Newly diagnosed and overwhelmed.

Make sure you withhold food for at least 2 hours before you do the BG test this evening (and before all pre-shot tests).

Although, if there is some holiday turkey or roast beef hanging around, Ninja might let you sneak him a bit after the next BG test.

Vetsulin is a U40 insulin but it is possible to use U100 syringes if you use a conversion chart. Can be an extra step to use the different U100 syringes. You might not want to do that right now, but if you are interested, I'll find you a link to the conversion chart.
 
Good catch on that 57 today. Glad Deb was here to help. You handled it well. That 57 is far lower than you want kitty going when on Vetsulin so yes I would reduce the dose. It looks like a dose of 1.25u might be better so until you get syringes with half unit markings or U100 syringes to use with the conversion chart, I would try a dose of a fat 1u. By that I mean that instead of having the plunger lined up on the 1.0u line, line it up at the bottom of the 1.0u line to provide just a smidge over 1.0u. Sometimes just a little tweek is all you need.
 
Good catch on that 57 today. Glad Deb was here to help. You handled it well. That 57 is far lower than you want kitty going when on Vetsulin so yes I would reduce the dose. It looks like a dose of 1.25u might be better so until you get syringes with half unit markings or U100 syringes to use with the conversion chart, I would try a dose of a fat 1u. By that I mean that instead of having the plunger lined up on the 1.0u line, line it up at the bottom of the 1.0u line to provide just a smidge over 1.0u. Sometimes just a little tweek is all you need.
 
Perfect!!!! Thank you all so much!!!! I would be so lost without you all!!! I love my vet but he’s not available like you all!!! I’ll do the fat 1unit. My syringes have been delivered so when I get back home I can start using them.
 
With the half unit marked syringes, you could try a dose of 1.25u and see how that works. If it's still too much (any drops below about 90 earn a reduction) then try the fat 1.0u. Obviously trying to do in between the marks dosing is simply eyeballing best you can even with the half unit markings. Consistency is more important than absolute accuracy so you might want to draw up what you perceive to be the dose you want to use and make a sample syringe with some coloured water to use as a comparison gauge.
 
With the half unit marked syringes, you could try a dose of 1.25u and see how that works. If it's still too much (any drops below about 90 earn a reduction) then try the fat 1.0u. Obviously trying to do in between the marks dosing is simply eyeballing best you can even with the half unit markings. Consistency is more important than absolute accuracy so you might want to draw up what you perceive to be the dose you want to use and make a sample syringe with some coloured water to use as a comparison gauge.
Ok. Thank you again sooo much!!!
 
Ok at the + 5 he is 131. I’ll pick the food up at 5 two hours before his next dose. Do I need to check him anymore this afternoon before his second shot?
 
Actually there can be another mild drop of BG around +8 post shot so you might want to do another check around then just to see how Ninja is doing. The 2nd drop is more subtle and may not show up but with BG being lower today, good idea to check to see if Ninja has surfed through or if he drops at all.
 
Good +8 BG number Ninja!

Dana, wanted to let you know that I will not be around to help this evening. I'm on the east coast US and I'm one of those people that go to bed really, really early. I'll be asleep before you even do your PMPS test tonight.

So, some things to consider before shot/no shot decision tonight.

1. Lots of new people on the message board. Not many experienced people around since it is a holiday for a lot of people and they are with their families.
2. Not sure if Linda or anyone else will be available to assist.
3. Are you comfortable handling those low numbers yourself?
4. Being at your sister's home, do you know where the closest 24 hour emergency vet is if needed?
5. Weather and road conditions for driving where you are.
6. Do you know how to hand feed if Ninja won't eat for you if numbers are low and you need to bring the BG up?

I know you are visiting your sister, and might not get to do that very often, so you need to balance that with taking care of Ninja.

You might want to review the following Sticky in the Caninsulin/Vetsulin ISG and print a copy if at all possible. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/
 
Good +8 BG number Ninja!

Dana, wanted to let you know that I will not be around to help this evening. I'm on the east coast US and I'm one of those people that go to bed really, really early. I'll be asleep before you even do your PMPS test tonight.

So, some things to consider before shot/no shot decision tonight.

1. Lots of new people on the message board. Not many experienced people around since it is a holiday for a lot of people and they are with their families.
2. Not sure if Linda or anyone else will be available to assist.
3. Are you comfortable handling those low numbers yourself?
4. Being at your sister's home, do you know where the closest 24 hour emergency vet is if needed?
5. Weather and road conditions for driving where you are.
6. Do you know how to hand feed if Ninja won't eat for you if numbers are low and you need to bring the BG up?

I know you are visiting your sister, and might not get to do that very often, so you need to balance that with taking care of Ninja.

You might want to review the following Sticky in the Caninsulin/Vetsulin ISG and print a copy if at all possible. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/[/
Thank you so much. I will be ok. I appreciate all your help today. Have a wonderful evening and a very Merry Christmas!!
 
Took a quick peek at the SS and looks like Ninja did ok last night. Much nicer to see BG readings early in the cycle in the 90's (more normal range) then in the 50's (low and we don't want to see it drop too much lower without risk of symptomatic hypo). With BG readings in the 90's, you could have tried giving Ninja more food and not the karo syrup and done a retest as you did. Sometimes food alone is enough to bring the BG levels up sufficiently.

Vetsulin does tend to have those fast and steep drops early and you are certainly seeing that with Ninja.

Are you testing, feeding, waiting 20-30 minutes, then giving the insulin? Might be important to let the food digest a bit and try to balance the food getting into the bloodstream and insulin actions.

You said Ninja did not like the Dr Elseys food. Are you still feeding some of the Glycobalance? Ok if you are not, but it would certainly contribute to the lower BG numbers you are seeing.

What flavor of Fancy Feast is Ninja's favorite? I remember that my sugardude Wink loved the Turkey & Giblets flavor. It's what got him off the dry food after many struggles to get my "dry food addict" to eat wet food.

Maybe an extra bit of food at +1 (another 1/4 can of the Fancy Feast) if Ninja will eat it could help balance the BG levels and even out the glucose levels a bit so Ninja doesn't have such steep drops in BG.
 
Took a quick peek at the SS and looks like Ninja did ok last night. Much nicer to see BG readings early in the cycle in the 90's (more normal range) then in the 50's (low and we don't want to see it drop too much lower without risk of symptomatic hypo). With BG readings in the 90's, you could have tried giving Ninja more food and not the karo syrup and done a retest as you did. Sometimes food alone is enough to bring the BG levels up sufficiently.

Vetsulin does tend to have those fast and steep drops early and you are certainly seeing that with Ninja.

Are you testing, feeding, waiting 20-30 minutes, then giving the insulin? Might be important to let the food digest a bit and try to balance the food getting into the bloodstream and insulin actions.

You said Ninja did not like the Dr Elseys food. Are you still feeding some of the Glycobalance? Ok if you are not, but it would certainly contribute to the lower BG numbers you are seeing.

What flavor of Fancy Feast is Ninja's favorite? I remember that my sugardude Wink loved the Turkey & Giblets flavor. It's what got him off the dry food after many struggles to get my "dry food addict" to eat wet food.

Maybe an extra bit of food at +1 (another 1/4 can of the Fancy Feast) if Ninja will eat it could help balance the BG levels and even out the glucose levels a bit so Ninja doesn't have such steep drops in BG.
Thank you sooo much!! We need all the checking we can get! He was 275 at 7am this morning and I did as you suggested and let him eat first. Gave 1 unit at 7:30. So now for the +3 do I crack at 10am or 10:30?

He seems to like all the FF classic pates. Not picky about those, just the Dr. Elsey’s. Ugh.

I’m very sad that he doesn’t like the Dr. Elseys. I did not bring the glycobalance with me. I am hoping he will at least like that. I have to go back to work during the day strartinf Jan. 2nd ans there is no way I can leave wet food out with my other cats as I know they will eat it before Ninja does. My plan was to feed them all the same. Wet food mornings and evening then low carb dry during the day. I’ll have to see if there is another lower carb dry besides the glycobalance that he will like. Ugh, I bought 2 bags of it. Lesson learned there too.
 
The +3 check is from the time you did the pre-shot test, not when you gave the insulin shot. So that would be 10 am your time. Any of the additional checks for a 12 hour cycle are calculated from the pre-shot test time. So +5 would be 5 hours after pre-shot test, +8 would be 8 hours after pre-shot test.

The glycobalance dry isn't low carb. It's about 29% carb wet matter basis, 32% dry matter basis. You are looking for <10% carbs. I use this calculator to get the rough estimates of carb content for cat foods.

Have you tried adding a bit of water to the Dr. Elsey's dry? Maybe Ninja would eat some if it's wet. Might try adding water and mashing it up so it's more like wet food.

Yes, it's tough when you have other cats that scarf up the food as quickly as possible when they notice it's there. Maybe a timed feeder? Or putting Ninja in a room alone during the day with food, water and litter box when you are at work? Don't even know if those options would be possible for you. I used a hallway bathroom when I had a kitty that needed extra care and special feeding.

What food was Ninja and your other cats eating before the diabetes diagnosis?

p.s. Just add a note on your SS that you fed first, waited how ever amount of time between feeding and shot so we'll see that in future.
 
Last edited:
Ok, I’ll check him at 10. I was feeding them all Purina Cat chow complete. Been on that since they were kittens. I asked my vet when they were kittens if that was ok and he said yes. Ugh.

I’ll try some water in the Dr. Elseys. I hate to separate them during the day because they are really bonded and love yo be with each other, but if I have too I will.

I want you to know I so appreciate all your help!! I would be so lost without this site. Hopefully I will be able to pay it forward someday.
 
Last edited:
120 is a nice safe BG number for Ninja at +3. Certainly no need for any corn syrup this time!

If he's hungry, no problem with trying to see if he'll eat some more FF.

I'd suggest the same test, feed, wait 30 minutes, shoot that you did this morning.
 
120 is a nice safe BG number for Ninja at +3. Certainly no need for any corn syrup this time!

If he's hungry, no problem with trying to see if he'll eat some more FF.

I'd suggest the same test, feed, wait 30 minutes, shoot that you did this morning.
Right. I was happy with that number. He did eat a little more FF . I’m gonna check him at 3pm again. Yes, I think I will do that with testing from now on. Thank you!
 
Looking forward to the +8.

Hoping the delay between food and insulin continues to keep Ninja in safer numbers. At least my hope is that this will continue to work for Ninja and you will feel ok leaving for work in the morning when you start back to work on 1/2/20.

Fast acting insulins like Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin) and the NPH insulins (Novolin N, Humulin N) can be tricky to use. Caninsulin was developed and tested for use in dogs and works better in canines (hence the name). The NPH insulins often don't give BG control for more than 6-8 hours for a cat and you need to wait even longer (45 -60 minutes used to be the suggested wait time) between food and shot back when I was using them.

Some cats can do ok on Vetsulin and hoping that Ninja is one of them. Prozinc is another of the in and out insulins (duration usually 12 hours or less) that you might want to consider with your work schedule, but please give the Vetsulin and the adjustments in routine and dosing that we are trying time to work.

How are Jasper and Smokey doing back at home with their substitute caregiver? Bet they are looking forward to your return.

You have been fantastic at taking care of Ninja, from deciding to keep your plans to visit your sister for the holiday, 2 hour road trip with him, to changing the food to low carb, to testing and keeping us updated. I know it must be hard and you probably wish you had an event free visit with your sister, but Ninja had other ideas.

I know we have been asking you to do a lot of testing and you wanted to be cost conscious but with even 1 unit of the Vetsulin dropping Ninja into really low numbers really early in the cycle, it's been important to get those tests. So thank you. Hopefully, Ninja won't always drop so low and need all these tests to keep him safe from a hypo. Maybe the Relion Prime meter is something you may want to use for testing in your future.

Life is busy and full and Ninja has added a bit to those responsibilities, but he's worth it.

p.s. So much information covered in this post. May be worth it to go back to reread and review.
 
Thank you for your kind words. This has definitely been a learning journey and I know I still have much to learn. His +8 number was 252. At least it wasn’t low. I too hope that the vetsulin will work for him. I think there is still much adjusting to be done.

My kitty sitter is fantastic! She sent me pics and my other 2 are doing great. I go home tomorrow and am looking forward to getting this into a routine and hope things will look better when I head back to work.

I have not minded testing Ninja at all, want him to be ok. He is definitely worth it!!! I do feel bad for his little ears but he is being a champ! I did switch to the Relion premier classic meter. I am so thankful for all the help I have been getting, would be so lost without it! Thank you!! I’m sure I will continue to ask questions but hopefully I’ll start getting a handle on it.
 
Black ears can be so difficult to see the blood drop hiding in that dark fur. Some tips to help Ninja's poor ears.

You can switch back and forth between ears, using different ears to test. Sometimes one ear bleeds better than the other.

Putting a bit of pressure on the ear for a bit (30 to 60 seconds) after you get the blood sample can help to reduce bruising. Just like when you have your blood drawn at the lab, that pressure bandage helps to reduce bruising.

Have a safe trip back home tomorrow with Ninja. Give Smokey and Jasper hugs from us when you get back. Sending hugs to Ninja too.

You are certainly getting a crash course in Feline Diabetes at home care. Keep asking questions, it's how we learn.

p.s. When you get a chance, would you please update your signature to reflect that you switched to the Relion Premier meter. A line inserted on the spreadsheet, between dates to show when you switched meters would be helpful too, as well as changing the spot at the top of the SS that says which meter you are using. And if you can, insert a line in the SS before the 12/13/19 tests to show you were using the Freestyle meter at the beginning.
 
I do alternate ears and I do hold pressure on them. I think it bothers me more than him, LOL. I have enjoyed my visit and Ninja has done great, but it will be nice to get back home. I’ll update my signature. Thank you! Ninja thanks you all too!!
 

Attachments

  • 8B0A3616-2EC5-4B37-AE07-517DE90C6714.jpeg
    8B0A3616-2EC5-4B37-AE07-517DE90C6714.jpeg
    69.4 KB · Views: 250
Is that picture of Ninja taken at your sister's home? He looks like he's saying "Another road trip? So soon? Just got settled in here."

Any luck with getting Ninja to eat the Dr Elseys food with some water added? Maybe if he is back home and sees his siblings eating it, that will tempt him to try it.
 
That is Ninja last night at my sister’s house. He did so well! I’m so proud of him. We just got home. He’s eaten a little of the Dr. Elsey’s and yes I’m hoping when he sees Smokey and Jasper eat he will too. We will see. Ready to settle back in our routine and relax. Again thank you for your support and help the past few days. I really appreciate it!
 
I think we are doing a little better. Staying under 300 and above 90. He seems better, more like his old self these past two days. Even played yesterday with his toy. His fur is looking better and I think he looks like he is gaining some weight. Not sure if I should be adjusting his dose more or just leave it as it is. I go back to work on January 2nd so the +3 and + 8 tests will not be happening. I can check him when I get home at +9. Will that be beneficial?
 
Seeming more like his old self and playing and fur looking better are all positive signs. Even gaining a bit of weight can be good if he got too skinny.

Could you try giving a bit more insulin, either try 1.25 or what we would call a 'fat 1' unit. A 'fat' dose would be with daylight showing over the line. A 'skinny' dose would be with daylight showing under the line. The 1.25 would be halfway between the 1 and 1.5 if you got those syringes with the 1/2 unit markings.

A +9 in the AM cycle will likely show you that the insulin isn't lasting long enough (duration is too short). Right now, the +8 is showing us that info.
If you are still able to get the +3 during the PM cycle, that would be good.

With the shot done 30 minutes after feeding Ninja, it does keep him from dropping into those really low numbers below 90. That's good.

I'm still not sure that the Vetsulin has a long enough duration. Does your vet prescribe other insulins?
 
Last edited:
Seeming more like his old self and playing and fur looking better are all positive signs. Even gaining a bit of weight can be good if he got too skinny.

Could you try giving a bit more insulin, either try 1.25 or what we would call a 'fat 1' unit. A 'fat' dose would be with daylight showing over the line. A 'skinny' dose would be with daylight showing under the line. The 1.25 would be halfway between the 1 and 1.5 if you got those syringes with the 1/2 unit markings.

A +9 in the AM cycle will likely show you that the insulin isn't lasting long enough (duration is too short). Right now, the +8 is showing us that info.
If you are still able to get the +3 during the PM cycle, that would be good.

With the shot done 30 minutes after feeding Ninja, it does keep him from dropping into those really low numbers below 90. That's good.

I'm still not sure that the Vetsulin has a long enough duration. Does your vet prescribe other insulins?[/


Ooof! I jinxed us! Lol! He was 301 this morning. He ate then 30 minutes later I gave him the fat unit. Will see what he is at +3. So doing a +9 would not be beneficial? I don’t know if my vet prescribes other insulin’s. Let’s see how the fat units do over the next couple of days then if I need to I’ll ask him.

Yes him gaining a little weight makes me feel so much better. He’s never ever been overweight so when he started losing weight is what prompted me to take him to the vet. I could see his little backbone and his hips were so skinny.

Man I wish this wasn’t so hard. Too bad they don’t do CGMs and insulin pumps for kitties! Lol!
 

Ooof! I jinxed us! Lol! He was 301 this morning. He ate then 30 minutes later I gave him the fat unit. Will see what he is at +3. So doing a +9 would not be beneficial? I don’t know if my vet prescribes other insulin’s. Let’s see how the fat units do over the next couple of days then if I need to I’ll ask him.

Yes him gaining a little weight makes me feel so much better. He’s never ever been overweight so when he started losing weight is what prompted me to take him to the vet. I could see his little backbone and his hips were so skinny.

Man I wish this wasn’t so hard. Too bad they don’t do CGMs and insulin pumps for kitties! Lol!
 
There is a continous glucouse monitor (CGM) that some people have used for their cats. The Freestyle Libre. No idea of the cost, especially since this is for a cat and Ninja probably doesn't have health insurance that would help cover the cost. Good for 14 days. Have read some comments that it falls off easily. Well, understandable since cat fur grows back fairly quickly and cats will scratch at it and try to remove it.

This article talks about other CGMs available.

You could do a +9 once you go back to work. All data gathering is good. It could provide more information to use with your vet, to show that the duration is not there with the Vetsulin.

Vetsulin isn't an insulin recommended for use in cats, because the duration and control just isn't there. If Ninja was a dog, it would be the appropriate insulin. AAHA Diabetes Guidelines has lots of info. Here is the section from the guidelines about insulins for cats.

In the UK, Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) used to be the first insulin that vets could by law prescribe, for dogs or cats. That has changed over the years and the RVC now recommends prozinc for cats as the insulin of first choice. Some vets seem to treat cats as if they are small dogs, which we know doesn't always work.

Some cats do become regulated on Vetsulin. Too soon to say with Ninja.

If you're interested in more reading about insulins for cats vs dogs, here is a good article. A bit dated, 2015 but still good info. Here is a second article from 2014 about how Vetsulin is not the first choice for cats.

Best chance of remission is with one of the longer acting insulins and low carb diet. Best chance of remission occurs in the first 6 months. Managing Feline Diabetes - Current Perspectives is from 2018, published in one of the vet journals.

To me, knowledge is power, so I like to read some of the current thinking on treating diabetic cats and letting people know about some of the resources that are out there. Up to you if you want to read any of these articles.
 
There is a continous glucouse monitor (CGM) that some people have used for their cats. The Freestyle Libre. No idea of the cost, especially since this is for a cat and Ninja probably doesn't have health insurance that would help cover the cost. Good for 14 days. Have read some comments that it falls off easily. Well, understandable since cat fur grows back fairly quickly and cats will scratch at it and try to remove it.

This article talks about other CGMs available.

You could do a +9 once you go back to work. All data gathering is good. It could provide more information to use with your vet, to show that the duration is not there with the Vetsulin.

Vetsulin isn't an insulin recommended for use in cats, because the duration and control just isn't there. If Ninja was a dog, it would be the appropriate insulin. AAHA Diabetes Guidelines has lots of info. Here is the section from the guidelines about insulins for cats.

In the UK, Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) used to be the first insulin that vets could by law prescribe, for dogs or cats. That has changed over the years and the RVC now recommends prozinc for cats as the insulin of first choice. Some vets seem to treat cats as if they are small dogs, which we know doesn't always work.

Some cats do become regulated on Vetsulin. Too soon to say with Ninja.

If you're interested in more reading about insulins for cats vs dogs, here is a good article. A bit dated, 2015 but still good info. Here is a second article from 2014 about how Vetsulin is not the first choice for cats.

Best chance of remission is with one of the longer acting insulins and low carb diet. Best chance of remission occurs in the first 6 months. Managing Feline Diabetes - Current Perspectives is from 2018, published in one of the vet journals.

To me, knowledge is power, so I like to read some of the current thinking on treating diabetic cats and letting people know about some of the resources that are out there. Up to you if you want to read any of these articles.
 
Thank you for all this information. His +3 after the fat unit was 106. I gave him 1/4 can of FF. Was that ok, or should I have just let it be?
 
More food at +3 is fine. What you don't want to do is feed much past the time of Ninja's nadir (which seems to be right around that +3 or a smidge later). The exception would be if the BG levels continue to drop and get much under 90, than a teaspoon or 2 of wet food would help. More food after that nadir will simply make the BG levels higher later in the cycle.

Ninja would likely have been fine with that +3 of 106 without any food. But, you said he needed to gain back some weight so a bit more food early in the cycle doesn't hurt.

Do you think he will eat the Dr. Elseys dry food during the day when you are gone? Not sure what you were going to do to keep your other 2 cats from eating all the kibble.
 
Well shoot. He wanted food at around 1:30 so I gave him another 1/4 can. Guess we will see what the +8 number is. I’m not sure if he will eat the Dr. Elsey’s when I’m at work, actually my other 2 cats aren’t crazy about it either. I am waiting for samples of the Young Again Zero Mature. Hopefully they will like that one if not I’m not sure what I will do.
 
The Young Again Zero Mature (YAZM) often gives cats either diarrhea or extremely stinky, I mean clear the house stinky, poops. So don't be surprised if your cats have those issues. Sometimes the stinky gaseousness and diarrhea go away after the cats digestive system gets used to that food. Just something to be aware of.

Still worth a try. Some cats really love that YAZM.
 
+8 he was 377, guess I shouldn’t have given him that snack at 1:30.

Ugh stinky diarrhea poops! Good grief. What should I do if that one doesn’t work? I am going to put out the Dr . Elsey’s while I am at work, maybe if they get hungry enough they will eat it. Tried putting water with it, they still weren’t crazy about it. Any other suggestions?
 
Last edited:
Well, now you know what feeding Ninja later in the cycle does to his BG numbers. Maybe next time, just a small treat, like any sort of pure meat would be good. Just a few very small pieces, thumbnail size, should be plenty.

1. Automatic Pet feeder like the Petsafe 5. Other cats may come to recognize the sound of the compartment opening.

Another version works on the microchip your cat has and only that cat can get to the feeder. Such as Surefeed Microchip pet feeder. There are probably others out there.

2. Hockey pucks. By that I mean freezing some canned food in an ice cube tray and leaving a couple of frozen chunks in a dish to unthaw while you are away at work. Or you can take a can of cat food, empty the can onto a flat tray like a cookie sheet and cut into chunks, either 1/4 can or 1/2 can is a good size, and freeze. Store in ziploc type bag after frozen and take out when needed.

3. Separate quarters for Ninja while you are away at work.
 
Yes, I learned a lesson, his cute little meows are very persuasive tho, but I can do tough love. I love the hockey puck idea!! I think that might work great for my cats!! Thank you!
 
Oh boy! PMPS Tonight he was 192. So I don’t give him the insulin right? His blood sugars after the AMPS have been in the 100’s all day.
 
He's been in the low/mid/high BG levels. Not too low. Nice surfing in the lagoon.

Are you able to get a +3 this PM cycle?

He has some nice momentum going from the Fat 1 unit dose. Up to you to give insulin or not, this PM cycle. You are there and know how well Ninja is eating, how he reacts to the insulin.

Options:

1. You can always stall the shot, and recheck in 20-30 minutes to see if BG level is rising. If you have already fed, then we'll see some food influence in the next reading.

2. You can give a token dose. 0.5 U to 0.75 U shouldn't take his BG levels too low overnight. He might be high 300's in the morning, with a bit of bouncing.

3. You can skip the shot entirely.

You've shot a higher dose (1.5) when Ninja was at 219 preshot test, on 12/24. I think that was before you were waiting 30 minutes between feeding and shot. At least that is what I see in the notes on your SS
 
Yes I can do a +3. He did eat, as I have been letting him do that then waiting 30 minutes to give him his insulin. Perhaps I should give him 1/2 a unit?
 
So with your being able to do a +3 this PM, I think you should go ahead and give Ninja a shot of insulin this PM. You'll catch any lower number with that +3 test and know how to give food to bring that number up. 1/4 can of the FF seems to do the job nicely. Only if the BG is <90 would you want to test again at +4 and then if BG still below 90, food + a drop or 2 of honey (karo syrup, maple syrup, pancake syrup).

You are comfortable with 1/2 unit, so why don't you go ahead and give that amount.
 
It was the 1.5 Unit on 12/24 where he dropped into the 50's and needed a bit of food support to bring the BG number back up.

So both the 1 Unit and Fat 1 Unit doses (12/25 am through 12/30 am cycles), in combination with feed, wait 30 minutes, then shoot insulin has been working well. Ninja hasn't dropped too low on the insulin since 12/24.

I think you would even be safe to give the Fat 1 Unit dose with the BG reading in the 190's range. - Next time.

Probably not up for a pajama party.
 
Wow! Ninja did the bounce, bounce, bounce with that lower dose last PM. Saw you did a Fat 1 this AM. Good choice. Meant to check Ninja's SS earlier, but we got some sleet, rain, slush here that I had to clear this morning first. At least the power has stayed on so far.

Have you thought about setting up your 2020 spreadsheet tab yet? Here on the instructions on how to do that new tab, written by Marje and Gracie.

SS's can get very long and take a lot more time to load if you don't keep a tab (think Excel workbook) for each year. I did it for my Wink years ago.
 
Wow! Ninja did the bounce, bounce, bounce with that lower dose last PM. Saw you did a Fat 1 this AM. Good choice. Meant to check Ninja's SS earlier, but we got some sleet, rain, slush here that I had to clear this morning first. At least the power has stayed on so far.

Have you thought about setting up your 2020 spreadsheet tab yet? Here on the instructions on how to do that new tab, written by Marje and Gracie.

SS's can get very long and take a lot more time to load if you don't keep a tab (think Excel workbook) for each year. I did it for my Wink years ago.


Yeah, guess I should have done the whole dose. Was so worried he would drop!! Ugh! I’ll have to check him at the +4 today as I’m at the airport currently waiting to pick up my son.

Thank you for the 2020 information. I was thinking I should start a new one.

Hope the weather improves for you. It’s cold and windy here.
 
Back
Top