays! How many people would do that? Remember that Ninja was only diagnosed 1 month ago. Remember that you put in all that effort to get not only Ninja but Smokey and Jasper eating a better low carb food. It wasn't easy to find foods they would all like and eat.
You've come a long way. You are doing well. It takes time. This is a marathon not a sprint. Tortoise vs hare.
p.s. I don't have to go to work. I'm retired. Still have to do all that normal daily stuff like grocery shopping and laundry. I would have given the normal dose, since I would have been home all day to test. In your situation, I would have given the reduced dose, half the normal amount or less IF (and it's a big IF) I knew the BG was rising with a second BG test AND I knew Ninja was eating well, had a good appetite. No I would not have given Ninja his full dose on a BG of 158 if I was not there to monitor.