Newly diagnosed acromegaly cat :(

barrybuttonsmom

Member Since 2020
Barry finally got his IGF-1 tests back and it came back slightly high (111) through MSU. Still waiting on IAA results. He has started exhibiting some bizarre neurological symptoms in the last few weeks. Is 111 truly indicative of acromegaly? The reference interval capped at 92, so only slightly elevated. When the test was drawn, he was on 3.5u of prozinc only hitting BGs in the low 300s.

I have not had enough time to upload his data from his Freestyle Libre onto his spreadsheet. I am just finishing up with final exams. So, apologies for that. But, I currently have him on 4u of prozinc and he still is hitting BG 500+ as a high daily. Lowest his BG has ever been is 256.

Since he is already displaying neurological signs, does this mean he is "too far gone"? None of the docs I work with (or myself) really know what to do from here now that we know his IGF-1 is high. He has an appointment with neurology @ MedVet Cinci on the 23rd of this month. Anything I can do for him in the meantime? I feel like he is deteriorating more and more everyday. I am so heartbroken.
 
Sorry about the results and that you are now here.:bighug:Keep in mind that Barry doesn't know he has acromegaly, so he is still the same sweet cat he always was. But you now have knowledge about what you are dealing with

I heard you are experienced with acro!
Yes, my girl had it. And yes, over 92 is positive. And I've read that even a bit below that it's worth testing again in a few months to see if it's increased.

What sort of neurological signs is he showing? It's not common for acros to show neurological symptoms early on, or even later. Oh, just found your previous post on Health where you talked a bit about some symptoms. I think a visit with an eye specialist may be a good idea.

Right now, the best thing you can do for your kitty is to try to get to a point where you are giving him enough insulin to stay under renal threshold as much as possible. 4 units is not a very large dose when it comes to acromegaly. If he's only ever getting down to mid 200's, he needs more insulin. There are also things you can do to treat the condition, now that you know what you are dealing with.
 
Sorry about the results and that you are now here.:bighug:Keep in mind that Barry doesn't know he has acromegaly, so he is still the same sweet cat he always was. But you now have knowledge about what you are dealing with


Yes, my girl had it. And yes, over 92 is positive. And I've read that even a bit below that it's worth testing again in a few months to see if it's increased.

What sort of neurological signs is he showing? It's not common for acros to show neurological symptoms early on, or even later. Oh, just found your previous post on Health where you talked a bit about some symptoms. I think a visit with an eye specialist may be a good idea.

Right now, the best thing you can do for your kitty is to try to get to a point where you are giving him enough insulin to stay under renal threshold as much as possible. 4 units is not a very large dose when it comes to acromegaly. If he's only ever getting down to mid 200's, he needs more insulin. There are also things you can do to treat the condition, now that you know what you are dealing with.

He is having episodes of disorientation, ataxia, anisocoria, and some leaning to one side. Originally suspected a brain tumor...which explains acro but not this early on. I am taking him to a neurologist instead of optho next week since they are increasing in durations and frequency. He had an episode earlier that almost seemed like an absence seizure. BG was 501 at the time so not sure if it was just related to hyperglycemia. Did you pursue any radiation therapy?
 
Did you pursue any radiation therapy?
Yes, Neko had stereotactic radiation therapy at Colorado State University. Actually had it twice the tumour seemed to be growing back after 3 years - though that is unusual. There is also a surgeon in New York who does pituatary removal (hypophysectomy) that is curative.
 
I would also try increasing dose to get BGs down. This may help Barry's neurological signs and will help his general health.
Also I wouod pursue the neurological signs since singe they may be unrelated to acro.
 
So sorry to hear of Barry's troubles.

In terms of the acro treatment such as SRT or possibly cabergoline can help with that. But I will say it's too soon to say he's too far gone, increasing the dose and getting better numbers might help with some of his symptoms, too. It's clear he is in very good hands with you and you will help him as best you can.

With Valentino, i have noticed a reticence to jump at times and sometimes some involuntary twitches of his arm when I touch his head. I have no idea what these are and have mentioned them to the vet. I will say as his BG numbers have gotten better he seems more like his old self despite frequent hunger, sounds of breathing (stridor), enlarged belly. Some days are better than others.

One other thought of what to look into might be middle or inner ear infections. That can cause balance problems.

https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departm...tion/feline-health-topics/vestibular-syndrome

Hope this helps!
 
Last edited:
With Valentino, i have noticed a reticence to jump at times
I adopted my MurrFee as a diabetic already being treated. He was on 8U Levemir BID but not bad BG control. I quickly needed that although he crouched down to jump he could not jump. I increased dose a litte to get better BG control and also started daily Cosequin. After one or two months he was jumping again. Near the end the difficulty jumping reappeared.
 
Back
Top